Skip to content
bathroom inspiration

Our master bathroom is sad. Outdated and sad. And small. Miniscule, really.

There isn’t one thing in the whole bathroom that I like. Not one.

What I’d really like to do is to knock down the wall that you can see in this photo. My dressing room is on the other side of the wall. I would gladly give it up for a ginormous bathroom.

With a big ole’ soaking tub and a huge shower with beautiful tile and a massive pine vanity with a marble top and double sinks. And a huge sparkly chandelier in the center of the room.

But that’s a giant undertaking. A project for down the road.

Right now I’m trying to figure out what I can do to update the bathroom on my own. So far I’ve ripped the heinous towel racks down and patched the walls and  taken the cabinet doors and drawers out in preparation for painting. I’m at a stand-still until I have a clear vision of what I want.

In the meantime, here are some drool-worthy inspiration photos that I found at Countryliving.com.

 

simple yet stunning

 

look at that ceiling!

 

gorgeous

 

be still my heart…that vanity is scrumptious!

 

love that door and the floor and the tub

 

 

This one is perfection. I think I would just soak in that tub all. day. long.

And finally, this vanity from Pottery Barn. Not wild about the pulls, but I love every thing else about it. Well, except for the $2499 price tag. Are they for reals? 😉

Stayed tuned. Hopefully I’ll get my act together and my butt in gear and have an “after” to show you soon.

Maybe. 🙂

 

 

 

 

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. If I had your bathroom as it is right now, I don’t know what I’d do with myself!

    Our master bath is divided in two: one room for the shower and toilet, with enough space to open and close the door, and then a separate area on the other side of the wall for the vanity cabinet and mirror. We’ve just redone the vanity area with a more appropriately colored sink (old one was mauve, new one is off-white) and a new mirror (old one was one of those wall-to-wall jobs, new one is a beautiful framed mirror). Love the changes, but still smallish on the space. It’d be great if it was all one room. Like you…”maybe.”

    August 17, 2011
  2. You have some of my favorite bathrooms in your inspiration pics! I’m betting you won’t even recognize that vanity after you finish with it. Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

    August 17, 2011
  3. Your bathroom does not seem so miniscule..but you have beautiful inspiration pics so I am sure you will do wonders with it. And sometimes the smallest changes can make the biggest difference.

    August 17, 2011
  4. It’s not so bad. Yes hideous 80/90s oak cabinets but with your ingenuity you’ll have that spruced in no time. Painted (fresh milk cream is my vote) for the cabinets with maybe a little distressing. Painted something other than the beige/white walls. Stained wood trim to gussy up around the mirror. And new faucet, pulls, towel bars.

    At least you have all white fixtures! I’m dealing with the 70s yellow tub and sink. Did have the yellow toilet too but got clogged way to often.

    You’re going to pull off something fab; I can feel it. You just gotta jump right in with a leap of faith. Good luck! Can’t wait for pictures.

    Cori

    August 18, 2011
  5. The second photo just made my heart stop in the best kind of way! Gorgeous!

    August 18, 2011
  6. Glenda Harder #

    You could frame the mirror. I bet you have something you could hang over the toilet for storage. You like locker baskets. Leave the doors off the vanity and slide in some locker bakets.

    August 18, 2011
    • Great ideas, Glenda! I actually found a pretty mirror at TJ Maxx yesterday with a nice wooden frame. 🙂

      August 18, 2011
  7. Jill #

    That is hilarious that you call that bathroom miniscule! Small? Sure. Miniscule? You may need a little perspective. You must not have too many friends with houses smaller than yours…both of my bathrooms are probably 1/2 the size of yours. Now that is miniscule!

    August 20, 2011
    • Hi Jill, I have friends with all sized houses. I should have clarified and said it was miniscule compared to the master bathrooms in our previous homes. Thanks for visiting!

      August 20, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

