Skip to content
how to make a good photo great

This evening I took some photos of Hannah in our backyard. I bought some actions from Florabella and I wanted to try them out.

If you’ve never used actions in photoshop before, it will open up a whole new world for you.

An Action is a recording of a series of Commands in Photoshop to which you apply a name.

I’m totally not a techie so I wouldn’t even begin to know how to record an action…I leave that part to the pros.

But when you upload actions (done by the pros) to photoshop and run them on a photo, a simple click of the mouse can turn an ordinary photograph into something extraordinary.

There are tons of places online to get free actions. Pioneer Woman has a great set of free actions that is very comprehensive. A great place to start.

I’ve used the PW set for a long time now and have been very happy. But I’ve recently seen photos with Florabella actions and knew I had to try them.

Here are a few examples.

Straight out of camera…decent photo.

After running the “mademoiselle” action by Florabella. Gorgeous, right?

Here’s another…

pretty good, straight out of camera

after running the “swoon” action by Florabella.

Most action sets have a huge variety so that you can choose actions with more or less drama or intensity. They are very easy to play around with in photoshop until you achieve the result you are looking for.

What are you waiting for? 🙂

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rachel #

    This may be a stupid question, but what version of photo shop do you need to have in order to be able to use the fun actions? I don’t have photoshop because I always thought it was very expensive, but wondered if there was a basic version I could get where I still could use this. Thanks for the tips, you photos are amazing!

    August 20, 2011
    • Hi Rachel, I use Photoshop Elements…much less expensive than the full-blown Photoshop. It’s also a lot easier to use. Hope that helps!

      August 20, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

