Skip to content
pantry makeover

So you know how you move in to a new house and the object of unpacking the kitchen is to just get everything shoved into a cabinet or drawer with no real rhyme or reason?

Then again, maybe that’s just me.

I’ve been putting off tackling the pantry until last week when I was inspired by one of my favorite blogs, Perfectly Imperfect. Check out Shaunna’s pantry makeover!

And speaking of awesomeness pantry makeovers, check this one out from Shelley at House of Smiths! She went all out!

The motivation for my pantry organization project was not just to make it look pretty, but to create more functional storage spaces for meal prep and teenage grazing.

Now you know cooking is so not my bag. But one of the things I dislike about it is the digging through the cabinets looking for that one ingredient that I know I bought but can’t find. Talk about frustrating.

Let’s face it…I’ll never be a Barefoot Contessa or Pioneer Woman, but if a little organization will make the daily lunch-packing and dinner-making a little more enjoyable? Bring it on!

Here’s my pantry before. Not the worst thing in the world, but not efficient for our busy family.

Time to organize. I emptied the pantry.

Then painted the inside of the pantry and the shelves with some leftover Apple Spice paint.

Shopped my storage room for glass containers and baskets. I did have to buy just a few cracker jars.

I filled them with dry ingredients and labeled them using a little shortcut.

I bought this package of chalkboard wall decals for around $10 at Target.

And used this punch. Voila! Easy chalkboard labels that can be easily erased and re-labeled.

I also used some IKEA baskets that I had on hand and hot-glued the chalkboard labels to the front.

And here is my new super-organized pantry!

It houses dry ingredients, grab and go snacks for my kids, lunch box fillers and quick breakfast items.

Next, I moved all the dinner prep stuff to the cabinet next to the fridge. I used separate baskets to group pasta, rice and potatoes. Basically everything for dinner preparation except refrigerated items is now in this cabinet.

This was such an easy project. It has already made my life so much easier! My kids love it too.

There is a downside to this project though. Now they will expect me to cook. 😉

25 Comments Post a comment
  1. organized awesomeness! love it!

    August 31, 2011
  2. Love it!!! Hey I saw on a blog an old screen door from a farm house used for the door of a pantry for some reason that comes to mind looking at your pantry door, maybe because it is so organized it should be seen and not hidden behind a solid door?

    August 31, 2011
  3. Something must be in the air…I re-organized kitchen cabinets this week, and so did One Good Steward. 🙂 Yours looks fabulous! I LOVE the paint color. May have to steal that! Your crock is so pretty. Is that a find on one of your antique outings? Happy Wednesday! 🙂

    August 31, 2011
    • Larri…I found it at Target yesterday! It’s on an end cap where the acrylic/seasonal stuff is! I think it was $19. Go get one before they’re gone! 🙂

      August 31, 2011
  4. Absolutly Fab!!! You did a great job and as always an inspriation to me!

    August 31, 2011
  5. Looking good!

    August 31, 2011
  6. ReaderWoman #

    Great ideas! My hubby and I are retired baby-boomers, and are moving into a new cottage. Quite small, and, get this, NO upper cupboards in the kitchen! WTH?! This gave me some good ideas for making the most of the space we have; will add some pullout wire “drawers” to the lower cupboards and utilize some of these organizational tips. THANKS!

    August 31, 2011
  7. Looks awesome!!! Love the chalkboard tags! Might have to get me some of those.
    😉
    shaunna

    August 31, 2011
  8. Mel #

    Looks so neat. I didn’t think the before looked so bad, since it looks better than my current. LOL

    It’s still not inspiring enough to have me cooking any time soon 🙂

    August 31, 2011
  9. Looks awesome!

    August 31, 2011
  10. That looks amazing! My pantry is a never ending disaster area due to some child’s hand being in it at every moment of the day. Keeping it organized is a constant job. I need to do something like you’ve done!

    August 31, 2011
  11. Great job, it looks awesome and super functional!

    August 31, 2011
  12. Well organized and it looks great too. I just wish I had a pantry. It may not make dinner prep more enjoyable but it should save you some time.

    August 31, 2011
  13. Time to revamp the pantry shelves after the indulgent summer – just in time for back-to-school and healthier eating. Amazing project..very organized and will promote efficiency.

    August 31, 2011
  14. You make it look so easy! I love the tags and all the jars and baskets…you’ve inspired me to tackle our pantry…things are always falling on the floor lol…end of summer project that is much needed. Thanks for the ideas!

    August 31, 2011
  15. I did the same thing as you, shoved eveything in the pantry when we unpacked. Then one day I cleaned it all out and made it pretty. BUT, we still didn’t have very much food yet, so it’s starting to get messy and disorganized again. Time for pantry makeover number two!
    Your pantry looks so pretty and so organized hopefully it will inspire me to get my booty moving! I love the cookie jar from Target. I didn’t buy it the other day because I didn’t want it on my counter. Great idea to put it in the pantry. Thanks for the excuse to go buy one. lol 🙂

    August 31, 2011
  16. Karen #

    You had me at chalk!!!! Looks soo cute. Great job!

    August 31, 2011
  17. Wow! That looks great!

    Beautiful job.

    I’m almost inspired to fix mine but……that would just lead to a cavalcade of other things that need to be fixed and the thought of it produces in me an overwhelming desire to nap.

    Any desire to visit southern California? It’s very pleasant here and there are lots of pantries that need fixing!

    August 31, 2011
  18. I love being organized… your plan makes so much sense. Thanks for sharing, I’m inspired to get at my pantry now:)

    August 31, 2011
  19. Such a beautiful pantry! You’ve inspired me to do the same. Love it!

    September 1, 2011
  20. Inspired Inspired Inspired. Thanks so much.

    September 2, 2011
  21. One word…..WOWZA. Wouldnt it be great if that inspired me to do mine:)

    September 2, 2011
  22. Wow, do I have pantry envy! You can actually make a pantry look cute! Nice job.
    Tattered Tiques

    September 2, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. August re-cap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

