Skip to content
Austin day one

We made it to Austin and took the UT campus tour yesterday. The 100+ degree heat brought back memories of living in the south. What the heck does, “but it’s a dry heat” really mean? Heat is heat. And it was a scorcher. It didn’t faze Jake though. All he heard was 300 days of sunshine per year and year-round golf and he was ready to sign on the dotted line.

The boys are off to play golf today and Hannah and I are heading out to do some shopping.

Be back later with some highlights of our shopping trip!

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love, love, love Austin!!! Oh how we miss Texas! Ya’ll have a good time and UT would be an Awesome school for Jake…Jacob really wanted to go there too! I hope your fixen to have some yummy bbq while you are there!!!

    September 2, 2011
  2. Lol! It has been VERY hot in Texas this summer. Not that it’s not always hot in the summer, but this one has been REALLY bad.

    I love Austin and the whole hill country area. We love to take weekend drives down to that area. UT is also an awesome school. I’ve never talked to a kid that didn’t love going there. There’s also a lot of good smaller schools around that area, so instead of just a college town,it’s sort of a college…well I guess a college area, for lack of better words.

    September 2, 2011
  3. Britt #

    Hook em!! I’m a relatively new reader around here, I think this might actually be my first comment! I can’t recommend UT enough. My husband and I graduated May 2009 and he’s wrapping up his law degree this May from UT Law. It is so affordable for the quality of education, and most importantly, UT is what you make it. Yes, it’s a huge school, but anyone who wants to know their professors only has to introduce themselves. There are endless resources on campus (and off), you just have to seek them out. I guess what I mean is it’s just not a hand-holding place like a tiny liberals arts school might be, but tons and tons of help is there if you ask for it. The sports are incredible (ignoring last year and hoping for better this year) and there is SO much to do in town and on campus (for example UT students can buy a $15 fine arts package for the year and are then eligible to buy $10 tickets to Broadway shows, hello cheap & fantastic dates!) The city and surrounding hill country is so much fun to explore, from Austin’s Zilker Park, endless Mexican restaurants, “best bbq in the country (try Franklin BBQ if you can! it’s worth the two hour wait!), wineries, breweries, floating the rivers, I could go on and on. I love living in Austin and will be sad if/when we leave. You probably know lots of people who went to UT, but on the off chance you don’t know a recent grad, if he has any questions about UT or living in Austin I’d be happy to talk about my experience.

    September 2, 2011
  4. Wanda Haskins #

    The absolute best looking freshman to be that I have seen in a long time. Enjoy Texas!!! Glad you are off to a good start.

    September 2, 2011
  5. DJ Morgan #

    I seriously need an address for the Uncommon Objects place!

    September 3, 2011
    • 1512 South Congress Ave. 🙂 Be sure to check their hours before you go.

      September 3, 2011
  6. Lived in Texas for 13 years, I moved there in HS, went to Texas Tech, married a Texan, lived in Austin for 6 years, had my first baby there ~ he is a senior this year and has dreamed of going back to Austin and attending UT. We went on the tour this summer, also SMU and TCU ~ surprisingly once you pay out-of-state tuition TCU and UT are about the same. Thinking the smaller school would better fit my son but we shall see!

    You hit some of my fav’s in Austin ~ Guero’s and Uncommon Objects (yes sadly it has gotten way too pricey ~ wasn’t always that way).

    :)Heidi

    September 14, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

