Skip to content
sideboard makeover

I found this pretty sideboard for a song at an antiques store a few weeks ago. We didn’t have a need for a sideboard for its traditional purpose since our formal dining room is now a billiards room. That’s okay because I like to use furniture pieces in unexpected and unconventional ways. I think it adds interest to a room.

I had plans for this one to go in our master bedroom and I knew just what color I wanted to paint it. Aubusson Blue.

So here it was before. In good shape except the top. It had some water damage and cracking veneer.

If any of you have used Annie Sloan’s chalk paint in Aubusson Blue, the color can be a little scary before the wax.

Smurf blue was not the color I was going for here. And you know how I feel about Smurfs. But I had faith that the dark wax would tone it down.

And it totally did. Just the shade I wanted. I am really happy with the way this one turned out.

I’m doing some bedroom tweaking for fall and the color palette that I’ve chosen is brown, cream and this shade blue.

The bedding will be a tan linen duvet with a Matine Toile Duvet in Espresso at the foot of the bed. I don’t like to go overboard with toile, but I love it in small doses.

On that note, look at the gorgeous fabric I found at Hancock Fabrics yesterday for $2 a yard. Sidenote…all decor fabrics are 50% off right now!

I’m going to make pillows for our bedroom chairs with it. The chairs will flank the sideboard. I think it’s gonna be purdy!

Happy Thursday, everybody. Thankfully the weekend is right around the corner!

Linking here:
Savvy Southern StyleFurniture Feature FridaysThe Shabby NestChic on a Shoestring DecoratingMy Repurposed LifeDesigner GardenA Little Knick Knack

65 Comments Post a comment
  1. it looks smurfingly awesome! you really smurfed it out on this one! πŸ˜‰
    seriously now, i LOVE it and you did an awesome job!

    September 8, 2011
  2. twicklep #

    I love what you’ve done to the sideboard! When I saw the Smurf blue I thought “Oh NO! What has she done!” LOL The dark wax turned the euuww blue into a gorgeous sideboard. πŸ™‚

    September 8, 2011
  3. Lynn Petty #

    I love the end result! This is just what I’m looking for. Would you please share with me the info on the wax brand/color and if that’s what you used on the trim stand out areas as well? LOVE this piece and the way it will be used, too!

    September 8, 2011
    • Hi Lynn, I used Briwax in dark brown. After I painted with the chalk paint, I sanded/distressed and then rubbed a coat of Briwax over the entire piece. It’s very easy to work with and more forgiving than other waxes I’ve tried. Let me know if you have any other questions!

      September 8, 2011
      • would that just be a dark furniture wax ? Have you ever tried staining over paint and if so how did that turn out?

        September 8, 2011
      • Hi Erin, I used to use Minwax stains over paint. The problem was that they took so long to dry! And stain is not as easily workable as wax to me. And wax also gives a layer of protection as opposed to stain. Hope that helps.

        September 8, 2011
  4. When I first saw the smurf blue, it worried me. But, oh my, your sideboard is beautiful! I love the color. I haven’t used wax before, I haven’t painted much lately, but I’m going to check in to it now.
    Love your fabric…our Hancocks shut down. I have to drive two hours for fabric now..but for a sale like this, it’ll be worth it!

    September 8, 2011
  5. Ido #

    Your bedroom is going to be gorgeous, love the sidebar!
    XXX Ido

    September 8, 2011
  6. Love it beautiful…where can you get the Briwax? Also, where do you get the chalk paint? Haven’t seen it around here in MIchigan…

    September 8, 2011
    • Deborah, you have to order the chalk paint through a stockist. Go to the Annie Sloan website and you can search the closest one to you. The Briwax can be found at hardware stores. πŸ™‚

      September 8, 2011
    • Tonya #

      Deborah-
      I found only one supplier of Annie Sloan in Mi, and it happens to be near me. Holland Michigan- going to visit them this week!

      September 18, 2011
  7. I adore this colour. I’ve seen it on a few pieces around blogland and love each and everyone of them. Yours is no exception. Looking forward to seeing your bedroom come together. I’ve been working on ours also!

    September 8, 2011
  8. melinda5745 #

    Susan, Beautiful transformation!

    September 8, 2011
  9. lenka hunwicks #

    OMG, How awesome ! When I first saw the ” surf blue ” I thought that you’d finally been sniffing too much paint ! The piece looks so country sophisticated and I just love it.

    September 8, 2011
  10. Your sideboard looks gorgeous! I am new to using waxes and am having trouble getting the hang of it. Hopefully all I need is a little practice. I love the color pallette you are using in your bedroom. This is the look I’m going for in my family room, but I haven’t even come close to pulling it together. I am eagerly awaiting your master bedroom reveal! I’m sure it will give me some wonderful inspiration!

    September 8, 2011
  11. Karen #

    love, love, love that sideboard!! and shade of blue!
    again, did you have to sand before? just slap on paint and then
    apply wax on top? just two easy steps? sounds easy enough….
    I have every intention of doing…….hopefully soon!

    September 8, 2011
    • Yes, Karen…it’s that easy! 2 coats of chalk paint, distress and then wax. Done. πŸ™‚

      September 8, 2011
  12. Great job on the sideboard and I think the fabric is real purdy!

    September 8, 2011
  13. kathleen #

    I was a little scared when I saw the smurfy blue, but you did a great job with the stain. It looks lovely!

    September 8, 2011
  14. Looks wonderful~ Love the color and how it turned out! Thanks for linking up at Feathered Nest Friday! Sharing this on FB πŸ™‚

    September 8, 2011
  15. How fun! I’m going to an ASCP class this weekend!

    September 8, 2011
  16. great job with Annie’s paint..she a buddy of mine…great job…love it

    September 8, 2011
  17. This is beautiful and loving the duvet your putting with it, great job

    September 8, 2011
  18. Oh-oh-OH…SPECTACULAR!!! Thanks for the info on the Briwax…will look into this for sure…LOVE your re-do!

    September 8, 2011
  19. Wow! It’s a gorgeous piece & that blue was a little scary before the wax!

    September 8, 2011
  20. Wow that smurf blue was electric and scary! Gorgeous sideboard. I just love the effect after the wax! Great job!

    September 8, 2011
  21. love, love, love it! color is back, esp those annie sloan colors. after seeing this, i’m your newest follower!

    amy

    September 8, 2011
  22. I am so amazed at the difference that wax makes! I can’t believe it’s the same color. Beautiful!

    September 8, 2011
  23. mary paulson #

    Truly elegant!

    September 9, 2011
  24. Love how your sideboard turned out… don’t you just love dark brown Briwax?? πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see pics of your bedroom – I love toile pretty much anywhere!

    September 9, 2011
  25. She’s is STUNNING! What a great color.

    September 9, 2011
  26. New here…love that fabric for the pillows…sure wish we had a Hancock Fabrics ( or any fabric store for that matter). Love the way the sideboard turned out..such a beautiful color (in the end) πŸ™‚

    September 9, 2011
  27. Hi…

    Ohhh my…your frenchy cabinet turned out GORGEOUS, my friend! I love the aubussen blue! Wow…I was shocked to see how much the dark wax toned that bright blue color..down! It’s perfect! And…I love how you highlighted the architectural pieces…very pretty! I am a “lover of toile” so your beautiful brown and cream matine toile duvet just makes me swoon! Love, love, LOVE the toile that you found at Hancocks…what a great buy! It will look beautiful done up in pillows…flanking your new french blue cabinet! I’m just tickled for you, my friend! How exciting…a bedroom redo! Best wishes with all of your design decisions and have fun!!!

    Warmest wishes,
    Chari @Happy To Design

    September 9, 2011
  28. Question:
    Is this straight Aubusson Blue? Or have to mixed it with the Old White? On Annie Sloan’s website, the blue just looks so much darker. And it looks like yours has like 3 or 4 parts Old White.
    Let me know! My girl is getting ready to paint up some of my furniture. We had picked the Aubusson Blue, but that is NOTHING like what it looks like on Annie’s website.
    Thanks in advance!

    September 9, 2011
    • Hi Lindsay, No mixing. Straight Aubusson Blue. 2 coats plus dark wax. I think sometimes the colors vary because of computer monitor calibration differences. The photos of the sideboard don’t even give the full effect of the Aubusson Blue…it’s much prettier in person. Happy Painting!

      September 9, 2011
  29. LOVE HOW THE SIDEBOARD TURNED OUT. GORGEOUS COLOR!

    September 9, 2011
  30. I REALLY like this, it is gorgeous! You did a wonderful job!

    September 9, 2011
  31. The sideboard turned out beautifully. Love that fabric and can’t wait to see your finished bedroom.

    September 9, 2011
  32. This is beautiful. I’m trying to decide which AS chalk paint to try next and I really like this Aubusson Blue. But I have not had much success with dark wax (I have tried Annie Sloan and Briwax) Any tips? I think I am too impatient and maybe a little too heavy handed with the wax. Your piece is gorgeous! And that fabric for your duvet – I ADORE it!

    September 9, 2011
  33. Kim #

    That is still my favorite color and that sideboard is gorgeous. Love the shape of it. Can’t wait to see your bedroom. Thanks for sharing at Wow.

    September 9, 2011
  34. I need to wax the top of a table I recently stained. I bought the AS clear wax yesterday. How long does it take to dry or be safe to use after applying? We are having people over tomorrow evening.

    September 9, 2011
    • Hi Kate, It dries pretty quickly (about 30 minutes). Just buff it with a cloth after it dries and you should be good to go!

      September 9, 2011
  35. I love the sideboard!! it looks great…I am going to an Annie Sloan Chalk Paint workshop in Chicago next Thursday..I can’t wait. I have done a few pieces with the ASCP–but excited to try new techniques…
    chris

    September 9, 2011
  36. Debra Meyer #

    Love it!! I love all of your ideas! I can’t wait to see your bedroom with its new clothes on!! Happy weekend!

    September 9, 2011
  37. This sideboard is beautiful! Love what you have done.
    http://www.projectqueen.org

    September 9, 2011
  38. Love this piece! Would the AS dark wax give this same finish? What is the difference between these two waxes?

    September 10, 2011
    • Helen, it would give a similar finish. I just like working with Briwax better. I think it’s easier to work with. πŸ™‚

      September 10, 2011
      • Thank you. I just bought the AS paint and waxes and haven’t tried the dark wax yet.

        September 10, 2011
  39. Kim @ A Brush of Whimsy #

    I love it! Just ordered the AB CP a few days ago! Hope my things look as great as yours!

    September 12, 2011
  40. Gorgeous!

    September 12, 2011
  41. Meg #

    Wow! With the wax, it makes a huge difference! I love this piece, you did a great job! I had to feature it today on my blog. Come grab a button!

    September 15, 2011
  42. That is absolutely beautiful!

    September 15, 2011
  43. Gorgeous. That basically sums it up. Great job!

    September 16, 2011
  44. What a great transformation! I love Aubusson Blue, it is such a beautiful and serene color. You did a beautiful job distressing, love the look!

    Would love to have you stop by and share at my weekly Chalk Paint Link Party if you get a chance.

    http://www.ShadesofAmberInc.blogspot.com

    September 27, 2011
  45. This is a lovely piece- quite an amazing transformation! Your distressing really brought out the details!

    September 29, 2011
  46. Stacy #

    Love it!! A great inspiration for a sideboard I have been wanting to paint. I haven’t tried Briwax before. Is the result similar if used with a non-chalk paint?

    October 1, 2011
  47. Hello !
    This is a beautiful transformation. I am doing an article on Annie Sloan chalk paint on my blog and I am asking you permission to use the pictures of the painted sideboard with no wax and the one with the wax applied.
    I will definitely return to visit, you have a beautiful blog !
    You can answer me at this address: jocelyne_deneau@globetrotter.net

    November 9, 2011
  48. Laura #

    Can you explain what you mean by “dark wax”?
    I painted a dresser yellow and it’s too bright. I want to tone it down a little, like you did with the blue. Can I just buy the wax at Home Depot? How do you apply it?

    November 20, 2011
    • Hi Laura, the dark wax that I use is made by Briwax. It comes in dark brown, light brown and clear. (And maybe others, not sure). You can find it at the hardware store…I buy mine at Ace Hardware. After your paint has dried, using a clean cloth just rub it onto the wood (working in small sections at a time because it dries quickly) and wait a minute or two and then wipe it back off with a clean cloth. Start on the sides until you get a “feel” for how it works. Save the front until you really get the hang of it. Sometimes I use a clear wax first. Apply, let dry, buff off. Then add the dark wax and remove it using a cloth with a little clear wax on it. I find that you get smoother results when you add clear wax to the process. Also it really seals everything and gives a nice finish. Please let me know if you have any more questions! πŸ™‚

      November 20, 2011
  49. Laura #

    Just now seeing the other comments. Sorry! I guess that answers most of my questions!

    November 20, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. I’m just stunning with my love glue-gunnin’ | Maple & Magnolia
  2. Annie Sloan Chalk Paint Questions & inspiration | scoutandnimble
  3. Annie Sloan chalk paint | inspired and pretty
  4. top ten furniture projects of 2011 | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

