Skip to content
what I’m working on…

So I picked up this fab-u-lo-so cabinet the other day. I found it on craigslist and scooped it up lightning fast.

It’s previous life was in an attorney’s office. There were still some super old legal documents in the drawers.

My favorite part? The map drawers at the bottom. And the hardware…it’s bronze. And look at those feet…they are iron!

My least favorite part? The butt-ugly reddish stain. It had to go.

First, I removed all the hardware. Then I repaired all of the drawers. Almost all 14 of them needed repairing! Thank goodness for Gorilla wood glue!

Next, came the sanding.

So much better with the ugly stain gone so the wood can shine through.

I wish I could show you the after, but I’m still not finished. The sanding has been tedious and slow but oh, so worth it!

I’m gonna finish it up tomorrow afternoon and post the “after” next week.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jennifer Jordan #

    Nice find! Its going to be beautiful.

    September 10, 2011
  2. Amazing!

    September 10, 2011
  3. Very cool piece of furniture

    September 10, 2011
  4. I am still picking up my jaw off the ground. You are one lucky gal!

    September 11, 2011
  5. Wow, that is a truly amazing piece of furniture! What a great find. The before looks incredible, can’t wait to see the after.

    September 11, 2011
  6. What a FIND!!!! I know it is going to be gorgeous when you are done with it.

    September 11, 2011
  7. Wonderful…all I ever see on our Craigslist is faded furniture from 1980! Can’t wait to see the final product!

    September 11, 2011
  8. I can hardly wait to see the finished product! There is a piece I was interested in refinishing, but was too nervous to buy it. I hope you show how you apply the paint, etc in photos.. it would give me courage:)

    September 11, 2011
    • Hi there, I have been planning to do a how-to post for a while now. Hopefully I will get it done soon! Meanwhile, if you have specific questions feel free to send me an email. mapleandmagnolia@gmail.com

      September 11, 2011
  9. Oh. My. God.

    I am so jealous I want to dislike you right now but I can’t cuz your amazing. I’m just in awe. I’m still reeling from the card catalogue cabinet and now you throw this at us?!! I can’t handle it!!!

    September 11, 2011
  10. Dang – look at all the sanding you have done!! That is going to be one beautiful cabinet when you’re finished with it! Can’t wait to see pics!

    September 12, 2011
  11. So looking forward to seeing the end result…it is a fabulous find!

    September 12, 2011
  12. What a great “find”. I hardly ever find anything on Craigslist! You did a wonderful refinishing to this piece. Looks like something you’d find at Restoration Hardware!!

    September 16, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

