Skip to content
master bathroom makeover

Inspiration finally struck. My hubby is out of town for the week and whenever he’s gone, I like to do some sort of major re-do. Our own version of “While You Were Out.” Poor guy never knows what to expect when he comes home. πŸ™‚

Remember our master bathroom? Very outdated and small. A renovation is down the line, but for now a cosmetic makeover was in order.

My plan was simple. The look I wanted was spa meets rustic. Rustic Spa. Hmmm….is that an oxymoron?

Here’s the before.

And here’s the after.

I wanted to incorporate some sort of architectural element in the room. I found this old chippy screen door at an estate sale a few weekends ago. I love the shape of it. I sawed off the cross boards at the bottom so that it would fit behind the commode.

The box is from Pottery Barn and is actually a wine box. I added d-rings to the back and hung it. I love the rusticness of it and the dimension it gives.

I used a neutral palette of whites, creams, greys, and wood tones for a spa-like feel.

The mirror was a TJ Maxx find. Changing from the tacky builder mirror to a framed mirror made a huge difference for a small amount of money.

The shower curtain has little grey fleur de lis all over it. I love the touch of bling the jewelled rings add.

The thing I’m most proud of is the cabinet transformation. I painted it in Annie Sloan Chalk Paint, Paris Grey. Then I used her clear wax and dark wax over it. I absolutely love how it turned out. Β The oak cabinets were instantly updated and have a very custom look to them now.

So there you have it…the master bathroom makeover.

wall color: Sterling by Ben Moore

cabinet hardware: Martha Stewart/Home Depot

shower curtain, shower curtain rings, rugs, towels, soap dispenser, candleholders: Target

mercury lamp and wine box: Pottery Barn

towel rack: garage sale

Screen door: estate sale

Thanks for stopping by!

Partying here:
{Primp}Savvy Southern StyleThe Shabby Nest

33 Comments Post a comment
  1. Vanessa #

    LOVE IT!! Have you done H’s room yet!? I want to see her makeover!! Salvation Army on Kerr st. has a dress form in their auction this week!! WHOOT WHOOT! hahaha

    September 20, 2011
  2. Heather #

    We have the same shower curtain πŸ™‚ the bathroom looks AMAZING!

    September 20, 2011
  3. mommypowers #

    I like that!!! Great job! πŸ˜€

    September 20, 2011
  4. What a great job…I am wanting to do a similar cosmetic makeover to my half bath. You have inspired me:) Of course you didn’t give me any ideas on how to update the gold seashell sink and vanity top 😦

    Janet

    September 20, 2011
  5. Love what you’ve done! Whenever Mr. CCC is out of town for a few days or more I move furniture around….lol! Drives him crazy but he expects now πŸ˜‰ I use Annie Sloan paints and waxes too. Aren’t they fabulous!! Did you attend one of her workshops?

    September 20, 2011
  6. Brilliant! It looks so perfectly rustic and yet elegant too. Our main bathroom cabinet needs a makeover like that too.

    September 20, 2011
  7. Cas #

    Your bathroom looks amazing! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚
    Cas x

    September 20, 2011
  8. Great makeover!!!

    September 20, 2011
  9. I love that arched screen door frame and what a creative place to put it! The wine box is a really unique idea for towels, too. Such a clever lady you are! Thanks for the inspiration, as usual!

    September 20, 2011
  10. i love the color on the vanity! it looks awesome!

    September 20, 2011
  11. Oh my! What a fabulous makeover. I’m always so awed my someone’s ability to take an object with seemingly one purpose and use it for another. So creative. I’m happy to be your newest follower. I popped over via the {Primp} link-up. My blog “home” is Coffee & Cabernet – hope to see you around sometime. Can’t wait for your next inspirational post!!

    September 20, 2011
  12. Melinda G. Burke #

    Susan,

    Just Love It!

    September 20, 2011
  13. That is a fantastic makeover!! Excellent job!! The door around the commode is awesome!!

    September 20, 2011
  14. looks fabulous! i love that vintage door! xoox

    September 20, 2011
  15. Looks fabulous! Love it!

    September 20, 2011
  16. Wow! Your hubby will be very surprised and pleased. It turned out so well…Christine

    September 20, 2011
  17. WOW your master bathroom looks great and I would say you accomplished the look you were trying to achieve….I love it! Our bathrooms are in need of some updating as well and they are on the “list of things to do”.

    Enjoy your day,
    Gail

    September 21, 2011
  18. I always enjoy your blog. Such inspiration!

    September 21, 2011
  19. The washcloth/ wine box is genius!

    September 21, 2011
  20. Susan J #

    You have inspired me again! I especially love the re-done vanity and the mirror. What I have been waiting for – I’m picking up some paint today!! Thanks.

    September 21, 2011
  21. I absolutely love how this turned out. The cabinets look so fancy now but what I really love was what you did with the door over the toilet (genius) never seen that before. I LOL when you said “poor guy never knows what he’ll come home too” because it made me think about my husband, sometimes he wakes up and feels disoriented when he walks out of the bedroom and the house is different lol. Ps is there a way to follow you through blogger? Don’t see the button :S

    September 21, 2011
  22. I love this especially the screen door and crate.

    September 21, 2011
  23. Beautiful! My hubby is out of town, I should be as brave as you and redo my bathroom! It is on my to do list! I love yours, and could copy every single thing!

    September 21, 2011
  24. Love the mirror. We have mirrors in our bathrooms similar to what you had before your makeover..except BIGGER. Did you remove your mirror, or just add the wood frame?

    I would like to remove ours, but am a bit hesitant on how to do it.

    September 22, 2011
    • Hi there, on ours there were round silver/mirrored things at each corner. I just spun them till they came off and underneath there was a screw. Just unscrewed it with a drill and that was it! Easy. Hope that helps. Have a good day.

      September 22, 2011
  25. I love it!! I think your vision played out beautifully. My hubby’s out of town for about a month… my to-do project list keeps growing and growing πŸ™‚

    September 22, 2011
  26. Oh how I can’t wait to try chalk paint! Your vanity is gorgeous! I’m putting it in the PoPP Spotlight this weekend. Thanks for sharing with us.

    September 23, 2011
  27. This is a wonderful makeover. I am thinking of painting my powder room cabinets. They are golden oak too. I am not vested in replacing it. After seeing the beautiful finished project in your bathroom I am very inspired to start on mine. LOVE the color!
    What a great blog you have!
    Yvonne

    September 24, 2011
  28. Yep…you made that bathroom shine!!! Looks great……

    September 25, 2011
  29. What did you do to the hinges on your cabinets? I want to paint my cabinets, but don’t know what to do with my exposed hinges. I painted some a few years back in another room and the paint (oil) flakes off everytime you open the door.

    November 22, 2011
  30. Lesley T #

    Great job, this is how Paris Grey should be done. Too many others leave it naked and flat!

    November 27, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The DIY Spot » Blog Archive » DIY That Caught My Eye #2
  2. September recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

