Skip to content
coffee sack pillows

Yesterday I was working on the fall display outside our front door and really wanted some pillows for the rocking chairs.

I wanted something with a more “organic” feel. Then I remembered some coffee sacks my sweet friend Mel had given me before we moved. Perfect!

I got some $4 sale standard pillows from Target, left them in the packaging and taped up the opening with packing tape.

Then I put each one into a black garbage bag for extra weather protection.

I popped the pillows into the coffee sacks and folded the “flap” of extra coffee sack to the back of the pillow.

Then I stitched up the sides using a large needle and twine.

They are exactly the look that I was going for! Not bad for $8 and 15 minutes!

I felt bad that Riley always hogs the spotlight, so here’s Muffin getting in on the action.

Happy Fall, y’all.

Linking up at these partays:

Chic on a Shoestring DecoratingDesigner GardenRedouxThe DIY Show Off

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. I am in love (with the pillows… and maybe your dog, too)! We are using burlap pillows for our wedding next Spring and I’ve spent the past few months refraining from putting them in every square inch of my house!

    September 23, 2011
  2. Great styling with the chairs and pumpkins! I had some coffee bean pillows made almost the same way (with the exception of the black garbage bags). Sold them quickly for $25 each; used a blanket stitch to close the openings. Happy FALL is right 😉 Except it’s still in the high 90s here in So. Calif. Ugh!!

    September 23, 2011
  3. Cute! Where do I get those coffee sacks?

    September 23, 2011
    • I got them from a friend, who got them from the coffee bean distributor in Ontario. They gave them out free! Not sure where you live, but check at your local coffee bean supplier.

      September 23, 2011
  4. I love your house and fur-babies too♥

    September 23, 2011
  5. What a BEAUTIFUL house you have, it looks darling all dressed for fall! And the pillows complete the look nicely. I am so glad to have stopped by from Simply Designing link party!

    September 23, 2011
  6. Ahhh!!! I have three Shih Tzus!! It was the thumbnail pic that you posted with your wonderful lab doggie that brought me here!! You home is so charming!! I lived in Atlanta for one year once. I search all over for those corn stalks and finally found them at a vegetable stand!!! Can’t get that stuff where I live, but we do our best! Enjoy those little furbabies!! 🙂

    September 23, 2011
  7. Tammy #

    These are lovely! I love your home!

    September 23, 2011
  8. Pam #

    Very cute! They turned out great!

    Pam

    September 23, 2011
  9. Love that idea!! And your dogs are too cute…mine always tries to sneak into the frame when I’m taking pictures. 🙂

    September 23, 2011
  10. What a great idea! And I just love your fall display. The retriever really makes the photo!

    September 23, 2011
  11. Kathtleen Fullerton #

    Beautiful welcome to anyone who comes to your front door.
    Loved your last line, no matter where you live, you are a true southern girl.

    September 23, 2011
  12. Super cute, love those! Your entire display is so cozy and warm!

    Cara
    http://homespunkitchen.blogspot.com/

    September 23, 2011
  13. Hi Susan!
    Thanks for stopping by. Glad to feature you. You do some amazing work! Hope you will grab a button. Love your pillows. Following you.

    September 23, 2011
  14. Oh my gosh! How in the world have I not been by your blog for a visit yet?? We are practically neighbors! Lol! Well, not really…I am in Rockford, but when I saw something in one of your posts about Kane County Flea Market, I couldn’t believe it! (I am a regular seller there). Anyway, I just wanted to say “Hi”…and I am madly, deeply in love with your cabinet and industrial table…just so you know. ;o)

    Mary
    urbanfarmgirlandco.blogspot.com

    September 23, 2011
    • Hi Mary, I’ve stalked your blog for forever…even before we moved here from Canada! Glad to know we are neighbors! Where is your booth at Kane? I’m going to the October show.

      September 23, 2011
  15. Mel #

    Fabulous idea! The whole vignette looks spectacular. I’m glad you were able to put the sacks to good use.

    Thanks for the mention my friend.

    September 23, 2011
  16. I found your blog about 2 months ago and am *totally* addicted now. You are *so* inspirational, funny and clever. You make me want to buy every hideously ugly item I see on Craigslist and try to redo it……my husband and garage do not thank you. haha! The fact that you feature your beautiful Golden in the header pic just wins me over all the more. We had to put our sweet loving Golden girl to sleep a few weeks ago and there will never be another dog who loved us as well as she did! Goldens are awesome! So, anyway….thanks for your fun blog, your sense of humor and your creative inspirations!!

    September 25, 2011
  17. Love the truly comfy feel of this vignette, love the pillows! Thanks for linking up!

    September 30, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. September recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

