Skip to content
a bushel and a peck

I was in the dollar spot at Target and spotted these bushel/half-bushel/quarter bushel whatever…I don’t do measurement baskets for $2.50.

My first thought was, “I thought this was the DOLLAR spot, not the TWO and a HALF DOLLAR spot.”

My second thought was, “I bet I can doctor these up and make them cute.”

Sure, they are pretty cute as is. But I suffer from an affliction called C.L.A.A.S.  Have you heard of it? It stands for CAN’T LEAVE ANYTHING ALONE SYNDROME. It’s serious. And there is no cure. So I just go with it. 🙂

Here’s what I did…grabbed the baskets, some jute upholstery webbing found at JoAnn’s (79 cents a yard and they have killer coupons this week) and my hot glue gun.

I took out the fabric liner and glued the jute webbing just beneath the rim of the basket all the way around. That’s it.

Now you tell me…WHICH is cuter? THIS….

OR THIS…

You KNOW you wanna run out to Target and make some. C’mon…join me in my affliction.

Run FORREST Run

Linking up here:
Boogieboard CottageThe DIY Show OffDesigner Garden

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. A bit too far to run to from here, but I keep hearing we are getting Targets. Love your fall decor and header.

    September 24, 2011
  2. Love the jute; must swing by our local JoAnn’s and see if they have any with the red stripe. Would look great wrapped around almost anything for the holidays 😉

    September 24, 2011
  3. Your front porch area looks so festive for the season. Now, about all that empty area under the windows. Needs some plants, yes??

    September 24, 2011
    • Totally. I need to add some boxwoods! It’s just never-ending around here. I also would love a large windowbox for under the window. But it’s on the long, long list of things to do!

      September 24, 2011
  4. I DO wanna run to Target. Like now. Okay, tomorrow I’m going to Target and getting these great baskets. Thanks for the inspiration. They’ll look great with mini pumpkins.

    September 25, 2011
  5. I have that same affliction…..I made a burlap liner for an old cement bucket found at a yard sale recently….hop over to Mel’s Designs from the Cabin to see it and more…we have lots of Targets in our area….some call they in french…”tarjea..”…Mel (don’t know if it’s spelled correctly but they promounce it like that. lloll)

    September 25, 2011
  6. Hopefully there is no cure for your affliction…..I too “suffer” from it as well! Your redo baskets are adorable! Audrey@eleganteconomies@blogspot.com

    September 25, 2011
  7. I hear that affliction is epidemic around these parts! Nothing a glue gun can’t handle……

    September 25, 2011
  8. I love them. ALOT! Came over from Masterpiece Monday’s! Great idea…

    September 25, 2011
  9. Sooo much better now. Great job! I think your syndrome has become an epidemic. I suffer from it too and there’s no cure. Thanks for sharing.

    September 25, 2011
  10. Jan #

    Love those. Picked up a roll of jute webbing at an estate sale recently and am finding it useful for so many things…now you’ve added one more to my idea file!!

    Jan

    September 26, 2011
  11. I am afflicted, too! I need to get off this computer and redo a fall wreath. Can’t leave it like it is. You know what I mean!

    September 26, 2011
  12. Haha I laughed out loud when I read about C.L.A.A.S! It’s so true! Maybe I can convince my husband that it’s a real syndrom. 🙂

    PS I have a $50 cash giveaway going on on my blog right now. Come by when you get a chance! 🙂

    September 26, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. September recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

