Skip to content
what happens when I get bored…

Saturday morning I was kind of bored. Danger, Will Robinson, Danger! Boredom is not good for me. It gets me into trouble…in this particular instance, messy demolition.

I was out in my studio working on a couple of projects. I went into the kitchenette area AKA THE SKEEVE PALACE and decided I wasn’t gonna look at that nasty placeΒ one more day.

Not up in here.

This little room has a fridge (that I would never dream of putting anything in)…so I moved it out.

a stove (I barely use the one in my house…why on earth would I need an extra one???) Gotta call the gas company on this one cause I don’t know nothin bout messin with no gas lines, Miss Scarlet. As soon as they cut off the gas line, it’s outta there.

some el-cheapo cabinets that aren’t even worth painting over and a nasty enamel cabinet that houses a pretty cool sink/countertop. I’m keeping the sink/cabinet but I have big plans for making it purdy.

.

The worst part is the disgust-a-mun-do carpeting.

I started ripping it out not knowing what was underneath, yet knowing if they put carpet this ugly over it there’s no way it’s anything good.

Oh, you are so wrong grasshoppah.

So after shopvac-ing the pounds of green dust (kinda wondering why it’s green, but it’s probably one of those mysteries that needs to remain unsolved)

I unearthed this beautiful hardwood.

QuestionWHY in the wide, wide world of sports would you cover this

with this????

Stay tuned. This is gonna be good!

23 Comments Post a comment
  1. This is a MAJOR project but looks to be one that you can handle…you’re so talented at this! Me….I would hire someone to do all the work…lol! Will be fun to watch the progress on this little room.

    September 25, 2011
  2. lenka #

    Ohhh, Miz Susan, I just caint wait to see what y’all are gonna do with this one !!! Hurray up will you !!

    September 25, 2011
  3. Kim #

    I have always “dreamed” of finding a floor like yours under old nasty carpet, when renovating,, NEVER has happened yet!! Like you boredom is a scary thing for me.. cant wait to see more on this project!!

    September 25, 2011
  4. Andrea @ Big Creek Cottage #

    OMG…..why did anyone evah…cover hard wood floors…it’s crazy…I can’t wait to see what you do with this space. come on over…I have a few spaces that would cure any boredom!!!! I would love to see more…..are those doors closet like doors????? they look like they are on a track maybe….I am facinated with closet doors because we need to replace every single one in our home……every single one…….

    September 25, 2011
  5. Can’t wait to see how this turns out!!

    September 25, 2011
  6. Kathtleen Fullerton #

    Oh Susan, who would have thought the floor would be so beautiful. The first picture I saw, I thought, oh no, it’s plywood….then you revealed the beautiful hardwood. That slimy little kitchen that gave you the creeps will be no more……..
    Can’t wait to see how you pretty up that old sink and cabinet. If you had thrown that away I
    would have sent the white coats out to get you.

    September 25, 2011
  7. Patty #

    A friend of mine did the same thing — ripped up carpet — and found the same treasure ! Almost always beautiful wood flowers in the older homes. When was THE thing to have in your home, everyone wanted it and rolled the stuff right over the beautiful wood floors. How lucky you are !

    September 25, 2011
  8. Jen Jeschke #

    Oh boy you and I would get along πŸ™‚ I’m bored now and my daughter and I are dreaming of what we could do with the closet in my office πŸ™‚ So excited to see the changes in this room and I’m with you WHO would cover that floor it’s amazing! Lucky and happy find. Always look forward to your posts.

    September 25, 2011
  9. brilliant and beautiful discovery! yeah for boredom!
    looks very much like what we found in our kitchen underneath not one but two layers of nasty ugly linoleum. you can see it here:

    http://the1829farmhouse.blogspot.com/2009/12/sighkitchen-still-in-progress.html

    this is before i started blogging so my pics don’t show the true uglyness. (if you go back one post on “kitchen” you can see the old flooring)

    i look forward to the final reveal!

    judi

    September 25, 2011
  10. Mel #

    You are at your best when bored! LOL

    The bigger question is why would someone put carpeting in a kitchen? Gross 😦

    Can’t wait to see what you get up to.

    September 25, 2011
  11. Vanessa #

    Like can’t you just watch TV?! hahahaha xo Vanessa

    September 25, 2011
    • V…sometimes when I’m bored I eat bon bons and watch Project Runway marathons! πŸ˜‰

      September 25, 2011
  12. cndesigns #

    When people thought carpet was “the in thing” all that gorgeous hardwood got covered…just so it would be unearthed years later and found in very, very good condition by you! Whoo hoo! And if it’s good enough “as is” you’re set to go!

    September 25, 2011
  13. love love love hardwood floors. what a fabulous treasure under such DISCUSTING carpet!!
    can’t wait to see it finished.

    September 25, 2011
  14. fun room! I remember the days when I used to help my mom find a place for us to rent (waaay back when I was a wee young lass). We’d always turn our noses up at the ads with hardwood floors….w/w (wall to wall) was where it was at (circa early 80’s anyhow). I sure hope that trend doesn’t come back to haunt us! Looking forward to seeing what you do with this space!

    September 25, 2011
  15. Gosh- Ive been catching up on all these posts, new surveyor drawers, new studio, fall scape, LOVE it. Everything looks so great and homey!

    September 25, 2011
  16. OK, I’ll confess I was a little jealous when you announced that you had JUST realized you had a enormous Guest House that would make the perfect workroom – like it was something you’d bought on sale at Michaels, stuffed in the back of your closet and just now rediscovered.

    Then when I saw what you did with the guest house and how amazing your work room looked my jealousy crept up a bit on the “green-with” scale.

    And now you suddenly reveal that there is, in fact, a whole other room WITH A SINK – and fabulous hardwood floors??!!!

    I expect the next blog post will be:
    “The other day I was in my workroom and noticed this closet door that I’d somehow missed. I opened it and wouldn’t you know it? A fabulous greenhouse filled with light, great chippy ironwork and a man-servant named Pip who is just a dream to have around!”

    September 25, 2011
    • David! You are so bad. I knew I had them, it just hadn’t occurred to me to use them for something other than what they were intended for. But Pip wouldn’t be so bad. In this little fantasy, can he please look like Tim McGraw? πŸ™‚ How did the auditions go? We watch those shows…my kids would be so impressed if I “knew” one of the actors! Have a wonderful day…I’m off to look for that magical closet door! πŸ™‚

      September 26, 2011
  17. Debra Meyer #

    What a great surprise!! Good for you–maybe I better get bored and find myself some beautiful wood floors! Can’t wait to see what you will do in this space! Great job!

    September 26, 2011
  18. You are sooo lucky!! Hardwood and it looks like it’s in excellent condition! Can’t wait to see this project.

    September 26, 2011
  19. I have been cruising through all the posts I can find of yours that relate to your little guest cottage. I saw your link at Freckled Laundry this morning and had to come by because I just bought a sink with a drain board off of Craigslist and am going to install it in my kitchen! Mine has a one sided drain board, unlike yours that is centered between 2 drainboards. Anyway, I hadn’t seen anyone using these sinks and got so excited to see yours! I see you still have it in the metal cabinet. I did a post on the style and basic history of these post war era sinks. They are so cool. I love how your little cottage came out. The pretty rug taped together was genius, as was making the skirt. I hope you get a chance to see my sink when I finally have the reveal.

    October 7, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. September recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

