Skip to content
work table before & after

Last weekend at the Arboretum Antiques Market, I found this honeyofa work table.

It was love at first sight and I knew it would be perfect in my studio. But the top needed some help. I LOVED the holes, and dents and bumps and bruises. It is a work table after all. It was the finish that I didn’t like.

So I hand sanded it because it took an army of elephants to get the table into the room…there was no way we were taking it back out to sand it.

I rubbed Tung Oil all over it and it did nothing. Zilch. Zip. Nada.

So I stained it with Minwax Dark Walnut. I know they make like a million other colors but I just love it.

Oooooooo, baby. Just look at that rich, delectable finish. That’s what I’m talkin bout.

Happy Monday, peeps!

Sharing here:
Savvy Southern StyleDesigner GardenThe Shabby NestFurniture Feature FridaysRedouxFunky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

53 Comments Post a comment
  1. Honestly…I am really getting tired of you finding all of these cool things. This is definitely one of my favorites!

    September 26, 2011
  2. I love it too! What a find, fantastic! I love everything about that piece, including the paper cutter on top which looks vintage too.

    September 26, 2011
  3. She sure is purdy now!

    September 26, 2011
  4. You are not kidding when you say a “honeyofafind”. That table is just wonderful! The top looks so rich now that you’ve stained it, what a difference. What a great find!
    Debbie

    September 26, 2011
  5. I’m just speechless. What an amazing find and you did a terrific job breathing new life into the piece! xo

    September 26, 2011
  6. I love that work table! I say it all the time to you, and I’ll say it again: You find the coolest stuff! Love the new banner with your newly painted door and fall decor!

    September 26, 2011
  7. cndesigns #

    Really great find! I get lucky like that too sometimes, but usually I’m not in the market for too much big stuff since our house is quite small. I really like the dark wood top.—Connie

    September 26, 2011
  8. stefanie #

    oh!!!!! its beautiful!

    September 26, 2011
  9. Amy Monaghan #

    I just saw one of these at Home Goods for the low, low price of 699.99. Yes, that’s right my friend….I’m sure you got a better deal!

    September 26, 2011
  10. gorgeous! love it next to your dresser!

    September 26, 2011
  11. Love the new dark top. So pretty!

    September 26, 2011
  12. Looks great! Love everything in there!

    September 26, 2011
  13. This is such a gorgeous table! I just love it! I also love your fabulous chests of drawers in the background as well as all your metal finds from the Arboretum Antique Market.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    September 27, 2011
  14. beautiful! Love it

    September 27, 2011
  15. you have got the eye and the knack. you have a very particular style and it shows. i love it! i think if i ever came to visit you would need to follow me with a mop so i wouldn’t drool all over your floors!

    September 27, 2011
  16. I’m totally in love with this work table!! May I pretty please (with a cherry on top) go shopping with you sometime? I just love everything you find – I’m all about metal and wood furniture. You did a beautiful job refinishing this (I really like the hospital table too!) Thanks for sharing

    September 27, 2011
  17. It’s gorgeous! This and the cabinet in your work room make me drool…

    September 27, 2011
  18. What a fabulous find! Love the wax finish. I would love to happen upon something like this.

    September 28, 2011
  19. It looks so good. I’m currently doing a vintage industrial look to my basement and this would have worked perfectly. Great find.
    Dana

    September 28, 2011
  20. I’m so jealous! I swear CA and affordable antiques are allergic to each other.

    September 28, 2011
  21. this is amazing and your choice of color is perfectly plum! what a find!

    love this piece, love your blog and LOVE those pups!!

    your newest email follower!

    amy

    September 28, 2011
  22. This table has so much character I love the dark stain. I restored and sealed the jarrah floorboards in my house with tung oil it is so stinky isn’t it!

    September 28, 2011
  23. It’s gorgeous! I love the dark walnut on it. It goes beautifully in that room. I’m your newest subscriber.

    September 29, 2011
  24. What a fabulous find! You did an amazing job on it too!

    September 29, 2011
  25. Kim #

    You find the best unique pieces. Great finish.

    September 29, 2011
  26. Oh my goodness! What a find! You lucky girl. It looks fantastic. I absolutely love your studio and your farm house. Your Fall Door looks great too! I will definitely check you out on Facebook and subscribe I would love to see more of your farm house. Hope you’ll stop by The Corson Cottage sometime:)

    September 29, 2011
  27. oh wow – LOVE! fantastic find – and very nice finished top.
    cheryl xox.

    September 29, 2011
  28. great table makeover love the finish, beautiful, id love to feature it , drop me a line and let me know if thats ok with you.

    September 29, 2011
  29. This table is amazing, and it looks great with your surveyors cabinet!
    Your workroom is way cool (do people still say that?), anyway, you get the picture!
    -Revi

    September 29, 2011
  30. It looks smashing! Fits right in your works space perfectly. Somethings are just meant to be.

    September 30, 2011
  31. What a great transformation. One of the companies that my husband owns specializes in tearing down old factories and then repurposing the land for new uses. He is always coming across great industrial finds like this.

    October 1, 2011
  32. I definitely have table envy! LOVE it.

    October 1, 2011
  33. PEA GREEN with envy here- it shows her age and embraced it! Love the work on her top too! Nice job…fer sure
    Again,
    visiting from TheShabbyNest’s linky party,
    Suzanne in NW IL

    October 1, 2011
  34. I am totally loving her!!! What a gorgeous gorgeous table!! LOVE LOVE LOVE! 🙂

    October 1, 2011
  35. Tammy #

    What a terrific table! Great job!

    October 1, 2011
  36. Seriously awesome worktable!!! (not jealous….not jealous…not jealous….) lol!

    xoxo laurie

    October 1, 2011
  37. what a beauty! Thanks for sharing at my linky party this week.

    October 2, 2011
  38. Meg #

    holy poo on toast. that entire furniture setup is amazing. love love love the filing system. your table makeover is great too.

    October 2, 2011
  39. I love this! I am so excited to see more of your posts! My readers would love to meet you as well. I have a Monday Linky Party if you could share some of your projects! Either way….I’m here to stay! Love, Your new follower……Me! http://www.youaretalkingtoomuch.com

    October 3, 2011
  40. Hi there – I have now seen a couple of your pieces in the blog world( we were both just featured on West Furniture Revival) I’ve fallen in love with your work and I’m a new follower of yours! Your house looks just like a home down the road from me and when I first your blog, I thought we were neighbors! 🙂 But we aren’t, darn it! I’m in Oregon. Take care.

    Shari
    turnstylevogue.com

    October 4, 2011
    • Hi Shari, Ditto! I love your work too. Especially the latest buffet you did with the owl knobs! Those things are the cutest ever. Too bad we aren’t neighbors…I bet we could get into some trouble! (the thrifting, junking and makeover kind, of course). Have a great day.

      October 4, 2011
  41. wow! you lucky girl! what a fabulous table. Love dk walnut!
    gail

    October 4, 2011
  42. absolutely love it!!

    October 5, 2011
  43. What a fantastic piece! You really are a great “picker”

    October 5, 2011
  44. This is so gorgeous, I am surprised you don’t have bloggers showing up at your house asking to see your studio in person! It looks so yummy I want to run my hand over it! Just gorgeous, I am featuring in my linky party tomorrow, thanks!!!

    October 6, 2011
  45. Susan #

    I really love this table! I’m refinishing a dining room table and I plan to sand down the top and stain it with a dark Minwax stain and paint the rest of it and the 10 chairs in a distressed white. I actually found it for free on craigslist! Can you give me any suggestions on sealing the top? I just want it to look as natural as possible, not shiny, but I want it to be protected from rings from glasses.

    Thank you,
    Susan

    October 10, 2011
    • Hi Susan. What a great score! I would seal it with Briwax (clear). Let me know if you have any more questions!

      October 10, 2011
      • Susan #

        Sounds great, I’ll try the Briwax. And yes…such a score! I couldn’t believe it was free!

        Thank you so much for the help 🙂

        October 10, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. September recap | Maple & Magnolia
  2. it ain’t easy being green | Maple & Magnolia
  3. top ten furniture projects of 2011 | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

