Skip to content
inspiration board

There are these really large cool doors in my studio that divide the living space from the kitchenette.

What a perfect place for an inspiration board, but it’s so large I knew I’d never find a pre-made one.

“Oh, Rhett…whatevuh will ah do?”

“Frankly, my dear, I think this calls for a little DIY.”

Sorry…sometimes I go off on little mental field trips.

So I went to Target and got a foam project board (the kind with flaps). I cut the flaps off with an exacto knife.

Then I duct taped the two flaps together and then duct taped that to the main board. Ya follow? I wrapped it around a couple of times so that it would be sturdy.

Next I covered the board with batting. 2-3 layers…can’t remember exactly.

They I went over the batting with some great linen fabric that I found at Hancock fabrics during their half-price week.

This is before I ironed it. 🙂

I used a staple gun to staple both the batting and the fabric pulling it tightly. Here’s a little tip for ya…whenever covering something with fabric be it a seat cushion or something else…always go side staple/side staple then top staple/bottom staple OR top staple/ bottom staple then side staple/side staple. The point is to not go side then top or side then bottom or your fabric will get all caterwonked.

Next I placed those new super-duper strong velcro strips all down the back. I went ahead and put both pieces together without pulling the sticky off of the top piece. I pushed them together really hard and then peeled the stickies and stuck the board to the door.

Then I added some nail head tacks that I found at JoAnn’s around the perimeter to finish it off.

I’ve just begun to add inspirational bits and pieces to the board but it’s not finished.

I’ll think about that tomorrow.

Aftuh all… tuhmorrow is anothuh day.

Linking up to these parties:
Designer GardenThe Shabby NestPhotobucket Funky Junk's Saturday Nite Specialfreckled laundry

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love this. Wasn’t following the ‘flap’ thing but I get the kind of project board you’re talking about now. Haven’t had my tea yet 🙂 This looks fantastic!

    September 28, 2011
  2. Beautiful and Brilliant! You….Your Blog…..And Your Bulletin Board!!! [now that’s a lot of alliteration]
    Blessings, Audrey

    September 28, 2011
  3. Karen #

    love. love. love it! sounds easy enough..THANK YOU for the idea!! love your work and cute findings!

    September 28, 2011
  4. Seriously, come over to my house ANY TIME. Just remember to bring your glue gun 🙂

    September 28, 2011
  5. This looks so great … the nail head tacks really make the project!

    September 28, 2011
  6. cndesigns #

    Really really cute! It certainly adds flair to that area! And “I do soh luv that word caterwonked, Rhett! I suspect ah’ll be usin’ it more often!” 😉

    September 28, 2011
  7. Nicely Done!

    September 28, 2011
  8. You are something! I love this!! Incredible how much you get accomplished, inspirational 🙂 Thank you. Carol

    September 28, 2011
  9. Di #

    This board is VERY VERY nice! love the nail head trim too!

    September 29, 2011
  10. Wow, this is amazing. You did a GREAT job. I would love for you to link up with us http://www.thesasselife.com/2011/09/link-party-5.html. I hope to see you there!
    New follower,
    Kim
    http://www.thesasselife.com

    September 30, 2011
  11. What a great tute! And it looks so doable! Come check out my living room reveal!

    September 30, 2011
  12. Glory be, Miss Scarlett, I do declare that your inspiration board is truly an inspiration to behold.

    Fiddle-di-di!

    Nice job, honestly 😀

    Thanks for sharing while I visiting from the Shabby Nest Linky Party today,
    ~Suzanne in NW Illinois

    October 1, 2011
  13. This is awesome. Looks totally Restoration Hardware…. I’m going to copy.

    October 1, 2011
  14. This is just darling too~ what a great idea for an inspiration board! Stopping by from FJ- Feathered Nest Friday is going on at my blog if you want to come share over there too! 🙂

    October 1, 2011
  15. Super job on your inspiration board. I love the fabric and the tacks.
    gail

    October 4, 2011
  16. Stopping back by to say thanks so much for sharing at Feathered Nest Friday! 🙂

    October 6, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. September recap | Maple & Magnolia
  2. studio window treatments | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

