Skip to content
yin and yang

I’ve got a suhweet new restoration project goin on. It may be the last one of its kind for a while.

The other day I found this watchmaker’s cabinet at my fav-O-rite antiques store.

You know how I feel about unusual cabinets. Especially ones with lots of drawers. Exhibit A and B.

It really blew my skirt up.

It didn’t, however, blow my husband’s skirt up. (Not that he wears skirts.)

But he did almost blow his top…does that count? πŸ˜‰

Hear that sound?

Screeeeeeeeeech….that is the sound of the brakes being pulled on my overzealous antiquing. Overzealous? Let’s just say if you put antiquing in gambling terms, I’d be on a heater. πŸ˜‰

He tweaked.Β And not the good kind.

Now let me tell you a little something about my better half. He is the sweetest, most patient man on the planet. It’s really hard to get him riled up.

Say there’s this imaginary line waaaaaaaayyyyyy over here. I almost always stay on this side of the line. But sometimes I teeter. Cause teetering is fun. And it keeps things interesting!

Now let me tell you a little something about me. If I were a bag a chocolate chips, I’d be semi-sweet. πŸ˜‰ And I don’t have a patient bone in my body.

See where this is heading?

He is the yin to my yang.

The Phil to my Claire

The Raymond to my Debra

Bottom line??? No more antiques to show ya for a while.

Unless I find a reallllyyyy good deal. πŸ˜‰ Kidding.

My plan for the cabinet that broke the camel’s back?

1)Β Get rid of the tacky-shellacky finish and

2) Replace those “hey, we’re trying to look like antique pulls but we’re not *pulling* it off…”pun intended πŸ™‚ pulls.

Hold onto your skirts…it’s gonna be fab.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. What an amazing piece…I can’t wait to see what you do with it! : )

    September 29, 2011
  2. Karen #

    you crack me up!!! can’t wait to see the makeover on this desk, it is such a neat piece, good find!

    September 29, 2011
  3. Awesome!! You find the most wonderful pieces. Can’t wait to see what you do with this one.

    September 29, 2011
  4. Jen Jeschke #

    This post cracked me UP!

    September 29, 2011
  5. Pam #

    Ha ha! I know the feeling! Great piece–I can’t wait to see the transformation!

    Have a great day.
    Pam

    September 29, 2011
  6. this may well be my favorite piece that you’ve shown us yet. Perhaps we should set up a donation fund so you may continue to antique and show us your amazing finds. My hubby is previewing an amazing estate sale tonight, and I thought of your story where you ran to the basement first and scored the prize!

    September 29, 2011
  7. I hear ya girl! My husband wasn’t too thrilled when I brought home an armoire this weekend. But hey it was half off furniture day at the thrift store!!
    Your new piece is so cool!! Can’t wait to see it when you’re done with it.

    September 29, 2011
  8. You are KILLING me with these cabinets and tables. I love them all!! You may find me hiding in your bushes one day so I can follow you to these incredible stores. (totally joking…I just LOVE the antiques you find!) Tell your husband that your purchasing habits are for the greater good of blog world. πŸ™‚ My grandpa use to tell my grandma that she could buy anything she wanted, aslong as she didn’t bring it home.
    I can’t wait to see how this one turns out…what a wonderful find!!

    September 29, 2011
  9. That is an awesome cabinet, but then I love anything with drawers! Sorry about the hubby… sometimes they can be so difficult, can’t they? This will be even more beautiful when you get finished with it…. can’t wait to see it!

    October 1, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

