Skip to content
guest cottage kitchen reveal…part one

I always struggle with reveal posts because I always have a lot to say and a lot of details to give. But the blog reader in me really just likes the reveal photos and not a bunch of yammering. So I’m breaking the reveal into two parts.

Part one…the yammering.

Part two…the pretties.

Sound good?

Our guest cottage kitchen needed more than a makeover. It needed a miracle!

It looked like it belonged in a fishing camp rather than a guest cottage. It was not very welcoming.

In the five months we’ve lived here, it has earned the nickname “skeeve palace” for it’s skeevy ickiness.

Last Saturday I decided I couldn’t stand it for another minute. In typical Susan-fashion I ripped out the carpet, took out the fridge, and realized I had no real plan. Once I formulated a plan, I quickly realized that the job was a little  okay a lot bigger than I could handle. I feel that heavy duty DIY projects are better left to the professionals! So I called a drywall/handyman whose card I picked up at Ace Hardware. He came that same day and got started! That’s how it all came together so quickly. He hung new drywall over the peeling plaster walls and ceiling. He installed a new faucet, hung a new light fixture (I found it at Goodwill for $3.99!), installed wide baseboard trim and painted the room, took down the horrid cabinets, hung the open shelving and removed the stove. He did such a great job and those things alone made a huge difference.

Now came the fun part…prettying it up. I had a clear vision of what I wanted for the room. A farmhouse-inspired kitchen with open shelving and lots of storage and oozing with charm.

For the open shelving, I selected some 1x12x8 cedar boards from Home Depot. I stained them with Minwax Jacobean (not Dark Walnut, can you believe it?).

I wanted to cover up the sink cabinet and remembered seeing this drop cloth desk skirt on Traci’s blog, Beneath My Heart.

Next, I wanted a french grain sack striped roman shade for the window and remembered seeing a faux roman shade tutorial (again on Traci’s blog).

So I painted the design I wanted on a drop cloth with acrylic paint.

I needed a short wide chest to go under the open shelving so I went out to the barn and just happened to have one. Super-hoarder powers ACTIVATE 🙂

I gave it a little makeover with some Jacobean stain and Annie Sloan Old Ochre chalk paint.

I found this rug at Target and fell in love with it. I needed two to cover the space, so I taped the seams together with duct tape to create one large rug.

I guess that’s about all of the details. Part two pretties, coming right up!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. “Super-hoarder powers ACTIVATE…” – that made my day. Thank you! Love your blog! Can’t wait for the reveal !!!

    October 2, 2011
  2. I hate when I get to the end and it IS in fact the end………I for one can handle a long post with all the “yammering”…..but I also realize the importance of stretching one post into two!!! Can not wait for the BIG reveal!!!!!

    October 3, 2011
  3. Wow! So many great ideas! I have to go check out the turotials!

    October 3, 2011
  4. Not to worry, my husband has made me promise I won’t buy any more furniture until I sell some because our house is tiny and there is only so much that I can fit squeeze into it! Lol. 🙂

    October 3, 2011
  5. I like the way you tackle a project!
    Looks wonderful…can’t wait to see part 2!!

    October 3, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. october recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

