Skip to content
gentleman’s bar

I don’t know exactly when our house was built. The records are sketchy. Probably sometime in the mid 1800’s. Over the years, the house has had 2 additions. The only “original” room in the house is the gentleman’s bar. It’s like stepping back in time.

This room is by no means “finished” but I thought I’d show you anyway.

Antique trophies and seltzer bottles. Still adding to that collection. πŸ™‚

The Union Jack chestΒ is not as bright as it looks in this photo.

I found this antique fly fishing creel at an estate sale. They are really hard to find in good shape with the leather and buckles intact. I snapped it up in a heartbeat!

You like the window treatments? I made them yesterday in about 15 minutes.

Wanna know how?

You need foam board (my best friend), fabric, batting, glue gun and nail head trim is optional.

Cut the foam board to the size you need for the window. In my case, the window has a scalloped frame so I had to fit the foam board behind it.

Lay the batting and fabric over the front of the foam board, flip it over and trim it. Use a hot glue gun to secure the fabric to the foam board. Do opposing sides then the other set of opposing sides. That way your fabric will lay nice and smooth.

Select a coordinating solid fabric (I used twill) and hot glue it on the back. This is so you have a finished “back side” that will show through the window.

I added nail head brads to the bottom for a more masculine look.

The I secured it to the window frame using Command velcro strips. Have you tried these yet? They are amazing. Found at Target, where else?

15 minutes and under ten dollars for window treatments. Not bad, eh?

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yep – 1950’s knotty pine paneling — it was apparently all the rage back then… almost every relative I have that built a house back in the 50’s used that in their kitchens and dens… LOL I love your Gentleman’s Bar – the seltzer bottles and trophies are perfect in there! Thanks for the memories!

    October 6, 2011
  2. Melinda G. Burke #

    Susan, what an interesting house you bought! I love how you did the window treatments, now that I can do! When everything is finally finished do you think you can give us the Grand Tour!

    October 6, 2011
  3. My husband would love to have this downstairs!!
    Looks great…love the window treatments!
    I’ve decided to try and start collecting those baskets ~ for my fisherman!

    October 7, 2011
  4. Paula #

    I love the ease of creating the foam-core window treatments. Do you have any examples of treatments made without the scalloped-type wooden frame? I’m new to your blog, and am so excited to learn more!

    πŸ™‚ Paula

    November 1, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. orlando antiquing finds {part 2} | Maple & Magnolia
  2. october recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

