Skip to content
script-i-licious antique trunk

I found this trunk back in July at an estate sale for a hundred bucks. Just look at that gorgeous script. It’s script-i-licious!

I love the metal scalloped edges.

It was in good shape, considering it’s at least a hundred years old.

I gave it a major shop vac treatment and then cleaned it and waxed it with Briwax to give it a nice clean finish.

I makes a perfect coffee table in my studio.

I’m in sunny Florida right now getting a little R &R.

Heading to Mount Dora for a little antiquing this weekend…shhhh, don’t tell my hubby.

Any of you Florida peeps know of any great junk/thrift/antique/flea markets in the Orlando area I need to visit while I’m here?

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful trunk. $1 for every year of it’s life, what a bargain. Where in Florida are ya?

    October 6, 2011
  2. Lovely patina!!!

    October 6, 2011
  3. Oh my God i LOVE Mt Dora! Im in CT but go there when I visit my cousin at the beach each year. If u’ve never been there, u MUST go into a shop on Donnelly called ‘The Painter’s Daughter’. I knew from her SIGN that this would be good… Boutique w/antiques mixed in, but her design sense is so unusual, stunning & inspirational! (no pix allowed tho). Also, go to a fam run bakery on W. 3rd called ‘My Father’s Bread’. All natural, homemade (& cheap) w/cinnamon rolls u can smell down the street. Try to catch a play at the wonderful Icehouse Community Theatre, & the Goblin Market is a really cool rest’t w/ great food. Have fun, can’t wait to see pix!

    October 6, 2011
    • Hi Kathie, You’ve basically just planned out our day! Thanks so much for all the great tips! đŸ™‚

      October 6, 2011
  4. Love your trunk, looks great with your sofa.

    We are headed to Destin tomorrow for some R&R. I’ve got the names of a couple of antique places to visit but probably won’t since we’ll have our 7 year old twin grandbabies with us. Good luck shopping!

    Judy

    October 6, 2011
    • Thanks, Judy. Have a wonderful time in Destin! It’s so beautiful there.

      October 6, 2011
  5. Sarah #

    You find the most amazing things! Wish I had your luck treasure hunting. The trunk is awesome. Look forward to all of your posts. Sarah

    October 6, 2011
  6. Eva #

    Susan

    You are amazing!!! Got to see your home and studio live tonight. You’ve done a wonderful job!!!
    Eva

    October 6, 2011
  7. Now THAT is an amazing find! Love.

    October 7, 2011
  8. KimW #

    You have to go to lunch on Limoge. What a cool place to eat a great meal. I have eaten at the Goblin too. It is also good. You will have a great time.

    October 7, 2011
  9. What a beautiful trunk!
    Enjoy your R&R!

    October 8, 2011
  10. What a beautiful trunk! I have an antique wooden bucket from Sweden that I have been to scared to use any product on but I think I may get brave and try the Briwax you used. What a difference it made on that trunk.

    October 9, 2011
  11. Oh. my. gorgeousness! I adore this.

    November 3, 2011
  12. Don #

    Have you made it to Rennigers in Mount Dora yet? They have over 200 antique booths.

    Don, The Antiquing Traveler
    http://www.antiquingtraveler.com/

    November 17, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. october recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

