Skip to content
faux striped grain sack, faux roman shade

Many of you have asked where I got the striped “grain sack” roman shade in the guest cottage kitchen.

Well, I couldn’t find any kind of window treatment that had the farmhouse vibe I was going for, so I made one. Wanna know how?

Step one. Measure your window.

Step two. Buy a drop cloth from Home Depot (I like theirs because they are hemmed).

Actually, I just used the leftover piece from the sink skirt that I made.

Step three. Cut the drop cloth about a half inch larger in width and lenth than you need it. Hem the unfinished sides with a 1/2″ seam.

Step four. Using painter’s tape (I used Scotch Blue), tape off the section for the wide center stripe. I measured and marked a dot a each end and placed the tape down on the dot on the end. Then I stretched the tape out above the drop cloth to the other end where my son placed it down on the other dot. It’s easier with a helper. Then I gently laid the tape onto the drop cloth and when I felt it was straight, I pressed the whole length of tape down rubbing really hard…especially the edge where the paint would be. Don’t skip this step or your paint will bleed. Repeat for other side of stripe.

Step five. Use Acrylic paint in desired color and a cheapy foam brush. Paint in the direction of the stripe, not side to side. The painter’s tape is good, but why push your luck?

Step six. Let dry…the paint dried amazingly fast. Use a hairdryer to speed up the drying process if you want.

Step seven. Once the paint is dry, pull the tape off in the direction of the stripe.

Step eight. Repeat for the little stripes.

Step nine. Step back and admire the fact that you are not only thrifty, but crafty and clever as well!

Here comes the most brill part ever…creating a “faux” roman shade. Sidenote…that word always makes me laugh. One of my besties, Deborah is a very talented faux finish painter. She had a client ask her once about her “fox” finish painting. Good times.

So I saw this tutorial on Traci’s blog Beneath My Heart.

You can go there to read the deets, but to me a picture is worth a thousand words. I used 4 tension rods on mine. You can adjust the number accordingly. All you do is place the rod and overlap the fabric. Seriously. It took like two seconds.

So there you have it.

A faux striped grain sack, faux roman shade….Faux under $10!

Faux SHO!

Linking up here:

23 Comments Post a comment
  1. you so totally rock!

    October 10, 2011
  2. I like, I like!

    October 10, 2011
  3. A lovely shade, and a hilarious tutorial. Love it.

    October 10, 2011
  4. You are right – a faux toe is worth a thousand words!

    Very clever!

    October 10, 2011
    • aaaaahhhahahahhaha. It took me about 45 minutes to get it!!!! You are good! Thanks for the laugh. 🙂

      October 11, 2011
  5. Karen #

    I love this idea and your bolg.

    October 11, 2011
  6. Great idea. I really like your style and creativity.

    October 11, 2011
  7. Ido #

    You are pure genius Susan!!! Love it!
    XXX Ido

    October 11, 2011
  8. What a great idea!! So cute and I love anything that’s no sew!

    October 11, 2011
  9. simple but brilliante’
    enjoyed the humor
    so i’m wondering,
    would this be considered faux sew?!

    October 11, 2011
  10. abso faux sho!

    brilliant idea.

    michele

    October 11, 2011
  11. Susan Halpin #

    Hello Susan – Hope you’re enjoying your getaway. I just purchased a trunk with writing on it and stupidly gave it a good bath in the tub. Now the grain is raised from being wet and I don’t want to sand it and possibly sand off the lettering. How did you get yours clean without water and do you have any suggestions for me to get my trunk nice and smooth again? Thanks.
    Susan

    October 11, 2011
    • Oh no! Sorry that happened. To clean furniture, I make up a mixture of Murphy’s Oil Soap and water in a spray bottle. There is no magic recipe…I just add about an inch or two of Murphy’s then fill the rest with water. Then I spray the piece and wipe with a clean cloth. That’s it. Wood will definitely warp when it gets sopping wet. Shoot me a photo and I’ll tell you what I would do with it. Right off the bat, though, I would put it out in the sunshine to dry it out as much as possible!

      October 11, 2011
  12. Too cute, love, simple and easy. Thanks for Fauxing us!

    October 12, 2011
  13. Kim #

    Love it. Perfect!

    October 13, 2011
  14. Ok, so you are my hero. I have been wanting to do roman shades for my master bedroom for a year now and have been putting it off because I haven’t come across a “pattern” that I like. I love this and grain sack striping just so happens to be one of my favorite decorative accents so don’t be surprised if mine end up looking exactly like yours. So awesome.

    October 17, 2011
  15. dot #

    I have a small window I would like to try the faux blind. What a great idea. Never would of thought of it myself. After seeing the picture it makes so much sense.

    October 18, 2011
  16. faux real…i LOVE this! so stealing this for the windows in my bathroom that have been naked for 5 over years!!

    November 13, 2011
    • Suzy, I’m so glad you can use the idea. They are so simple…here’s to no more nekked windows! 😉

      November 14, 2011
  17. I love these! I have been on the hunt for a good tutorial for roman shades and I can’t wait to try this. Thanks for sharing!

    February 18, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. october recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

