Skip to content
IKEA lost and found

So we went to IKEA yesterday. I have to say that the layout of the Schaumburg, Illinois IKEA store makes me never want to return. Ever.

It’s like a maze. For drunk mice. And there is no cheese. Well, I guess the parking lot would be the cheese since finding your way out of that place is the ultimate reward!

The layout makes no sense whatSOever. Next time I’m taking some hunting dogs and a compass to help me navigate.

Or maybe I’ll just take my daughter. She’s like the Rand McNally of confusing shopping layouts. I can remember when she was four, we’d be at a new mall (we moved a LOT) and I wouldn’t remember how to get back to whichever entrance we came in. Hannah would say, “follow me mommy.” And she was always right.

Come to think of it, maybe the fact that I’m seriously directionally challenged may have played a teensy part of my IKEA frustration. hmmmmm.

Anyway, I did manage to find a couple of goodies while I was there.

Like this rug for my studio. You can always count on IKEA for inexpensive rugs. Not bad for $79 bucks, eh? This one is beige, but it’s also available in black/white and pink/white. The pink and white one would be so sweet in a nursery.  And I can totally envision the black and white one in a kitchen. They also have runners for 29.99 (available in grey/white and red/white) and door mats for 9.99 (grey/white, red/white).

I also bought some Lenda curtains which I plan to hang in my studio, but trick them out a bit first. Stay tuned for that.

I bought some new brackets for the open shelving in the studio kitchen. My handyman told me the ones I chose weren’t really heavy duty enough. But I liked them cause they were galvanized and looked good.

Have I mentioned that in addition to being directionally challenged, I’m just a wee-bit stubborn and hard headed? Shocker, I know.

I’ve got more issues than National Geographic! 😉

Have a wonderful day, peeps. I’m off to antique with the parents!

21 Comments Post a comment
  1. cndesigns #

    At least you have an Ikea to shop at 🙂 We don’t even have one in our state.

    October 18, 2011
  2. Dana #

    I know EXACTLY what you mean about the Schaumburg Ikea. I’ve shopped there while visiting my college roommate and was COMPLETELY flustered. The worst part was I had picked out a large canvas and stuffed it in my cart. It was like trying to navigate with a billboard in front of your face… and when I got to the shopping cart escalator I had to pull everything out of my cart so I could get to the canvas… it wouldn’t fit on the escalator so I had to hold it myself. Grrrrrr The next time I go up to visit her (from St. Louis) I’ll have to email you to get the scoop on any cute shops to visit!

    October 18, 2011
    • Agree! Those escalators are wacky! Oh, yes please give me the scoop on cute shops. We are new here so I always like to hear of new places to shop! 🙂

      October 19, 2011
  3. The IKEA’s around here are a bit of a maze too. Fortunately I am one of those people that can always find my way around (or to) a mall or shopping venue!

    I love that rug! I’m planning an IKEA excursion to the Seattle area with my daughter and my sis soon… can’t wait 🙂

    ~Chris

    October 18, 2011
    • Oh, we were in Seattle back in the summer. What a cool place! Have fun on your road trip!

      October 19, 2011
  4. Paula #

    You are SO funny– I love reading your blog. You always make me smile, and many, many times wish I had your knack for finding bargains. No IKEA where I live either. A small town would probably drive you crazy after you had scoured the antique sources… you’d constantly be driving at least an hour to get to a mall or stores where you could purchase what you needed to complete a project.

    October 18, 2011
    • Paula, you are right. I like living in the country but juuusssttt on the edge of a big town. It’s the best of both worlds. Thanks for your nice comment. 🙂

      October 19, 2011
  5. Melinda G. Burke #

    Loving the Rug!!!!!!!!

    October 18, 2011
  6. Melinda G. Burke #

    Susan,

    Maybe I’m crazy, but I don’t remember the trunk? Did you just get it?

    October 18, 2011
    • Hi Melinda! A couple of posts back called “scriptylicious” trunk. 🙂

      October 18, 2011
  7. honestly, you could be blogging about dna or molecular biology and i’d still read your blog. you are SO funny!! thanks for the grins and giggles.

    and even though the ikea was a maze…i am so wanting to go to one again, i am having withdrawal symptoms. the checked rug is A+mazing. time for a road trip!

    October 18, 2011
    • Thanks, Judi. Trust me, no science-y posts in the future around here! 🙂 Have a wonderful day.

      October 19, 2011
  8. It definitely took me a while to lean Ikea…..but it is so worth it! Love the rug.

    October 18, 2011
  9. Ikea is a big old mess of a maze. But I think that is their secret plan to get one to buy more stuff. I’m willing to put up with the crazy store to score the great deals! I only wish there was one in Nashville. I really wish there was now that I want that rug in black and white…BAD!!! I think a road trip to Atlanta might be in order, soon.

    October 18, 2011
  10. Ellen Hunt #

    Thanks for the heads up about the rugs. Always looking for a good deal with that.

    October 18, 2011
    • Ellen, they also have runners and door mats…I just added the links on the post. 🙂

      October 19, 2011
  11. I’m in LOVE with that rug! Is it a square rug? It looks like it is in the photo but I can’t be sure.

    October 18, 2011
  12. I don’t know if it’s just your IkEA, mine is also a maze! Can’t count how many times I’ve had to ask for ‘directions’ 🙂

    October 19, 2011
  13. I agree with you. It is very hard to navigate! It’s extra fusterating for me because I have an impatient little two year with me. I can’t wait until he’s old enough to go to the play area!

    October 19, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

