Skip to content
mirror love

I love mirrors. Not for vanity reasons, but for the impact they have on any space in the home. The lightness and brightness they inject into a room is like an instant facelift.

I especially love old mirrors. The more imperfect the finish of the mirror itself, the more I love it!

So I found this mirror at an antique mall the other day for a steal. Love the shape of the frame, and the aging of the mirror. Someone had apparently stripped it, but never refinished it.

I’ve had this can of Briwax Liming Wax for a few weeks and have been waiting for the right project to come along.

The idea of liming wax is that it “opens” the grain of the wood. It helps if you have a pretty grain to begin with and this totally fit the bill.

Liming wax is easy as pie to apply. Using a clean cloth, I applied a thin coat to the wood. Don’t go crazy with it. Use it sparingly. Once you start working with it, you’ll get the feel.

Look at that gorgeous grain. It gives the wood a greyish/whitish finish.

Now that I’ve dipped my toe into the liming wax pool, I can’t wait to try it on a piece of furniture!

Stop back by tomorrow for part two of my Orlando antiquing finds!

Enjoy your day, friends!

Linking up to these rockin parties!
Savvy Southern Style{Primp}Boogieboard CottageMy Repurposed LifeChic on a Shoestring DecoratingThe Shabby NestRedouxFunky Junk Interiors

30 Comments Post a comment
  1. cndesigns #

    I have nothing to use liming wax on but looking at this mirror in the setting you’ve used it, gives me an idea for a big mirror I do have.(My mirror still has its finish on it.) I like the look of the mirror after the limed treatment. It’s a very “soft” feel that gives a sense of “quietude” to the mirror and the other accessories.Nice 🙂

    October 20, 2011
    • I’m anxious to see what you think of it! FYI, it can be used over stain as well. They suggest using briwax clear to seal it. I forgot to put that in the post! 🙂

      October 20, 2011
  2. lenka hunwicks #

    Love love love it. 🙂

    October 20, 2011
  3. I’ve just got to get some Brixwax and try it on various old wood pieces as you’ve done! Where do you buy yours? From an antique shop? can’t find it at a hardware store.

    October 20, 2011
    • Hi Cheryl, I buy mine at Ace Hardware. Also, thank you for putting in a word with Romantic Homes. I’ll let you know if I hear back. Have a great day.

      October 20, 2011
  4. I have yet to try Briwax but it looks easy to use so shall put my hand to it soon, I am sure. Thank you!

    October 20, 2011
  5. I love liming. So simple, but it gives a great effect. Your mirror was a perfect choice.

    October 20, 2011
  6. Oh wow, this product looks great! I would love to try it. I have you on my blog roll so I can updated on your projects!

    October 20, 2011
  7. gorgeous work!

    come visit anytime–and hope you will enter my shabby chic giveaway:

    http://hellolovelyinc.blogspot.com/2011/10/why-is-pearl-blushing.html

    warmly,

    michele

    October 20, 2011
  8. Love it! I want to try this with some chairs. What kind of prep work do you need to do?

    October 21, 2011
    • Julie, it depends on the look you want. If you like the very bare, grey/white look that my mirror has…sand the bare wood and apply. But on the can it says that it can be applied over stain. I haven’t tried that yet so I don’t know what it would look like? Could be interesting! Have a good day!

      October 21, 2011
  9. What a soft and pretty effect it gave your mirror! Lovely,

    October 21, 2011
  10. Oh I have never used this nor have I heard of it! I’m new to blogging & this looks like something I could do! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! Visiting from tatertots!

    October 21, 2011
    • Jessica, thanks for stopping by! You could totally do this. Let me know how it turns out!

      October 23, 2011
  11. It looks so Restoration Hardware-ish! Love it!
    Debbie

    October 22, 2011
  12. wow! that looks awesome! my parents have some pieces that look like this- wonder if liming wax was used?! thanks for the tip!!

    October 22, 2011
  13. Ann #

    This is a totally new technique to me. I love the way your mirror turned out and am excited to try this on a challenging piece I have. I’m heading to Ace Hardware tomorrow. Thanks for sharing.

    October 22, 2011
    • Hi Ann, I’m glad you liked it and are going to try it. Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

      October 23, 2011
  14. thank you for highlighting this product – I’ve never even heard of it before! And I’ve got an old oak framed mirror stashed away in a spare bedroom that really needs a makeover. Your results are so pretty! All your projects are just completely amazing 🙂

    October 23, 2011
    • Hi there. Thanks so much. I’m glad you are going to give it a try. You’ll love the results!

      October 23, 2011
  15. Looks great. I would love for you to stop by and link up your project to More the Merrier Monday. It lasts through Wednesday so you have plenty of time to link up.
    http://diyhshp.blogspot.com

    October 25, 2011
  16. I have a mirror VERY much like this. However it has a hideous finish (wood) and I haven’t wanted to strip it.
    great job, thanks for the tips!
    gail

    October 27, 2011
    • Gail, on the can it says you can use liming wax over existing finishes. Worth a try before you strip it? Let me know how it turns out!

      October 27, 2011
  17. It’s beautiful~ love how that turned out. Thank you for sharing it at Feathered Nest Friday!

    October 27, 2011
  18. Wow! I learned something completely new. I had no idea there was even such a product. Thank you so much for sharing, it looks just gorgeous.

    October 27, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. october recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

