Skip to content
it was a sign…

Last week I took my mom to see my favorite local vintage shop, Tattered Tiques.

I found this unbelievably awesome sign and knew immediately where I would hang it.

This sign was meant to hang over the bed in the guest cottage. The colors were a perfect match for the bedding and the wording was perfect (Oak is in the name of our street). Turns out Glen Oaks Inn is a B&B in New Hampshire.

The only thing that wasn’t perfect was that it looked too “new.” No problem…aging it would be a snap.

The first step was to beat the sign with a chain to “ding” it up. Then I used a sander with 60 grit paper. And went to town.

After wiping it down, I rubbed Briwax in dark brown over the whole thing. Done.

My Dad helped me hang ginormous hooks that would be strong enough to support this heavy six foot sign.

Here it is all “aged.” Much better don’t ya think?

Could it be any more perfect for that space?

One more before and after.

Yep, it was totally a sign.

Linking up here:
Boogieboard CottageThe DIY Show OffMod Vintage Life{Primp}Photobucket

Home Stories A2Z
53 Comments Post a comment
  1. That sign is PERFECTION for your bedding! Love that you aged it, it looks so realistic!

    October 23, 2011
  2. That is SO perfect–the color matches not only the bedding, but also your side table. Your guests are going to be so lucky! Love your bedding!

    October 23, 2011
  3. Sarah #

    Seriously- a perfect match and an amazing find!! I love the size. It completes the room. I love seeing all your amazing finds.

    October 23, 2011
  4. Sarah #

    By the way, is the bed an antique? If not, do you mind telling me where it’s from? Thanks so much! sarah

    October 23, 2011
  5. Karen #

    oh how perfect!!! I love it…simply awesome in its new location!

    October 23, 2011
  6. marvelous sign….and you made it perfect !

    October 24, 2011
  7. Kim #

    Pure perfection and it is huge. I love it!!

    October 24, 2011
  8. What a beautiful sign and a perfect spot for it! I’m a new follower and love your blog!!

    October 24, 2011
  9. Love it! Your distressing made it perfect! What a fun find. Love, Me http://www.youaretalkingtoomuch.com

    October 24, 2011
  10. Karen #

    Love that shop and love that you aged the sign it’s perfect.

    October 24, 2011
  11. cndesigns #

    OK call me weird (and a lot of people do…LOL!) but I actually like the sign in the “before” a bit better than the “after”. Here’s how I think, “If I was staying at an Inn that didn’t have enough time to repaint their sign every now and then to keep it looking new, I wonder what else they didn’t have time to do for their guests?” (Yes, I know this is your guest cottage and you’re not really an Inn.)

    However, that being said, I do think the colors in the aged “after” look work better with the color of the bedding/room. So I do have a little more love for it cuz of that {wink} 😉

    October 24, 2011
  12. Fantastic, loved it before your transformation….incredible after. Way to go, you have a wonderful eye! That guest room looks so inviting!

    October 24, 2011
  13. You continue to amaze me. That sign looks great! We said the right person would walk in and love it. So glad it turned out to be you, it is just perfect in your space. I LOVE it aged and distressed.
    Julie

    October 24, 2011
  14. Omigosh…much better indeed! WOW…I really love that sign. Stopping by from Mod Mix Monday. Have a great week!
    -Marie

    October 24, 2011
  15. OK, that looks awesome! I’ve always got my eye out of signs like that and the work you did to age it is perfect. The room looks great!

    October 24, 2011
  16. Absolutely perfect!

    October 24, 2011
  17. I would love to move that whole room into my house. You were so right about the sign…it’s perfection. Love the stepstool or table next to the bed too.

    October 24, 2011
  18. Love it…..it is a wonderful sign! The typography is perfect!

    October 24, 2011
  19. LUV LUV LUV your aged sign! You did a wonderful job distressing it! I think treasures look so much better with a little “history” showing on them, don’t you? lol! I adore your bed, too! I’m Pinning it! 🙂

    xoxo laurie

    October 24, 2011
  20. The “roughing up” is perfection! As is its new home!! I’m moving in! 🙂

    October 24, 2011
  21. Deb #

    Oh my gosh…your sign looks perfect in your beautiful guest cottage…I love it all! ~Deb~

    October 24, 2011
  22. Love how you aged that sign – it i so perfect in your room.

    October 24, 2011
  23. Your eye for design just amazes me! You take something and make it into FABULOUS!! And you have some great antique shops in your area…envy!

    October 24, 2011
  24. Rachel #

    First, the newly aged sign is perfect. Second, not sure how I came to your blog but I do love it! Thanks for sharing with us.

    October 24, 2011
  25. Perfect! Love how it turned out.

    October 25, 2011
  26. Deena #

    Love the sign and LOVE the bedding. Mind sharing who/what/where on the bedding? love the colors! Thanks!

    October 25, 2011
    • Hi there Deena, I don’t mind at all. The bedding is by Ralph Lauren and I found it at TJ Maxx over the summer.

      October 25, 2011
      • Deena #

        I knew it was Ralph Lauren! Any idea the name of the print?

        October 25, 2011
      • Sorry, deena. I have no clue. Did you try googling it?

        October 25, 2011
  27. Great sign and you made it look fabulous! It looks so perfect with your bedding! Which by the way is gorgeous! I love Tattered Tiques and Junk Warehouse and I found my little chippy white chair at another store that’s opened in that lot. We should meet up there sometime and get our shop on! Down the street is a bakery where I had one of the most delicious foods ever. Fresh croissant stuffed with cheese and smoked salmon. Yummy!

    October 25, 2011
  28. Looks perfect in there. Definitely the right decision. The only problem is that your guests won’t want to leave!

    October 25, 2011
  29. Totally! Love it 😉

    October 25, 2011
  30. The sign looks so much better after you “went to town” on it…and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE how it looks with your bedding. Hopefully, you were you able to get it up on the wall before your husband noticed the new purchase :).

    October 26, 2011
  31. Ooh! I LOVE that sign! I think I would have been afraid that I might ruin it while distressing, but you’ve done a fabulous job!

    Tania

    October 26, 2011
  32. I love it. Don’t you just love when you are led somehow to the perfect find?

    October 27, 2011
  33. Gorgeous! Found you on pinterest and that sign drew me right in. And then so did everything else. I shared you on my FB. 🙂

    Donna

    October 27, 2011
  34. Hi! Ok – I LOVE the sign but I have a toss pillow in the exact same fabric as your bedding and have been looking everywhere for a matching bed set. Where did you get it and was it recently?!

    October 27, 2011
    • Hi Elisa, I bought the bedding set at TJ Maxx this past summer. I have no idea what the pattern is and I haven’t seen it since! Sorry I couldn’t be of more help!

      October 27, 2011
  35. C_Thomas_PAC@yahoo.com #

    DEFINITELY like it better AFTER! I wouldn’t have given it a second look new, but LOVE IT after you fixed it up! Nice work!

    October 29, 2011
  36. Looks SOOOO much better aged! Thanks for the tips. I have been itching to create a sign, but wasn’t quite sure how to “age” it, but now I know! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    October 31, 2011
  37. I have a sign that I NEED to do this too…right away!

    October 31, 2011
  38. Perfection!!

    November 3, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. vintage cash drawer | Maple & Magnolia
  2. anatomy of a {thrifty} guest cottage bedroom | Maple & Magnolia
  3. october recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

