Skip to content
save the drama for your mama…

The fireplace in my studio was begging to be “purdied up” a little bit.

Don’t mind the paint smudge…I was testing a color. ๐Ÿ™‚

The lanterns needed to come down because I hung the twig chandelier and it needed to take center stage. And it was all looking a little too, wellย sweet. The fireplace needed to be more of a focal point in the room. A perfect backdrop for a little drama. Not the Real Housewives of whatever-land kind of drama (are these women for real?), but some visual drama.

So I stripped everything away. What a sad little pitiful fireplace. But so much potential.

I laid out a stripe pattern that I liked. It was a little tricky because of the curves. I mixed Annie Sloan’s Graphite and Paris Grey. 3 parts Graphite to 1 part Paris. And I painted the mantel to match.

Now before I get to the reveal. Here are some pretties that grace the mantel.

I still love this chippy old toolbox that was a roadside rescue.

And the hardware organizer with the suh-weet galvanized drawers was a recent find at my friend Karrin’s shop, Steeplechase Antiques. If you live anywhere in the vicinity of Barrington, Illinois you need to go visit this antiques shop. I’ve never, ever walked out empty handed. (My hubby can attest to that). ๐Ÿ˜‰

Want a closer look? Ain’t she a beauty? ๐Ÿ™‚

And now for the reveal…

Voila. A dramatic focal point in the room.

I’d like to point out that the styling is identical. Isn’t it amazing what a little bit of paint can do?

Linking up here:

Savvy Southern StyleMod Vintage LifeThe DIY Show OffChic on a Shoestring DecoratingRedouxPhotobucketFunky Junk's Saturday Nite SpecialDomestically Speaking

47 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kim #

    That looks so good. Love the color that those mixed together created. Great displays.

    October 26, 2011
  2. Stop it. I forbid you to show me anymore. That is way too cool!!!

    October 26, 2011
  3. I have both these Annie Sloan paints but have yet to find a use for them. Was thinking of painting a buffet in the Paris Grey. This is really encouraging me to get with it! I might have left the mantle white but overall a great affect in your room/studio.

    October 26, 2011
    • Cheryl, the mantel was a very light french grey. I was bored with it and wanted it to make more of a statement. Paris Grey is a beautiful color for a buffet. Can’t wait to see it!

      October 26, 2011
  4. Mel #

    A magical transformation, what a difference! Do you sleep?

    October 26, 2011
    • Mel, only every other day! ๐Ÿ˜‰ My kids leave for school at 7:10 am so I have a lot of time for projects! I like to stay busy.

      October 26, 2011
  5. wow! love the stripes and the lesson here about styling/color analysis. your photos explain it all.

    visiting via truesday’s treasures and want to share thislink to my giveaway just in case you’re a lover of shabby chic like me:

    http://hellolovelyinc.blogspot.com/2011/10/rachel-ashwell-on-creating-authentic.html

    warmly.

    michele

    October 26, 2011
  6. Wow, this is a GREAT transformation! Love the stripes and the color AND the vignette. The antique pieces are wonderful! Wish I lived nearby. XO, Pinky

    October 26, 2011
    • Hi Pinky, thanks so much. You always leave the nicest comments and I appreciate them! ๐Ÿ™‚

      October 27, 2011
  7. I have only just recently discovered your blog, it is amazing and SO inspiring!! LOVE this transformation so much. Sending smiles from Sunny South Africa ๐Ÿ™‚

    October 26, 2011
    • Rene, thanks so much for the awesome comment! Just let me know if you need someone to come re-do some furniture for you…I’d love to see South Africa, in person! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      October 27, 2011
  8. THE FIREPLACE LOOKS SO NICE, GREAT JOB. I LOVE THE COLOR AND ALL THE ACCESSORIES!

    October 26, 2011
  9. Now that is what I’m talking about! That is so striking…love it!! Great job and great choice of color!

    October 27, 2011
  10. Seriously creative and beautiful painting. Love the stripes – they are so unexpected on a fireplace!

    October 27, 2011
  11. Gosh, lov.er.ly! You always do such a great job, Never would of thought of stripes, love the grey color. I never was a “grey” color person but I swear you are leading me in that direction. Very beautiful room, you are so creative. Your accessories are always the icing on the cake!

    October 27, 2011
  12. Your fireplace looks amazing! I can’t believe it’s the same one. I especially like how the white frame of the chalkboard pops against the gray stripes. Great job!

    October 28, 2011
  13. The paint really makes everything pop. I love the hardware organizer thing, what awesome texture!

    October 28, 2011
  14. Wow. I love the transformation. I need to try some of that Sloan’s stuff–keep reading about it and seeing these awesome projects prettied up. Great job! Visiting from Junkin’ Junky and I think I’ll take a peek at what you got goin’ on around here;)

    October 28, 2011
  15. how did i miss this post! love it!!!!

    October 28, 2011
  16. Deb #

    wow…looks amazing! your blog is quickly becoming one of my fav’s…your makeovers are fantastic!

    October 28, 2011
  17. Mel #

    Thanks for sharing at my party Susan! You are the PAR-TAY girl! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I fixed the problem with the link; I had it checked that this linkz requires a link back to the blog hosting…I removed that ’cause I think most people are courteous enough to do so.

    October 28, 2011
  18. Just found you from FJI, what a transformation! Love your stuff!!!

    October 28, 2011
  19. This looks awesome. I always love a moody gray with rich wood tones. Fab!
    ~Pam

    October 29, 2011
    • Thanks, Pam. Me too. I was never a big fan of grey but over the past year I’ve become slightly obsessed with it! ๐Ÿ™‚

      October 29, 2011
  20. WOW!!! I adore the changes and the styling is perfection!!! Saw you at Junkin’ junky’s link party!

    xx Patience

    http://whitelacquer.blogspot.com/

    October 29, 2011
  21. I can’t believe how the items on the mantel just POP after the new paint job. Great job! ๐Ÿ™‚

    October 29, 2011
  22. Wow! I love it! It sure adds a dramatic focal point!

    October 30, 2011
  23. Love the dramatic makeover! Great bold color and I am in love with all your accessories!!!

    November 1, 2011
  24. This is so fun! I love the impact it makes!

    November 3, 2011
  25. did you decoupage the paper lanterns to achieve the effect or did you purchase them that way?

    January 16, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. anatomy of a {thrifty} guest cottage bedroom | Maple & Magnolia
  2. october recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

