Skip to content
typewriter crate end table

This vintage typewriter crate was a fun find from a few months ago. It possessed two things that I love. Wood and typography. I found it at Boberosa Barnworks here in Illinois. He’s always got the coolest stuff. Anyway, I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with it cause you know I don’t like to use things as intended. Where’s the fun in that?

So I bought some swivel casters at the hardware store. And enlisted the help of my daughter (who said she wants to be referred to as Little Miss Maple). 😉

And here is what we ended up with….

Now it’s not only cool, but functional as well. A perfect place to store some of my vintage dictionaries. And a great end table for a small space.

Now go dig out those old crates you didn’t know what to do with!

Hallelujah…Friday’s right around the corner!!!

Can I get an AMEN???

Linking up to these parties:
YourSiteTitlePhotobucket

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great repurposing!!!

    October 27, 2011
  2. Amen! Great use for that lovely little crate. Don’t you love it when the teens aren’t afraid to try their hand at diy. My boys like helping too and a future generation of diy’ers has begun.I made a crate recently and added the same little wheels, but it is sadly lacking in that wonderful text and patina.

    October 27, 2011
    • Elizabeth, I agree…I love when they want to help! Have a great weekend!

      October 27, 2011
  3. OMG!! I am sooo going to do this for somewhere in my home! Thanks for inspiring!

    October 27, 2011
  4. that is awesome! and your daughter is adorable, too!

    October 27, 2011
  5. i LOVE this. I love old wood and typography too! Your home is so beautiful!

    October 27, 2011
  6. ReaderWoman #

    AMEN! I love tables – and I love the way you repurposed this to make a little table, innovative and guess what – I am gonna imitate it! (Sincerest form of flattery and all that jazz)

    October 28, 2011
  7. AMEN. AMEN. AMEN.

    Everything you touch turns to vintage gold.

    This looks just like one I did for my sister’s guest room. I love crates…have them around my house.

    Have a great weekend!

    Shari

    October 28, 2011
  8. Seriously Susan, do you ever sleep? You are always working on something. The grapics on that crate are so great! Love what you did with it.

    Julie

    October 28, 2011
  9. Robyn #

    Love the crate….now where did you find that adorable lamp?

    October 29, 2011
    • Thanks, Robyn. Target!

      October 29, 2011
      • Robyn #

        Thanks for the info….I had seen this lamp @ target but wasn’t sold on it as the one I saw didn’t seem too sturdy. My dear hubs and I just had a DIY Saturday and made a canning jar light inspired by a pin on pinterest.

        October 30, 2011
      • Robyn, How fun! Send me a photo…I’d love to see it! P.S. The lamp from Target is very sturdy. I haven’t had any problems with it.

        October 30, 2011
      • I’ll let you know when I post this project on my blog. I’m entering the DIY from Pinterest over @ Young House Love. http://www.younghouselove.com/2011/10/its-baaaack/

        October 30, 2011
  10. Mel #

    My kids look at me like I have a third eye growing in the middle of my forehead when I ask them to do something with me 🙂 Nice to see your daughter enjoys it.

    That table lamp is adorable. *sigh* will Target ever get here?

    October 30, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. october recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

