Skip to content
anatomy of a {thrifty} guest cottage bedroom

The other day I showed you the old b&b sign that I hung over the bed in the guest cottage bedroom.

That inspired me to do a little “tweaking” on the other areas of the room. It’s not totally finished, mind you (is any room ever really finished?). I still need a large jute rug for under the bed, some Lenda curtains (the ones I have up are too short!), and a couple more bamboo shades. Then, it’ll be done.

I’ve had many people ask about the bedding. It is by Ralph Lauren and was found at TJ Maxx over the early summer. Sorry, I don’t know the name of it.

I’ve also had a ton of people ask about the bed. It is from IKEA! Found here. I highly recommend this bed. Excellent price and EASY assembly!

The Ralph Lauren matelasse bedspread at the foot of the bed was an estate sale find.

The bedside tables, which I painted with an Annie Sloan chalk paint mixture, were part of the best Craigslist deal I ever scored.

The little chippy step stool was found at an estate sale this summer for just a few dollars.

The tall white chest is an estate sale find from Canada.

I made a few changes to it.

I replaced the mismatched pulls with fabric pulls made from scrap fabric that I had .

And the original mirror was replaced with a very thrifty craigslist trumeau mirror that’s been sitting in the garage waiting for the perfect spot.

This plate arrangement was created using blue and white plates that I’ve collected from thrift stores. I  love all the various shades of blue.

Notice there aren’t any ugly metal plate hangers showing?  I used one of my favorite tips ever to hang them.

This little antique dining room table was a thrifty craigslist find that I thought would make a pretty “writing desk.”

The parsons chair slipcover was the only “new” item for the room. I found it on sale at Pier One. I love how it coordinates with the bedding. The Parsons chair was a $5 garage sale find.

I found the Jan Constantine Union Jack pillow at HomeSense.

This little vignette contains items I had on hand. The pitcher is from IKEA, the lamp is from Home Goods and the tray was a PB clearance item.I love using trays to corral accessories. My favorite item is the little hotel creamer that I picked up a few weeks ago for a couple of dollars.

Cedar chest and painted thrift store suitcases

I found the little red cubbies a while back at an estate sale. I freshened them up with Annie Sloan Emperor’s Silk chalk paint and dark wax and changed the knobs.

The vintage metal sign was a Tattered Tiques find, of course. It was a perfect fit for the room. The blue metal dress form was found at HomeSense in Canada last year. Oh, how I miss HomeSense!

So there you have it…a super thrifty guest cottage bedroom pulled together using things I already had on hand.

Linking up here:
Funky Junk's Saturday Nite SpecialYourSiteTitleSavvy Southern StyleBoogieboard CottagePhotobucketbeneath my heart

50 Comments Post a comment
  1. Andrea #

    Love….love it all!

    October 28, 2011
  2. gosh, i’m starting to want to move in with you. a lot. the little guest kitchen was fab but that writing table is beckoning. my kids and i need a break so i’ll just pop on over with the dogs. hmm…my husband may need to join me cuz, well, you know how the house runs w/o mom. darn, he’ll never get away w/o the kids, will he? any room for a cot or two? or three?

    October 28, 2011
  3. Kim #

    I just love this whole adorable room. That is the cutest slip on that chair. Thanks for sharing the sources.

    October 28, 2011
  4. Love it all…ready to come visit….lol!

    October 28, 2011
  5. I was just at Home Sense today….I NEVER leave empty handed. Definately a favorite store! Isn’t Home Goods very, very similar? It seems that way from what I see/read on blogs anyhow =) I adore your guest room. It looks wonderful in all its thrifty glory!

    October 28, 2011
    • Andrea, I think HomeSense is waaaayyyyy better. I loved the one on Trafalgar and the one in Burlington the best.

      October 29, 2011
  6. You have my utmost admiration! Everything you touch turns out beautiful.

    October 28, 2011
  7. Linda@Coastal Charm #

    So stunning…love the look you have going on here!!! Now that huge sign has got to be my favorite!!!

    Blessings,
    Linda

    October 28, 2011
  8. Melinda G. Burke #

    Susan,

    I love it so……….much that I may just move on in!

    October 28, 2011
  9. Once again…knocking it out of the park…..so many things I love in that room.

    October 29, 2011
  10. Just beautiful!! Love the red and white and the white painted suitcases! What a lovely retreat for your lucky guests!

    October 29, 2011
  11. It is soo beautiful! I like the use of the dining chair in the corner…it makes me rethink the many dining tables I see at thrift stores and garage sales!

    October 29, 2011
    • Thanks, Janel. I like using pieces of furniture in unexpected ways. It’s like an instant dose of charm. Thanks for visiting!

      October 29, 2011
  12. Absolutely gorgeous!!! Everything is lovely. I have the same comforter I bought a couple of years ago at a consignment shop. I think these comforters originally listed for $400.00. I got mine for $90, and it had never been used. It’s the best quality comforter I’ve ever owned. I am currently using it at our home in South GA.

    Have a wonderful week!

    October 29, 2011
    • Thanks, Kathy. Great minds think alike! I really love the look of it too. Enjoy your weekend!

      October 29, 2011
  13. Mel #

    I know you do this because it’s your passion, but you really should consider doing it pro. You ARE that good!

    I could jump into that bed and never leave. Does it come with a chamber maid? lol

    October 29, 2011
    • Mel, you are just too sweet. I have a feeling that if I ever did, it wouldn’t be “fun” anymore! 🙂

      October 29, 2011
  14. I absolutely ADORE everything about this bedroom!!

    October 30, 2011
  15. Oh I am so happy you’ve shown us more pictures of your guest room! It is so, so, very lovely! As soon as I saw the red metal sign on the dresser I knew it was from Tattered Tiques! I remember seeing them and thinking they were so cool! Have been to Homegoods? I think it’s the US version of Homesense, but I may be wrong.

    October 31, 2011
    • Thanks so much, Lisa. Yes, it’s basically the same but HomeSense was better to me! Are you going to Tattered Tiques this week? Maybe we could meet and do lunch?

      October 31, 2011
      • I can go thur or fri…… Do either of those days work for you? 🙂

        November 1, 2011
      • Lisa, either day is good for me!

        November 1, 2011
      • Want to meet Friday at 10:00? We can shop and play it by ear as far as lunch. My sweet two year will be w/ me and he doesn’t do so well in restaurants. 🙂

        November 2, 2011
  16. Love your room, just beautiful! I’m a new follower!

    October 31, 2011
  17. Simply beautiful! I am a new follower!

    October 31, 2011
    • Thanks, Leigh Ann. I’ve admired your work for a long time! Welcome!

      October 31, 2011
  18. Love your guest room and all you have done to it. Looks like a room like Sarah Richardson would do and that is high praise because I love everything she does. It looks so inviting ~ I’m sure your guests will feel very pampered and special. Newest follower ~ Cindy

    October 31, 2011
    • Cindy, that’s probably the highest compliment you could give me. I adore Sarah Richardson and her sense of style. One of the things I miss about living in Canada is Sarah’s House! Thanks for following!

      October 31, 2011
  19. Gorgeous!! Who wouldn’t love to stay in this room? Fabulous job on the new/old sign… wonder why we don’t covet that aged look for ourselves? 🙂

    October 31, 2011
  20. gorgeous! Love the red and white with a bit of blue china:)

    November 1, 2011
  21. Lovely room. Did you mention the very cute chair slipcover? If you made it I’m in big trouble!
    I’ll look around your blog today because I like what I see.
    Cheers!
    Rita

    November 1, 2011
    • Thank you, Rita. No I didn’t make it…found it on sale at Pier One! 🙂

      November 1, 2011
  22. Kristen #

    Gorgeous! Would love to be your guest!

    November 1, 2011
  23. Simply beautiful!!

    November 1, 2011
  24. What guest wouldn’t feel special in that room! Very pretty and I love the fabrics and vintage details.

    November 1, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. october recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

