Skip to content
it ain’t easy being green

Especially if you are green AND vinyl. Reminds me of the interior of my dad’s white 1972 chevy vega from when I was a kid.

This lovely vintage swivel stool was a Pink Geranium find from last week.

I had been searching high and low for a vintage drafting stool with back to use with my industrial work table.

You know, something pretty like this…

The problem with these? They are Puh-RICE-y!

The green vinyl one was a more budget-friendly option, so home it came.

I put my thinking cap on and decided that it was nothing some awesome fabric and a staple gun couldn’t fix.

I flipped it over, and removed the screws. The seat popped off very easily.

Then I recovered the seat with some awesome fabric that I got during half price week at Hancock Fabrics.

I attempted to do the same thing with the back rest but it was a no-go. I won’t bore you with the details.

Plan B. Whip out the Rustoleum flat black spray paint. Did you KNOW you could spray paint vinyl??? Rustoleum spray paint rocks my world.

Once it dried, I popped it back on and voila…

Toodle-loo, Kermit…hello, gorgeous!

Where have you been all my life?

There’s no way that budget-bustin’ drafting stool would have been as comfy as this!

Once again, PLAN B worked out alright and I’m a happy camper. 🙂

Linking up here:
Home Stories A2ZSavvy Southern StyleFurniture Feature Fridaysfreckled laundry

51 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mel #

    Fantastic! I think that the back rest not coming off was a blessing in disguise.

    October 30, 2011
  2. Really great job as always. Happy Halloween!

    October 30, 2011
  3. Patty #

    I love your stool! It’s just perfect. 🙂

    October 30, 2011
  4. cndesigns #

    WOW! This is great! My parents have the same chair but in desk top height. I’d love to do a “do over” on it just like this one. Excellent usage of the chair and I really love that fabric!

    October 30, 2011
  5. In think it looks better with the black back. I love the combination!!! That fabric is fabulous and now you have a COMFY seat!!! XO, Pinky

    October 30, 2011
  6. I’d say Plan B worked out GREAT! Cool redo!

    October 30, 2011
  7. Now that’s amazing! Love it!

    October 30, 2011
  8. I LOVE the way it turned out, and frankly, I think it’s more interesting than the dream one in the photo! You have inspired me to keep the one I have and give it a makeover!

    October 30, 2011
    • Thanks, Elaine. I’d love to see your makeover when you are finished!

      October 31, 2011
  9. I think this turned out lovely! That seat is wonderful! Definitely a great “plan B”!

    October 30, 2011
  10. OMGosh I love it!

    October 30, 2011
  11. Did not know you could spray paint vinyl?? Did you use regular paint or is it specific for vinyl? It turned out beautiful!! Great job

    October 31, 2011
    • Tiffani, it was just regular ol Rustoleum spray paint in flat finish! Thanks so much!

      October 31, 2011
  12. What a remarkable transformation! I love that it’s comfy too. Great fabric!

    October 31, 2011
  13. Looks terrific. I wish I could pick up the entire room and transplant it in my home. Can we make a deal??

    October 31, 2011
    • Shari, that’s so sweet of you! You don’t happen to live in Hawaii do you? If so, we could definitely work something out! 😉

      October 31, 2011
  14. Love the redo!

    October 31, 2011
  15. Stacey freet #

    That looks amazing! Excellent job!!
    Stacey of Embracing Change

    October 31, 2011
  16. holy cow! amazing. Um NO I didn’t know you paint vinyl. But I DO NOW!!! You’re right Rusoleum rocks my world too! And now every chair I look at…including the one in my office right now, should be afraid. Very afraid. Or grateful, whichever way you wanna look at it ;-).

    October 31, 2011
    • Thanks so much, Heather. I didn’t know about the spray paint either until I tried it. Can’t wait to hear how yours turns out!

      November 1, 2011
  17. No, I didn’t know you could spray paint vinyl and your chair is beautiful..Love the fabric!

    October 31, 2011
  18. WOW, that is a great transformation….love the industrial look and its vintage charm!

    November 1, 2011
  19. it looks awesome and i love the seat! and yes, upholstery counts, too! 🙂 any furniture redo!

    November 1, 2011
  20. Looks great with your room!!! Great workspace! ~ Barbara @ http://amotherandadaughter.blogspot.com/

    November 1, 2011
  21. This is absolutely u-n-b-e-l-i-e-v-a-b-l-e! Darn it! I just got rid of an ugly chair similar to this one that was soooo comfortable and solid and well made! I’m so bummed! Who knew you could spray paint vinyl?! This is chic and classy and fun! Good job!!!!

    November 1, 2011
    • Well, you’ll just have to find another one so you can give it a little makeover! 🙂

      November 1, 2011
  22. Wow that really is gorgous!!

    November 2, 2011
  23. LOVE this makeover!

    November 3, 2011
  24. Clever! Beautiful and comfortable, too. It looks great with your other awesome vintage industrial pieces! Thanks for sharing the painted vinyl thing – I ADORE Rustoleum, too!
    -Revi

    November 3, 2011
  25. Love it…..never would have thought of spray painting it! Love the fabric on the seat. I am going to have to remember this for when I need an office chair….well maybe sewing chair, I don’t have an office.

    November 3, 2011
  26. shabbylisaw #

    I have that exact chair for sale. If it doesn’t sell this weekend, I’m going to bring it home and “renovate” it just like you. I LOVE it!!!!!

    November 3, 2011
  27. It looks awesome! Thanks for the tip about spray painting vinyl.

    November 4, 2011
  28. Ooh..gorgeous!

    November 10, 2011
  29. janice #

    Beautiful stool!

    November 28, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. october recap | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

