Skip to content
I’m just stunning with my love glue-gunnin’

That’s a line from Lady Gaga’s “Poker Face.”ย PPP Poker Face, PP Poker Face…Sorry, got a little carried away there.

Even Lady Gaga knows the power of the glue gun.

I can sew. a little.ย But lately my bobbin has gone whackadoodle and I can’t be bothered with it. I’ve got projects out the wazoo and no time to wait.

So I whip out my glue gun and I’m back in bid-ness! ๐Ÿ˜‰

I can operate a sewing machine. But I can ROCK a glue gun.

Way back when, I found some pretty toile fabric at Hancock Fabrics for $2 a yard and shared inย this postย that I wanted to sew some pillows for our bedroom with it.

But with the bobbin debacle I decided to hot glue some instead.

Wait. Did this chick just say hot glue some pillows? Why yes, yes I did. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now if you are a gifted seamstress, look away. Look far, far away. This post is not for you. This post is for the ones of us who for whatever reason, sewing pillows is not an option…broken machine, no machine, loathe sewing, can’t sew,ย whatev.

Now if you’re skeptical and thinkin about clicking off of here without reading on, let me show you how my HOT-GLUED pillows turned out.

BAM.

PPP Pillowcase, PP Pillowcase.

Now you non-sewers keep reading for the tutorial and you gifted seamstresses well…

go sew something. ๐Ÿ˜‰

only do this step on the sides, NOT the open top. Or you’ll have a pancake pillow.

Now stand back and admire the awesomeness you just created without sewing a stitch.

Now go crank up the Lady Gaga, whip out your glue gun and make something!

Linking up here:
Savvy Southern StyleYourSiteTitle

31 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kim #

    OMG, it is gorgeous. I don’t sew so now I need to go get a hot glue gun since I can’t find mine. i have that fabric on pillows in my bedroom and on the bench. Love the trim you used.

    November 1, 2011
    • Kim, that is so funny because this fabric totally reminded me of your style! Go get a glue gun, girl!

      November 1, 2011
  2. Mel #

    Works for me ๐Ÿ™‚

    That fabric is Gorge-Ous!

    November 1, 2011
  3. Any particular glue gun you would recommend? Also….love the chair!!

    November 1, 2011
    • Any high heat glue gun will do. I like the ones that come with a little stand!

      November 1, 2011
  4. Eva #

    Ok, I have a sewing machine and used to love to sew, not anymore and just don’t have the time. I do have several hot glue guns and am motivated enough from this to try some seasonal pillows this weekend. You are truly amazing!!!!

    November 1, 2011
  5. Pancake pillow-girl you make me laugh! Lovely fabric and a great pillow. Keep rockin’ your glue gun.

    November 1, 2011
  6. jen roggenbaum #

    I am soooo excited to try this. I don’t know how to sew and have been wanting to learn, but until then I’ll be glue gunnin’.

    November 1, 2011
  7. O*M*G***** This is fabulous!!!! I can’t sew BUT as a floral designer I sure CAN glue!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am going to buy some fabric just to try this!!!! Did you use a pillow form? An old pillow? I LOVE your fabric. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!! XO, pinky

    November 1, 2011
    • Pinky, I used an old pillow but a pillow form would work too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      November 1, 2011
  8. Joi #

    You crack me up!

    I can sew a straight line, but only a straight line, and I always have a problem squaring up the fabric. That’s mainly the reason I don’t do pillows. I would love to try this though! Thanks for the tutorial!

    November 1, 2011
    • Go for it, Joi. The best tip for squaring up fabric is to get a self-healing mat with the ruler (Fiskars makes one) then use a rotary cutter (be careful though, that’s how I cut my finger in the tute!).

      November 1, 2011
  9. Wow! Yes you CAN rock a glue gun!!! That’s amazing! Cute post…

    November 1, 2011
  10. My kind of sewing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    November 1, 2011
  11. You are genius (and very funny!)…I can’t sew, or maybe I don’t have the patience/time to learn right now. I LOVE throw pillows, but I don’t like paying much for them as they really don’t serve much of a purpose….so happy day, I see some pillows in my near future! Thanks for the great (humorous) tutorial!

    November 1, 2011
  12. Fascinating! It really does look stitched. Thanks for sharing.

    PS…What’s the prob with your bobbin? Perhaps I can help you figure it out and you can get back to all your sewing projects. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Wednesday!

    November 2, 2011
  13. What a brilliant idea! I have been wanting to make some pillows, I was going to sew them but have been procrastinating. Think I will pull out the old glue gun. Excellent tutorial – your pillow looks beautiful! Diane

    November 2, 2011
  14. Veronica #

    Hey, this is so for me!! Lol … I am full of giggles now! I need to learn how to use a glue gun!

    November 2, 2011
  15. I have a sewing machine, but can’t sew a straight line! This may be the most perfect way to make pillows! Thanks for sharing!

    November 2, 2011
  16. Foam board valances, tension rod roman shades, and glue-gunned pillows — your non-sewing methods are brilliant! I’m a sewer but I am passionate about my glue gun as well. Love, love, love your blog! Cheers! Mary

    November 2, 2011
  17. Oh my, that pillow is FAB! I looked at your October review….man you are busy lady!! I am a new follower and a new blogger. I would love for you to stop by and check mine out.

    November 2, 2011
  18. I love that your dog is on your couch in the background of one of the pictures. So cute!

    Anne

    November 2, 2011
  19. Kristy #

    OK, I am soo impressed! I absolutley LOVE decorative pillows, and I LOVE my glue gun…but I have never thought of GLUE-GUNNED PILLOWS…this is so brilliant! I will be giving this a try very soon. Thanks for sharing!
    Kristy @ Starfish Cottage

    November 3, 2011
  20. Wow I love this idea, so clever!
    http://www.craftingrebellion.com

    November 4, 2011
  21. Amy #

    I cannot believe you just didI that! That is so awesome! I love it. I have got to try this. Hmm do you think I can do ruffled curtains with a glue gun?

    November 5, 2011
    • Hi Amy, absolutely. It’s all in the pinning. And a LOT of patience! Let me know how they turn out!

      November 6, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

