Skip to content
studio window treatments

Need to add instant warmth to a room? Add window treatments.

Want to give a room a more “finished” look? Add window treatments.

Here is my studio before. There are three windows and two french doors. I didn’t want to block any of the gorgeous light, but the room looked too bare to me.

Adding window treatments was the way to go. Have you priced window treatments lately? They aren’t cheap!

But I refuse to spend a lot of money on them. Not. gonna. do. it.

Lenda curtains from IKEA are the best buy around. The website says $29.99, but at my IKEA they were only $19.99/pair.

I wanted to add a little something. Some houndstooth ribbon maybe? Oh, yeah.

I hot-glued it along the edge. Easy peasy and done.

Next up? Cornice boards to go over the french doors.

This isn’t going to be a step-by-step tutorial. I didn’t take photos of each step, sorry.

BUT, the steps are very similar to the linen inspiration board I did a while back. So follow those steps until you need to add the sides and top to the board.

Measure the space you are going to cover. Don’t forget to add in if you need to go around moulding. The space above the french doors was large, so I had to piece two pieces of foam board together.

Cover the foam board with batting and fabric (I used a drop cloth). Hot glue into place.

I didn’t worry about “prettying up” the backside because it was not going to be visible. If the back of yours will be visible through a window, do this.

Now you will need to cut three strips of foam board for the “support.” Two for the sides and one for the top. My strips were 5″ deep because I wanted them to really stand out.

Cover them with fabric and hot glue into place. Next, hot glue them onto the sides and across the top of the main board. Be generous with the amount of glue you use and hold each piece for a while till it “sets up.”

Now you can embellish however you’d like. Or leave it plain. Whichever strikes your fancy! I added black grosgrain ribbon to mine.

Once it is good and dry, it’s ready to hang. I simply used a good sized nail at each corner.

That’s it. Three windows and two doors nicely dressed for under $75.

No more nekkid windows. 😉

Linking up here:

Home Stories A2ZYourSiteTitlefreckled laundry

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Okay, now you are just plain making me jealous with your never-ending talents! Another fabulous project! If you keep it up, I’m just going to have to move in. 🙂

    November 2, 2011
  2. WOW, looks terrific!

    November 2, 2011
  3. Dannie #

    Great Job, I like the look and the cost

    November 2, 2011
  4. Sylvia #

    Hmmmmm. Houndstooth? Didn’t I see a photo a while back of at least one of your kids wearing and Auburn shirt? Love the room. The fireplace is growing on me as the rest of the room comes together. You really are talented. Your blog is becoming one of my favorites.

    November 2, 2011
  5. Ugh…window treatments are my biggest challenge. We have a great view, and no visible neighbors so I hate to cover my windows. This is a great idea to add some flair. I think I’ll just come to you when I tackle my breakfast nook windows and not even waste my time trying to come up with my own idea. So be prepared…. 🙂

    November 3, 2011
  6. Um…that room is singing a great tune now!!! You really do amaze me!

    November 3, 2011
  7. Meg #

    this room is fabulous. i love the style, the comfort. i have those curtains in my spare bedroom. you can’t beat the price for the look.

    November 3, 2011
  8. Wow, what a difference.

    November 3, 2011
  9. Great job…I make similar treatments, but mine are set inside the windows……..and I love the black and white fireplace, too!

    November 3, 2011
  10. Oooh! I noticed these on your blog yesterday! Adore!!!

    Thanks for linking up again!! 🙂

    November 3, 2011
  11. Mel #

    What a difference it has made; really warms your space up, making it all nice and cozy. Now you will never leave 🙂

    I love your cornice boards, especially the way you make them. Brilliant!

    November 5, 2011
  12. Geesh! You put us to shame. How do get so much done?! Another beautiful project. xo Jami

    November 10, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

