Skip to content
fall place card tutorial

The place cards from yesterday’s fall table are easy as pie to make. All the materials came from Michaels and are dirt cheap.

With the exception of the hot glue-ing, this would be a great project to get the little ones involved with!

Grab a bag of these wood squares…they will be the base.

Paint them with brown acrylic paint using a foam brush.

These tiny little grapevine wreaths are near the regular sized wreaths at Michaels. They are 49 cents each.

Grab some assorted fall picks. They are 70% off now.

Hot glue a leaf.

Hot glue a pine cone.

Hot glue an acorn (a great use for the acorns you might have laying around the yard…we only have walnuts and they aren’t pretty!).

Write the names on a piece of patterned scrapbook paper. You could also print them out on the computer if you want.

Hot glue the name strip. Hot glue the wreath standing up on the base. You will need to hold it for about a minute while the hot glue “sets.”

Voila. You are done.

But if you are feeling extra crafty, here’s a variation from the one above. I did these for the girls using fabric and burlap.

Same concept with the exception of the rosettes. To make those, here is a wonderful tutorial from Jami @ Freckled Laundry. I followed the same steps but with much smaller pieces of fabric, of course.

I hope you all have a fabulous weekend!

Linking up here:
freckled laundry

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thank you!!!! I love these so much! I have SOME os those little wreaths, will have to see if I have enough. XO

    November 4, 2011
    • PInky, glad you can use the idea…perfect that you have some on-hand already!

      November 6, 2011
  2. So cute! I’m going to copy these for one of my holiday scapes this season (and when my family compliments me, I’m going to take full credit. Ha ha…just kidding!) Considering I have tens of thousands of pounds of hazelnuts/filberts about 10 yards from my door, I don’t think I’ll run out of supplies. πŸ˜‰

    Have a good weekend,

    Shari

    November 4, 2011
    • Shari, glad you can use the idea…it’s great that you have all those supplies on hand! Can’t wait to see them!

      November 6, 2011
  3. Very cute! How sweet would these look on the Thanksgiving table! Fun stopping by to meet you and see this cute project πŸ™‚

    Kindly, Lorraine

    November 5, 2011
  4. Love your place card holders! We must be thinking about Thanksgiving dinner. I have a place card holder post coming up next week, while I’m out of town! I’m going to pin this so I can remember it, they’re perfect!
    Debbie

    November 5, 2011
  5. Love this idea! Saw you over at Flamingo Toes.

    November 6, 2011
  6. These are just darling and I would love to do this for my Christmas Table so pinning this. thanks a span!

    November 8, 2011
  7. These are so great! I’ve never seen the tiny grapevine wreaths before. Thank you so much for the shout out on my rosette tutorial too! xo Jami

    November 10, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

