Skip to content
silhouettes

I have a serious “thing” for silhouettes. I’ve been collecting them for a few months but not quite sure where they would go.

We have some seriously snoozearama built-ins in our family room that are such a challenge for me. No matter how I style them, they just don’t wow me.

Then it hit me.

built-ins + silhouettes = LOVE.

The silhouettes just woke those tired shelves up and I’m loving them now!

Here are some of my favorite silhouette designs from Pinterest.

Source: jonesdesigncompany.com via Pinterest

Source: google.com via Pinterest

Source: jonesdesigncompany.com via Pinterest

Source: theblackapple.typepad.com via  Pinterest

Source: livingwithlindsay.com  via Pinterest

Have a marvelous Monday, friends!

Linking up here:

Mod Vintage LifeSavvy Southern Style

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. Your silhouette shelves are stunning!!!! Pinned to Pinterest! I so want to paint my built-ins white, you’ve inspired me!

    November 7, 2011
  2. Faithful daily reader here, in awe of your energy and talent…my daughter in law made me these silhouttes of my grands for mothers day last year, if you have time check out that post to see what a beautiful job she did http://neverenoughthyme-kathy.blogspot.com/2010/05/look-what-i-got-for-mothers-day.html

    November 7, 2011
  3. Love silhouettes and I absolutely love the way you displayed them! Looks like it’s out of a magazine!

    November 7, 2011
  4. cndesigns #

    Very pretty! When I was in first grade, my teacher made big,life-sized silhouettes of every class member. She put them on big individual books for each of us, and then pasted in our “best papers” work. My mom still has that book, w/the perfectly detailed silhouette of me. When I see it, it reminds of the caring, loving nature of my first classroom teacher.

    November 7, 2011
  5. I love silhouettes too , your shelves look fantastic!

    November 7, 2011
  6. Girl…the alarm just went off and they are awake now!!! Love the styling!

    November 7, 2011
  7. Those bookshelves look A-mazing! I LOVE the silhouettes and your styling is “magazine ready”! Last spring I took side-view photos of my students and my daughter turned them into digital silhouettes that I printed off and framed. The parents loved them! They were much more detailed than the ones we used to hand-cut out of black construction paper. Did you make your silhouettes, or are they vintage ones you have found?

    November 7, 2011
  8. I love those built-ins! They look great. I feel like my built-ins are boring, so maybe i need some silhouettes to liven them up! I’m new follower! I hope you’ll follow me back but no pressure.

    November 8, 2011
  9. Wow, what a great idea! I haven’t got any silhouettes but I really should after seeing this post!

    I love your pinterest ideas too. I am actually hosting my weekly Pinterest party at the moment so if you have 5 minutes please pop by and visit. I would be so honoured if you could link up this post too!

    Best wishes,
    Natasha @ 5 Minutes Just for Me

    November 8, 2011
  10. I like how you implemented them into your home. I don’t have any in mine but see them often. Nice!

    November 9, 2011
  11. Oh my what a grand idea! looks wonderful..

    November 9, 2011
  12. DIY Addict #

    oh wow it looks really good.

    November 12, 2011
  13. Wow–love it! Looks like it could be on the cover of a magazine–perfect!

    November 14, 2011
  14. i come via nita’s mod vintage mix. i can honestly say this is absolutely the coolest thing i’ve seen in a long time. whether in magazines or blogs. you nailed this. i’ve been wanting to have some custom bookshelves put in my place but was sorta worried about what to put in them b/c i just don’t have that much stuff. this is just fabo. i’m going to save this in my files.

    November 14, 2011
  15. Beatrice Banks #

    Those were just the perfect touch! Love them!

    November 14, 2011
  16. Your bookcases are fantastic! The silhouettes really do make a statement.

    I’m now following you. 🙂

    Dee

    November 15, 2011
  17. This is a great post. What a difference the silhouettes make in your bookshelves. It really draws you in. I love all the images you have here…I was just at Rogers Gardens in Newport beach yesterday and they had a gorgeous display of Christmas/holiday silhouettes on a red wall…I think I need to go back with my camera. Your post combined with what I saw yesterday has my mind reeling in possibilities for Christmas decorating. Glad to have found your blog.
    annie

    November 16, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

