Skip to content
upcycled luggage and a contest!

I found these American Tourister suitcases at an estate sale for $5. The blue one in the back is the exact kind we had growing up.

It accompanied us on many a trip with my brother and I fighting over the imaginary dividing line down the middle of the backseat while my dad did the classic “dad move”… reaching back and swatting our legs from the front seat as we smooshed as far as we could toward the doors so he couldn’t get us. Good times.

Suitcases are so easy to transform. They are fantastic for storage and look great stacked.

You’ve seen the ones I’ve done before…herehereherehere and  here.

This time around I wanted something a little more fall-ish and cozy.

Two words…plaid flannel.

I hot glued the flannel fabric just around the rim at the seam and them trimmed the excess fabric. (It took just about a yard of fabric to cover each suitcase).You could take it a step further and add fabric to the middle section. I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to cut around the handles. Plus, I kind of like how they look with some of the original covers showing.

Can’t you just picture a big stack of these in different plaids as a boy’s bedside table?

Or underneath the bed housing hot wheels and legos? Or video games and accessories?

Of course, you could adapt this idea for a girls room by choosing pretty fabrics that coordinate with her room.

A stylish place to store all those Polly Pockets and Littlest Pet Shop pieces! Or photos and memorabilia?

Now onto the “contest” part…

Ohhhh, I’ve got your wheels turning now don’t I? Good!

Here’s your challenge, should you choose to accept it… 😉

1) Head to your local thrift store/garage sale/Aunt Myrtle’s attic and pick up a cheap piece of luggage to repurpose.

2) Make it look better than it did before.

3) Send me a clear photo of your masterpiece by the end of Sunday, November 13th.

4) My favorites will be featured here on Monday, November 14th.

5) My absolute fave will win a $25 gift card to either Michaels, Hobby Lobby, or JoAnn’s (winner’s choice)!

I’m looking forward to seeing your creations!

On a totally different note…this is my 300th post! Woot! Who knew I had that many things to say? 😉

Linking up here:

Home Stories A2ZTodays Creative BlogSavvy Southern StyleFunky Junk Interiors

26 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kim #

    Wow, you have done it again. I love the fabric added to those. What a great look. I wish I could compete, but we will be going out of town to see our new grandson.

    November 7, 2011
  2. Congrats on the 300th post! I don’t know what I am up to now:) I LOOOOVE the suitcases! They look fabulous! XO, Pinky

    November 7, 2011
  3. love, love, love that plaid…I can’t wait for another 300 posts, I enjoy every one of them. I am looking forward to seeing what all these creative folks come up with..

    November 7, 2011
  4. Vanessa #

    OHHHHHHHHH I am sooooooooooooooooooooo on this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    November 7, 2011
  5. Susan,
    Congrats on 300!
    Dad (Don’t make me stop this car.)

    November 7, 2011
  6. Have been repurposing vintage traincases over the years. Would like to send a pic of most recent one (that I still have yet to sell) but don’t have your email address to attach a pic.

    November 7, 2011
  7. cndesigns #

    I love this idea! I have to get some suitcases for storage for our recording equipment so I think the fabric idea is swell 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration… Congrats on your 300th post! WoW!

    November 7, 2011
  8. Okay, you made me chuckle describing the imaginary line in the back seat. I thought my brother and I were the only ones that did that. Thanks for the trip down memory lane…

    Wow! 300 posts! Congratulations.

    November 7, 2011
  9. lenka hunwicks #

    Ha, ha ” Don’t make me come back there.. . I will turn this car around and drive back home” was what all 4 of us kids heard from the front seat!
    Love the pics as always! :o)

    November 8, 2011
  10. Those look pretty darn cool…..in fact why don’t they make pretty luggage like that anymore….oh yeah I forgot…the luggage handlers are back there jumping and stomping it until it resembles a large black trash bag. Too bad…..

    November 8, 2011
  11. These are super cute!

    November 8, 2011
  12. These are so, so cute! Thanks for sharing! Stopping by from Home Stories A to Z!

    November 8, 2011
  13. kristie #

    Fun pieces. I can so relate to those childhood road trips:) 300-Anxious for the next 300! Keep ’em coming.

    November 8, 2011
  14. I love the flannel. They look great!

    November 8, 2011
  15. The plaid is utterly beguiling. Love Love Love it, and the middle sections look great unadorned!

    November 8, 2011
  16. JC #

    Your luggage transformation looks great! I have a stack of vintage suitcases by my bed but no matter what I try I can’t seem to get the musty smell out of them which makes it tough store anything in them. Any suggestions?
    BTW, thanks for visiting my blog and for your sweet comment on my chair re-upholster!
    ~JC

    November 8, 2011
  17. Cute idea! Love your fabric choices.

    November 8, 2011
  18. Amy #

    Well, what a fabulous idea! Those plaid suitcases look perfect.

    November 8, 2011
  19. Love this idea! Thank so much -I just picked up a suitcase and have been debating on what to do with it – this has got the wheels turning…

    November 8, 2011
  20. What a great idea. I love the plaid.

    November 9, 2011
  21. The plaid is perfect…It updates the suitcase and gives it an even more vintage look! That was genius…I have to go look at the other ones you have done….Fun challenge, can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with!

    November 10, 2011
  22. You have no idea how perfect those would look in my son’s room! I am going to do that – tucked right under his bed but far enough out for all to see 🙂 I am also going to do my best to take your challenge on if I can find the right piece. Keeping my fingers crossed!

    Sending you an email today as well…

    November 11, 2011
  23. loooove your style, girl!!! And love these suitcases!!!
    🙂
    shaunna

    November 15, 2011
  24. Ok I just LOVE the plaid on those suitcases! I’ve got this linked to my suitcases post too today, you’ve done such a lovely job!

    January 6, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Hot Beverage Station | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

