Skip to content
pining for pine

Pine is my absolute favorite wood. It just feels homey and warm to me. And perfect for a farmhouse.

I’d been eyeing a pine cabinet at Tattered Tiques for a couple of weeks.

I loved it {T-H-I-S—-M-U-C-H} but wasn’t sure I had the perfect spot for it.

I bought it figuring it could go in the cottage guest room. But I really wanted it to hang somewhere I would see it every day.

So I bought it πŸ™‚ and lo and behold, I found the perfect spot for it.

I took down the botanical prints that were hanging above the bench and replaced them with cabinet. I love the bit of dimension it adds.

My next dilemma was what to put in it???? The shelves are so short that even bread & butter plates wouldn’t fit.

I have a massive ironstone cream pitcher collection that I’ve Β picked up at thrift stores over the past couple of years. Hotel ware is another addiction.

Those collections filled the cabinet perfectly!

The beadboard is the prettiest shade of blue.

Happy Thanksgiving week!

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love it !

    November 21, 2011
  2. FABULOUS and love the way you are displaying your collection of silver and white ironstone together πŸ˜‰

    November 21, 2011
  3. This is just lovely! Inside and out πŸ˜‰

    November 21, 2011
  4. Jen Jeschke #

    I think we may be long lost relatives b/c just bought a cabinet almost identical 2 weekends ago!!! Yours has glass and my doors are solid BUT this gave me a great idea!! Yours is abs beautiful. Love where you hung it and what you put in it…everything you do is amazing!

    November 21, 2011
  5. Beautiful! I too love rustic pine. I recently bought a Canadiana pine table for our games room and I’m in love =)

    November 21, 2011
  6. I too love pine. This is a gorgeous piece!

    November 21, 2011
  7. lenka hunwicks #

    Love ,love that blue ! It just draws out the warmth of the pine and makes the white POP !

    November 21, 2011
  8. Kim #

    I LOVE IT!! Perfect there and I love your collection. When you get tired of it just let me know!

    November 21, 2011
  9. I really love pine too and the cabinet is fabulous.
    Laura

    November 21, 2011
  10. Pam #

    What a great cabinet! I love the way you’ve displayed your ironstone.

    Pine is my favorite wood too. I love the way it ages.

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving.

    Pam

    November 21, 2011
  11. maggie #

    I love this piece, too! Could I ask what kind of hanger you used for it?
    Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

    November 21, 2011
    • Maggie, we used very long wood screws through the back of the cabinet into the studs.

      November 21, 2011
  12. Pine is my favourite too, especially the older scrubbed look. Your collections were just waiting for that perfect cabinet to come along. Gorgeous!

    November 21, 2011
  13. Becky H #

    Pine is my favorite too. It looks great! Love your blog.

    November 21, 2011
  14. Oh, my gosh! It’s gorgeous! And the way you’ve displayed your collections in there is so pretty, too. Like something out of a magazine!

    November 22, 2011
  15. I was referred to your blog by a good friend. She says it is her favorite!! I love your ideas,since I love country and old. Could you send me your postings?? Thank you so much, Marla Mears

    November 23, 2011
  16. LB #

    wow, i love your cabinet and it looks amazing with the pitchers! I have a nice collection of pitchers myself and I am longing for a beautiful spot to display them but it’s not easy in a tiny apartment…! I am also picking up a cabinet tomorrow but I’m not sure it’s big enough to hold my pitchers… anyway, your idea is great! love it! πŸ™‚

    November 25, 2011
  17. It looks so great!! So happy this fabulous piece found an awesome home. I LOVE your ironstone collection!

    November 28, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

