Skip to content
a little outdoor decorating

Today was gorgeous here in the Chicago burbs! Cold but sunny. I can deal with cold as long as the sun is shining!

I took advantage of the pretty weather and decorated the outside of the house.

I kept it pretty simple.

These windows look in to our kitchen…I bought the live greenery swags at the grocery store for $4.99 each! I think they are so pretty. I dug the bows out of the basement. They were used on our staircase last year. The great thing about wired ribbon bows is that you can “poof” them and they look as good as new! The garland is Fraser fir. Love.

I bought the wreath at our local nursery. They were out of 24″ wreaths and I was worried that the 36″ one would be too big. I really love it, though.

Here’s my little helper Riley with her ticking bandana all ready for Christmas. She got a popsicle for sitting so patiently while I snapped her photo. 🙂

The guest cottage…nothing fancy, just a simple wreath. Jim would have freaked if he saw me on that extension ladder. 🙂

Maybe next year I’ll feel more ambitious and add garland and lights.

The back of the house (which faces the road).

Through the windows is our library. This room gets the prettiest light in the whole house.

I filled the window boxes with clippings from our Juniper bushes (free!) and added some winterberries for color.

So that’s it. Nothing fancy, schmancy or over-the-top…but I love the simplicity of it.

So happy the weekend is here. I think we are going to see Hugo tonight (Hannah & I read the book…I hope the movie is as good). The boys are waiting on the liner so they can finish their skating rink (if you follow me on Facebook, you saw a photo of them building the frame), hopefully it will come tomorrow.

Do you have any fun weekend plans?

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rachel #

    Really pretty!

    December 2, 2011
  2. Tammy #

    Beautiful, sophisticated decorations….good luck with the movie though. I thought it was the slowest, mist boring movie I’ve seen in a long time.

    December 2, 2011
  3. Soooooooo festive! Your home is really lovely and the decorations do make me feel very Christmas-e, 🙂 Thank you for sharing~

    December 2, 2011
  4. Kim #

    Love the simple look this year. I went simple, too. Love how your library is bumped out. No wonder it gets good light. We saw Hugo two days ago and loved it. Enjoy.

    December 2, 2011
  5. i love the simplicity as well….love greens with red…ribbon, ornaments, etc….

    your windows look very festive.

    i can take cold if it is sunny as well. here in az the sun shines most of the year…today was a cool 61 tomorrow 57. these are under the norm, but i love it….

    thanks for sharing your home and family with us…..

    December 2, 2011
  6. Simply stunning! Your windows look so pretty and your dog is adorable! A skating rink sounds like so much fun. I grew up on a little lake and always loved to go outdoors and shovel my rink and skate and skate!

    December 2, 2011
  7. looking lovely! I, too, keep my exterior decor simple. Inside, that’s another story! Oh, and pretty please show us the inside of your library-I was trying to snoop through the windows =)

    December 2, 2011
  8. Gorgeous! Riley is such a good pup. 🙂 What a sport!

    December 2, 2011
  9. I had a PARTY tonight and everyone just left and I am about all cleaned up. It was alot of WORK but alot of FUN too! Your house looks beautiful! Love the live greens. You are right about the wired ribbon, it lasts forever! Have a great weekend. XO, Pinky

    December 2, 2011
  10. Very simple, but so very lovely.
    Laura

    December 2, 2011
  11. I always love seeing how you change up your front porch! I love that you always seem to have at least one pup out there to pose too! 🙂

    December 3, 2011
  12. Looks GRAET!!! I love free beauties of nature. love the window hangers:-)

    December 3, 2011
  13. Your house looks great! I was looking forward to seeing how you would decorate for winter.

    December 4, 2011
  14. Gina Blank #

    Your house looks beautiful! How do you attach the swags to the window? Ours are vinyl on the outside and I always have a hard time, especially upstairs.

    December 5, 2011
    • Gina, thanks! I used Command hooks. The kind with the silver tiny hook. I use them for everything!

      December 5, 2011
  15. i’m so jealous of your beautiful home! it looks so warm and inviting. i love the simpicity of the hanging garlands, it’s really all you need.

    December 5, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

