Skip to content
bow-making tutorial

One of the most useful skills for Christmas decorating is bow-making. Pre-made bows cost an arm and a leg, and they are usually made out of tacky looking ribbon.

Don’t know how? No worries…here’s a video tutorial to show you!

Thanks to my awesome son Jake for creating this video!

Enjoy!

Sharing here:

freckled laundryThe Shabby NestChic on a Shoestring DecoratingFunky Junk InteriorsHome Stories A2Z

34 Comments Post a comment
  1. You are so cute! Loved the tutorial!

    December 8, 2011
  2. Great tips and such a great video production by your son. I think it is so cool hearing bloggers talk 😉

    December 8, 2011
  3. I loved it! You’re so confident on the video. I would be a nervous wreck. I’ve been stalking your blog for awhile so it’s nice to see your personality on the video. Love your style.

    December 8, 2011
  4. Mel #

    You are a super star! Great work by your son too!

    December 8, 2011
  5. Susan, thanks for the tutorial. I haven’t seen a bow made that way. So easy! I’ll be making a lot of those! ~~Rhonda 🙂

    December 8, 2011
  6. Tammy Calhoun #

    I do think this was personally made for me! Ha!!! M & G say, “Hi”!

    December 8, 2011
  7. Loved it, thanks! I will definitely try this. And I agree with blue clear sky, I enjoy hearing and seeing the person behind the blog on videos. 🙂

    December 8, 2011
  8. I love it! Now I’m going to make some bows! My dog Murphy barked when she heard Riley, she says hello!

    December 8, 2011
  9. You are so wonderful! Thank you for the tutorial. Just when I was getting overwhelmed with Christmas blog posts…I popped over to see you and love all you have done so far….simple and elegant!

    Kristine

    December 8, 2011
  10. Kim #

    Cute and thanks for the tutorial!

    December 8, 2011
  11. Karen #

    ah to hear you, love it..and the bow idea! nice of Jake too, good job, did we hear Riley speak too?? 🙂

    December 8, 2011
  12. I must be doing something wrong. I can’t get the bow making tutorial to open up. When I click on anything at all, I only get the picture of your house (which by the way is lovely). Can you help? Paula Holston
    (your mom’s friend from the Frazer choir).

    December 8, 2011
    • Hi Paula, did it ever work for you??? Not sure why it didn’t but I had someone else say that it wouldn’t work for them either. I will put it on youtube and maybe you can view it there.

      December 12, 2011
  13. Nice. I have another way to do bows but it comes out looking quite similar…and it works with non-wired ribbon too.

    Nice to hear Michael Bublé in the background.

    December 8, 2011
  14. Hey Susan…Absolutely Loved it! You are precious and your son did an amazing job! Thanks for sharing…look forward to more of those!!

    December 8, 2011
  15. i can’t get the tutorial to work either,,,, when i click on the picture and the arrow….the entire space disappears…..have tried it three times already….not working…….sigh…….

    December 8, 2011
  16. Dannie #

    Great bow. Quick and easy.
    I have a question. What type of material do i need to make a chalk board surface to write on?

    Thanks,
    Dannie

    December 9, 2011
    • Hi Dannie, You just need chalkboard paint. You can paint on mirrors, wood…just about any surface. Hope that answered your question.

      December 12, 2011
  17. Thanks for the inspiration! Love being able to put a sweet voice with a pretty face. 🙂 Happy Friday, sweet bloggy friend!

    December 9, 2011
  18. Thanks for the tutorial. It just so happens I have some bows to make, so it was good timing. I hope mine turn out as nicely as yours.
    Cindy

    December 9, 2011
  19. Sharon Kolb #

    You two make a great team 🙂 Can’t wait to see the family video taken at Thanksgiving!

    December 9, 2011
  20. Nana #

    I know it might be tacky for the mother-in-law/ Nana to comment but can’t help it. Great job! You and Jake make a great team.

    December 9, 2011
  21. This is great ! I have never seen this method before, it’s so much easier. I will give it a try, thank you for the tutorial !

    December 10, 2011
  22. Best tutorial on the subjecy I have ever seen (and I have been making bows since I was a child in the family flowershop).

    Thank you! When the holidays are over, let’s all meet at Kane County or downtown Geneva for an area wide blog get-together!

    December 10, 2011
  23. Susan J #

    Thanks for the tutorial Susan. I followed your instructions and now the wreath on my front door boasts a beautiful gold bow, handmade by me. And no tacky-looking ribbon was involved!

    December 12, 2011
  24. Deborah Oakley #

    Wow you and Jake are so professional now! Love it! You even taught me something sista…very cool and easy cause it’s getting hard for me to make bows now cause of my right hand but I can wrap ribbon around a plate! It was nice seeing you…:0)

    December 12, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

