Skip to content
an angel in the Target parking lot

You’ve heard the phrase The Lord works in mysterious ways, right?

Well, sometimes I think they aren’t all that mysterious if we just open our eyes to His blessings.

Source: picturesofwinter.net via Heather on Pinterest

 

Two weeks ago on a rainy Monday morning, I was picking up a few things at Target. As I was putting my cart back in the cart corral, a woman who was parked next to it took a noticeable double-take when she saw me. Being fairly new to the area, it is a rare occurrence (never) to run into anyone that I know. Neverthelesss, I smiled at her awkwardly.

She said, “You write a blog, don’t you?”

To which I replied, “yes” (mildly stunned).

“It’s Maple & Magnolia, right?” she asked.

Totally stunned, I answered “yes” again.

Let’s hit the pause button for just a moment, so I can give you a little context.

We moved here in May and in the seven months we’ve been here I’ve totally been in my own little “bubble.” Getting our house and cottage set up, refinishing furniture, and completing boatloads of projects. Once the dust settled and things were ticking along smoothly (hubby in his job, kids in school) I’ve been sort of sad that I don’t have any local friends. I’m blessed with lots of wonderful friends. Unfortunately, none of them live close by.

Lately I’ve been trying to be very faithful in spending quiet time with the Lord. And really listening to Him. But I was seeking more. More structured and deep. A bible study. I’d been checking our church website for the bible studies that were starting in January. But they hadn’t updated the page yet.

Hit the play button…

Back in the Target parking lot:

Carol and I start chatting and totally hit it off (in the cold, drizzling rain I might add). She has a blog where she shares vintage and non-vintage furniture and treasures that she updates and refinishes (sound familiar?). We are chit-chatting away and out of the blue she says, “Do you do bible studies?”

I said that I’d been searching for one.

She invited me to BSF (which I’ve always wanted to try) where she is a group leader. I’ve gone for the past two Wednesdays and love it. I’ve met so many sweet ladies.

Now I suppose you could chalk this meeting up to coincidence.  I know better.

I drove away smiling at the fact that God loves me so much that he would send an angel into my path in the Target parking lot of all places.

Of course, knowing that I refer to Target as my “happy place” it makes perfect sense!

This verse kept coming to me as I drove away…

Source: Uploaded by user on Pinterest

You know I don’t normally share really personal stuff here…but this was too good not to share.

Happy Sunday to you!

38 Comments Post a comment
  1. Heather Fowler #

    Thank you for sharing this! As our old pastor would say, “You are no where by accident.” Happy Sunday to you, as well!

    December 18, 2011
  2. Glenda Harder #

    Aren’t you going to give us the link to her blog. I really need ONE more blog to follow. lol

    December 18, 2011
  3. Pam #

    What a great story! Thanks for sharing!

    Pam

    December 18, 2011
  4. maggie #

    I’m so happy that you’ve found a group of women with similar interests! What a blessing.

    December 18, 2011
  5. Patty #

    I don’t think that was too personal. I’m SO glad you shared ! I totally believe that meetings like this are not by accident. And I have to ditto Glenda’s comment….please share with us this lady’s blog so we can became her follower, too ! The more the merrier ! Have a very lovely holy-day and enjoy that cruise !! Take lots of pictures to share with us.

    December 18, 2011
  6. What a wonderful blessing for you.

    December 18, 2011
  7. Kim #

    What a wonderful story. God answers prayer.

    December 18, 2011
  8. God is good. How wonderful for him to hear your prayer and answer with a kindred spirit.

    December 18, 2011
  9. Margie Pousardien #

    God is good all the time. What a wonderful testimony and blessing to you!!!! BSF is such a wonderful Bible study.
    Margie Pousardien

    December 18, 2011
  10. Mel #

    Divine intervention.

    Have a wonderful trip.

    December 18, 2011
  11. I love that scripture. It can be read at least two ways – #1 -God will give you what your heart desires. #2 God puts those desires in your heart. Merry Christmas to you & yours.

    December 18, 2011
  12. Rachel #

    It was meant to be…..

    December 18, 2011
  13. This is absolutely a God thing and He always has a plan for us if we will just pay attention. You will love BSF. We have one at Frazer on Monday nights. What a neat way to meet new friends. Merry Christmas. Paula

    December 18, 2011
  14. I believe this with all my heart! God gives us all we need…and often what we want too 🙂

    December 18, 2011
  15. I have always believed that things happen for a reason! We hope you and your family are enjoying your cruise. Have a very Merry Christmas!! We’ll see you when you get back.
    Julie

    December 18, 2011
  16. lenka #

    Do we hear an AMEN ??? :o)

    December 18, 2011
  17. Vanessa #

    Heart warming and full of Christmas Enchantment…!! I have a little story about something like that – it all started 2 years or more ago now with a $10 chalk board!! xo

    December 18, 2011
  18. Hannah #

    aww ❤

    December 18, 2011
  19. Good stuff! Love it!

    December 19, 2011
  20. Dana Horadam #

    How cool is He!!! Always taking care of us!

    December 19, 2011
  21. amy #

    of course, it would happen at target!! lucky you!

    December 19, 2011
  22. Paula #

    I loved your story and I think it is wonderful that you shared what the Lord is doing in your life. We all need to do more of this.

    December 19, 2011
  23. I love stories like this. What a nice way to start off the new year for you. Merry Christmas!

    December 19, 2011
  24. That is awesome! But then again our God is an awesome God! I’ve been wanting to try a BSF study too, but I figure I should probably wait until my little one is in school.

    December 19, 2011
    • Lisa, they have classes for little ones! They follow right along with the same study but at an appropriate level for their age. Let me know if you want to go. The next intro class is January 11th at 9am. 🙂

      December 19, 2011
      • Thanks for letting me know! I would, except I’m starting Beth Moore’s David study in January. I am really looking forward to this study too. I don’t think I can handle homework for two classes right now. 🙂

        December 20, 2011
  25. Kim B. #

    I believe everything happens for a reason, people come into our lives to teach us something, either about them or about ourselves. It wan’t by chance that I answered a Kijiji ad for a shabby chic painted magazine table, only to discover just how nice and talented you are, it was a message being sent to me that I had put my talents on hold for so many years and that it was time to get back to doing the artistic things that I love. I have you to thank for that, and God for allowing me to meet you and bring me back to the simple things again. Your Blog introduced me to other Blogs, making my desire to be creative and artistic even stronger.

    Moving is tough, when I met you we had only lived here for about a year, leaving all of our friends and family far away and I was finding it really hard, people are so different here, it’s a real rat race and it’s been easy for me to get lost in the shuffle. But out of the blue someone so down to earth can appear and restore your faith in humanity. So it’s the simpliest things, like having an open heart and being kind to someone, because you just never know what it is that person might be searching for. I am so glad you met Carol, friends are so important! Enjoy your trip! Kim.

    December 19, 2011
  26. Nola #

    Don’t you just LOVE the way our Almighty God works!!

    December 19, 2011
  27. Jennifer #

    I love your story! I am happy you are making friends and are enjoying BSF. Walker and I look forward to going every Monday night. Miss you all. Lv u! : )

    December 19, 2011
  28. What I love most about your story is how God always works in the way you would least expect. When I sit and think of all the different senarios to some particular subject that is on my mind…I also sigh and say “It will never happen that way!” And even though it doesn’t, when the answer does come, it is always better then I expected!

    Congratulations on the answer to your prayer, I hope you enjoy your new friends.

    December 19, 2011
  29. Greetings from Atlanta! It’s been a long time and it’s great to see your entire family doing so well. I just read this to Lisa who has attended BSF for 11 years. She currently serves as a Children’s Leader. She has been blessed beyond measure through BSF and teared up as I read this to her. She has been that Angel in the parking lot many times for many people. Merry Christmas!

    December 21, 2011
  30. Carla G #

    Great Blessing for you right at Christmas time! God blesses us in lots of ways everyday always nice to share and uplift others!

    December 21, 2011
  31. I have found that a lot of angels are named Carol. 🙂 I am so glad you found one in Chicago and thank you more for being bold enough to share God’s presence in your life. Having known you for years I know that you do not share willie nillie and this was one of those I am going to explode if I dont tell the world moments. Thanks for the encouragement you may have provided for someone else.
    Carol
    In Sunny Florida where angels are made in the sand not the snow.

    December 22, 2011
  32. What an amazing story. Merry Christmas toyou friend.
    Xoxo

    Kristin

    December 25, 2011
  33. What a sweet story, I, of course, cried 🙂

    December 31, 2011
  34. Just found your blog thru MUSS, and I am your newest follower!

    December 31, 2011
  35. Dianne #

    This story brought tears to my eyes. This is so true! Our Lord is so “AWESOME”,(I don’t like to use this word for anybody or anything but HIM). If we truly follow Him, it is amazing the blessings He will give to us.
    I just found your blog through “My uncommon slice of Suburbia”, and I love it already.
    Wishing you God’s blessings for the coming year.

    January 1, 2012
  36. What an awesome story. I love to remember that God cares about the BIG things and LITTLE things too. I hope you enjoy your study and all your new friends. Happy New Year

    January 3, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

