Skip to content
lighten up

It never fails. January arrives and I crave white. Maybe it’s the whole flip the calendar, new year, clean slate thing. Or maybe it’s the I’ve had it up to HERE with the grey skies thing. Dunno.

Whatever the reason, a couple of days ago I started shopping the house for bits of white to put in the family room to lighten it up a bit.

I brought the mantel in from the screened porch and loaded it up with some white and silver and mercury glass pretties.

The mercury glass candle holder was on clearance at Target last week for eight dollars!

The sign was actually a purchase for Hannah’s room, but I’m “borrowing” it for a little while.

I bought some pots of white tulips at the grocery store and put them in silver champagne buckets. I love the way fresh flowers breathe life into a room.

I filled some silver picture frames with photos from the cruise.

The antique mirror was a find from Country Church Antiques. I love the detailing on the top.

When February arrives in a few weeks, I’ll add some red or pink flowers and change the candle and voila…ready for Valentine’s Day.

I’ll be back this week to share a few other changes I made to the family room.

Hope your week is wonderful!

Linking up here:

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Your mantel looks great, love the white tulips in the silver!
    Debbie

    January 9, 2012
  2. Looks so nice! I love that sign. My husband and I say that to each other all the time 🙂

    January 9, 2012
  3. judy hall #

    Absolutely beautiful! Like a breath of fresh, crisp, new winter air.

    January 9, 2012
  4. I love the fresh white tulips! I love your blog and have been following for sometime, I can’t wait to see what projects you post in 2012! 🙂

    January 11, 2012
  5. Your mantel is just gorgeous, perfect for winter!
    XO
    Kristin

    January 16, 2012
  6. Susan, where did you find the “love you more” sign? I love it!

    January 16, 2012
    • Hi Tammy! I found it at a little shop in our downtown. If you want one, I’m happy to pick it up for you and send it home with my mom next time they visit!

      January 16, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

