Skip to content
my best restoration project

You know I’m not one to shy away from restoration projects. I have restored/refabbed/refinished over a hundred pieces of furniture in the past two years.

My gift is finding tired, worn-out pieces and breathing new life into them and making them shine.

But at the end of 2011 I felt like one of those old dinged up, chunky dressers in the corner of the goodwill that’s seen better days. In desperate need of restoration. More than just a spit and polish. We’re talking major overhaul. Spiritually, physically and mentally.

So I am committed to my biggest and best restoration project yet…….me.

But this is one makeover I’m ill-equipped to tackle alone. Luckily, I am a child of the greatest restorer of all. The One that has the power to make all things new.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. 2 Corinthians 5:17

I’m so thankful for His promises.

And can’t wait to see what He has in store for me.

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. I am excited about you personal restoration. I too am focusing on the same type of restoration this year. It actually has been happening slowly over the past 1.5 years but I know this year will be the most amazing of all. I have been reading some great books along with my bible. Crazy Love, Radial and a Tozer book that right now I can’t remember the name. Jim would probably know it he is good like that. I will be praying as you go through this restoration for protection for you and your family. I know mine and Willie’s restoration has caused quite the spiritual uproar in our home.

    January 10, 2012
    • Ellen Hunt #

      I have read Crazy Love and am hoping to do the study that goes along with it with some young gals from my church. They are excited to give it a try.

      January 10, 2012
  2. wow what an amazing comparison. i love your work and talent, and i also love that you are a woman of truth and not afraid to share that with the world. be blessed, and may you find deep restoration in the coming months as you press into God : )

    January 10, 2012
  3. Ellen Hunt #

    It is so encouraging to me that I was inspired to check out your blog because of the restoration projects that you posted. Then it was a double blessing to discover you give honor to God for your life and what He is allowing you to do. Thank you so much for sharing.

    January 10, 2012
  4. Diane J. #

    I, too, feel the need for a little restoration of my own. So glad to know that you are also on this journey. I will keep you in my prayers. Happy New Year!

    January 10, 2012
  5. Donna Mayfield #

    What a lovely post ! I join you in the joy of watching THE restorer at work.

    January 10, 2012
  6. It seems God has been busy calling many of us to restoration! I’m thankful we’ve been listening and, like you, can’t wait to see what lies in store for us, our families, our churches, and our world. Praying for you today…

    January 10, 2012
  7. most lovely post…we should all be so blessed…

    January 10, 2012
  8. Today I feel a need to be restored as well. I am physically exhausted but trying to keep up with my TO DO list but also to steal some time for HIM. My son gave me a GREAT book for Christmas called Conversations with God. I am just starting it but feel it could be life changing. Blessings to you on your journey. XO, Pinky

    January 10, 2012
  9. Blessings to you on your journey! This was a beautiful post.

    January 10, 2012
  10. Margie Pousardien #

    Beautifully written, God is so Good!!! He never changes, but changes us from inside out!!!
    Your dresser is so beautiful. It wonderful to see what God has in store for all of us this new year. Phil. 1:6
    Thanks for your ability to write and decorate all these pieces. I love and enjoy your blog sight so much. You are such an encouragement to me.
    Blessings and Prayers,
    Margie Pousardien

    January 10, 2012
  11. cndesigns #

    He started a “make over” project on me last year. I too can’t wait to see what He has in store for 2012! Blessings!

    January 10, 2012
  12. Debra Meyer #

    I can totally relate to your post!! You always inspire me with your blog, and now to know you are a sister in Christ makes it even more special!! “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”! I know he will give you everything you need for your newest “make over”! I can’t wait to share your journey!

    January 10, 2012
  13. judy hall #

    Your awesome talent breathed beautiful new life into this lovely, old piece,

    January 11, 2012
  14. martha bunch #

    Wonderful analogy, and I like to think that His work within me gives Him the same pleasure and satisfaction that I feel during a successful project.

    January 11, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

