Skip to content
white as snow

Growing up in Alabama I always said, “I could NEVER live where it snows!”

Ha! Luckily I outgrew my tiny pea-brained closed-mindedness. Thank goodness. If not, I would have totally missed out on some of our best life experiences.

At the top of the list…Utah.

Here is the view from our master bedroom window. (Don’t call the decorating police on my pillow overload).

That is what we woke up to each and every morning. It was like living in a postcard. I marvelled at the beauty of that place. Every. Single. Day. Oh, how I miss Utah.

Since then, we’ve  lived in a few other “snow happy” places…Colorado, Connecticut and Canada. I loved living in those places as well.

Now we are in Illinois and until this week, I was beginning to wonder if it would ever snow!

I needn’t have worried. 😉

Here are some photos I took around our property after our first “real” snow of the season.

Wanna know a little secret?

I hope I never live in a place where it doesn’t snow!

Isaiah 1:18
“Come now, and let us reason together,” says the Lord, “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall be as wool.”

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful! And what a treasured promise that verse is! Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.

    January 14, 2012
  2. Wow that view was amazing, but your home now is so gorgeous. I think snow is the best thing about winter. I have lived in places where it didn’t snow and it never really felt like winter.

    January 14, 2012
  3. Carrie #

    I’m a new follower of your blog and have enjoyed it. I’ve enjoyed seeing pictures of your house, property and now view. Look forward to what you have to share in the future! Enjoy the snow!!

    January 14, 2012
  4. Kim #

    Gorgeous. I love to see it snow and love to look at it, but not a fan of the cold anymore.

    January 14, 2012
  5. Your photos are lovely! We have not had much snow here in our part of S.Ontario this winter. Unusual but there is still plenty of winter left.

    January 14, 2012
  6. lenka #

    Wonderful, just wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

    January 14, 2012
  7. I always love the photos of the outside of your home! And I love the way you include your doggies. That last one with his/her face all snowy is too cute! 🙂

    January 14, 2012
  8. Jerri Czosek #

    I know what you mean. We are from the Chicago burbs (C.L.) and every year I look so forward to going “home” for the holidays and enjoying the beauty of snow. This year we didn’t get so lucky and it was so disappointing. Your house wears the snow well :).

    January 14, 2012
  9. Those are beautiful photos! Sigh, I wish I lived where it snows 😦

    January 14, 2012
  10. Oh my…I am jealous. Here in California we have to go hunting for snow. Luckily a couple of hours up the hill and there it is. Although being able to look out my front window and see it would be so wonderful.

    Enjoy your winter beauty.

    January 15, 2012
  11. Meg #

    the header of your blog made me gasp. that photo of your house with your dog is just gorgeous

    January 15, 2012
  12. Ido #

    How beautiful your home in the snow looks! Unfortunately we haven’t had any snow here in Utah, nor in November, December or January, we didn’t have a white Christmas, I’m kinda getting tired of no snow and just cold, cold weather. I don’t know if we’ll get any snow, the ski resorts are suffering big time, we had a little snow last night, not even 1/4 of an inch and the temperatures for this week will be in the 40’s ugh! I’m happy to see that you have some, that dog is gorgeous!
    XXX Ido

    January 16, 2012
  13. Wow – what beautiful pictures!! We just got our first snowfall yesterday and I love it!

    January 16, 2012
  14. Well, I live in Pa., we haven’t had any snow (except a rogue storm around Halloween) and I do NOT miss it!!! I am loving this mild winter. I HATE COLD:):) Your pics are gorgeous, I do admit it is beautiful and usually love it for ONE DAY, LOL!!! XO, Pinky

    January 16, 2012
  15. You’ve had much more than we have here in Ohio. Just a teaser now and then, but that’s okay with me. The older I get, the less I like winter. Our winter has felt more like March so far, which is really nice since March is getting closer every day. I’m sure we’re not out of the woods yet, but I’m thankful for every mild day I haven’t had to shovel snow. Your pictures are just beautiful and I’m fully content to enjoy the snow through them.
    Cindy

    January 17, 2012
  16. Leigh Anne #

    I love your blog…and your style. I am from Alabama also (but I do still live here) and loved seeing the snow pictures! Just beautiful!!

    January 20, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

