Skip to content
attention goodwill shoppers…

ATTENTION GOODWILL SHOPPERSthere is a crazy lady doing a happy dance on the china aisle.”

I don’t go to goodwill very often. And certainly never on a Monday. But today I found myself running errands near there and thought what the hey, let me just stop in for a peek.

And I hit the ironstone jackpot .

Check it.

And look at the suh-weet dinnerware I found. It was tucked away on a bottom shelf and stopped me in my tracks.

I love the shape of it. And it’s hard to tell from the nighttime photo, but it’s the prettiest shade of blue.

I flipped it over to see the maker and lo and behold…

Being the total nerd that I am, I whipped out my phone and researched it.

Exactamundo. Well, except for the price. And the quantity. I got 8 dinner plates, 6 salad plates and 5 bowls. I paid $1.99 per dinner plate, and 99 cents per salad plate and bowl.

Let’s see….$89 plus shipping from Ballard? Nope.

I’ll take Goodwill for $27, Alex! 😉

I heart thrifting.

26 Comments Post a comment
  1. Quite a score! Our Goodwill never has anything even remotely resembling something good 🙂

    January 16, 2012
  2. I am shaking my head and going to GW in the morning! You lucky girl! I have been collecting ironstone, one piece at a time, I think that I would have fainted! and the blue from Ballard is just a bonus!
    Debbie

    January 16, 2012
  3. Kim #

    Lucky you!

    January 16, 2012
  4. I find that Monday is the best day for goodwill. Congrats on your excellent bargain.
    Traci

    January 16, 2012
  5. cndesigns #

    Score to you! Yay! I’ve gotten some great deals at many different thrift stores. Gotta love it! 🙂

    January 16, 2012
  6. Mary Fryer #

    You are lucky! I search my Goodwill a couple of times a week and have never found so much as a plate. Good score.

    January 16, 2012
  7. OMGoodness, what a SCORE!!!!! Lucky you. Enjoy your new dishes!!! XO, Pinky

    January 16, 2012
  8. I never get that lucky!!! I have two gift cards burning a hole in my pocket, and there has not been anything good lately!

    Have a good one.

    Mark @ room363

    January 16, 2012
  9. Rachel #

    I Have that set in white….love it! That is one great find! Lucky duck!

    January 16, 2012
  10. Jen #

    beyond awesome… congrats!

    January 16, 2012
  11. Donna Hollingsworth #

    Wow! What great finds! All we have around here in our neck of the woods are cheap crap and broken items! I shop the GW and thrift stores and have never lucked upon anything that nice. Keep up the good work!

    January 16, 2012
  12. Patty #

    Niiiiiice ! I love stoneware. It’s such a great feeling when you find something really cool. Today I was at a thrift shop that I discovered recently. Thrift Town. They aren’t everywhere, but they are in a few states. It’s really clean, always in order. Employees constantly picking up after the customers who don’t leave things neat. Anyway I found this cool wrought iron piece. Looked old. Kind of like a fireplace tool, but with a little scoop on the end, and shorter in length. I didn’t realize until I got home that the piece didn’t make it to the cashier with me. Someone must have taken it out of my cart while I was in the restroom. Can you believe it ?! People go to thrift shops to get things cheaply and then you have to steal ? GEEZ ! I’m not just upset that I lost a cool piece, but it still feels like being violated, even if it wasn’t really personal. …..sigh……

    January 16, 2012
  13. That’s a score! I love Goodwill. It’s amazing the treasures you can find.

    January 17, 2012
  14. Karen #

    Love your find…how nice and so dern lucky!! Love thrifting as well…sure is a good feeling to save those extra pennies 🙂

    January 17, 2012
  15. Mel #

    They were calling you! Great score. I love the Ballard dishes, such a pretty blue.

    January 17, 2012
  16. Thumbs up from me. Great dishes, great find!

    January 17, 2012
  17. great finds! I’ve been obsessing over brown transferware and searching high and low…waiting to hit the jackpot like you did =)

    January 17, 2012
  18. Nice score!

    January 17, 2012
  19. What a great find! Awesome thrift store finds are definitely worth the happy dance.

    January 17, 2012
  20. Kim B. #

    My heart is racing!! My Ironstone addiction/collection is out of control! Remember the pretty white and blue cabinet you did for me to house my dishes…I had to move it upstairs to the office, and upgrade to a bigger one, because my Goodwill/Sally Anne Ironstone finds outgrew the cabinet! I love the blue Ballard dishes, so pretty! Your posts really do make the possibility of our next transfer being there appealing! 🙂

    ps, glad you enjoyed the cruise!

    January 17, 2012
    • Can’t wait till you get here. I already have a house down the street picked out for ya. 😉

      January 17, 2012
      • Kim B #

        Hmm…I wonder if it’s the yellow one I saw on line the other night? :O) Stay tuned…we should have the low down by March! There is a good possibility though that I will be arm wrestling you for Ironstone at Goodwill! :O)

        January 18, 2012
  21. Waaa… I am jealous!!! I never find cute stuff like this at Goodwill. People always post the most awesome finds and I NEVER find anything good. Ok that was my whiny tantrum for the day. Great find!!!

    January 17, 2012
  22. you’re so funny!! i love reading your posts, you crack me up!! what a great find, i’m a few shades of green over here!!

    January 17, 2012
  23. Sarah Clark #

    I have some of the same Johnson Bros White Regency ironstone that you show in the picture. Grabbed ’em and others at Goodwill. I search each week. What fun. I have done the parking lot happy dance many times. Hope we don’t end up at the same Goodwill…could get ugly.
    Sarah

    January 17, 2012
    • hahahahaha, Sarah! You are so right! 😉 That must be the most popular pattern that JB ever made. It’s rare that I come out of a thrift store without a piece or two! Thanks for stopping by!

      January 17, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

