Skip to content
I’m a picker…I’m a grinner…

Please tell me I’m not the only one that loves some Steve Miller Band.

Today I was living out that song for sure. Pickin and a grinnin.

It all started out as a little craigslist quest. I found this antique pine chest listed for $75.

You know how I pine for pine. This little piece spoke to me.

Lemme tell ya…if someone showed up at my door with a truckload of match-matchy brand spankin new furniture and said I could have it all for free, I would politely decline.

But I was willing to drive an hour each way in heavy snow flurries for this little hunka pine. That’s how much I love it.

I know you are asking yourself what in the wide wide world of sports any of this has to do with pickin and grinnin or the dadgum Steve Miller Band.

Patience, Grasshoppah. πŸ˜‰

So once we (Jake was with me) got to the location and I decided our house couldn’t Β live another day without that chest, we loaded it up . Then we chatted up the guy selling it and turns out he had some more interesting stuff.

It turned out to be quite a successful picking expedition.

Ya ready?

Here are the lovelies that came home with me.

vintage US classroom pull-down wall map…I searched high and low for one of these this past summer!

vintage tin moulding…chippy shabby heaven

huge wooden crate…got plans for this bad boy

and last but not least, these bits and bobs of industrial goodness that made my heart go pitter pat.

Totally grinnin.

We got home and put the chest in the foyer right under the antique pine cabinet that I bought at Tattered Tiques.

Match made in heaven.

I can’t wait to give it some TLC and style it just a little bit.

Now before you go reporting me to “HOADERS…Chicago Edition” I must tell you that I’m not just picking for me. no siree. I’m now selling my vintage and antique finds and hand painted furniture.

But this post has gotten so long that you are probably half asleep, so I’ll give you all the deets tomorrow.

Patience, Grasshoppah. πŸ˜‰

Sharing here:

26 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’m with you on the Steve Miller Band-wagon πŸ™‚

    Or…Hee Haw (don’t they pick and grin??!!)

    That pine chest is to die for. I’m so very jealous right now!! Very.

    Have a great week!

    Shari

    January 17, 2012
  2. Wow! What a day! You lucky duck you πŸ˜‰

    Rachel
    xoxo

    January 17, 2012
  3. Karen #

    oh what a find, perfect pine chest! you crack me up…needed a few giggles before bedtime!

    January 18, 2012
  4. The pine piece is gorgeous!!!

    January 18, 2012
  5. Ellen Hunt #

    I thought of Hee Haw as well Buck Owens and Roy Clark always had a segment with them saying that. Love your finds. You inspire me to head out and see what I can pick up.

    January 18, 2012
  6. Kim #

    Love that chest and cool map.

    January 18, 2012
  7. they look perfect together! and i love steve miller band! πŸ™‚

    January 18, 2012
  8. Fantastic! Can’t wait to hear all the details!!!

    January 18, 2012
  9. You are hilarious…and darn it, I can’t get that song out of my head now! I just posted about a couple of pieces of furniture that were a match made in heaven and became married this weekend also..too funny! Hey I am here with every post girl your humor and spot on decor warms my heart everyday!

    January 18, 2012
    • Kathy, you never fail to make the nicest comments. They warm my heart everyday! πŸ™‚

      January 18, 2012
  10. Oh boy, I’d be grinnin over those pickins, too.

    January 18, 2012
  11. I’m a Steve Miller fan as well. Reminds me of my wild and wooly youth! Gorgeous pine dresser!

    January 18, 2012
  12. Lori Austin #

    Hello. Have been checking in on you for a few weeks now, but this is my first comment. πŸ™‚
    Woohoo! Love, love all of your awesome finds. That map is the best!!

    Have a great day admiring your new treasures.

    January 18, 2012
    • Welcome, Lori! Thanks for taking the time to comment. They make my day! πŸ™‚

      January 18, 2012
  13. I adore your new chest. In fact, I can NOT show my hubby this post. You see, I was searching high and low for months for an antique dresser/chest for our master. If someone were to ask me what it shall look like, I would have described the exact dresser you bought. A week ago, I found a chest that I really liked, and don’t get me wrong, it looks great. Trick is, it wasn’t exactly what I envisioned and I paid $180 (on Kijiji) which we knew wasn’t a steal, but still not terrible. You can see it on my blog, ( http://willowispandrea.blogspot.com/2012/01/our-newest-addition.html ). You made a great find with that beauty, and the price? Well, can’t be beat!

    January 18, 2012
  14. OK, this Grasshoppah can’t wait to hear the news about your new ventures!
    Grasshoppah also wants to go shopping with you as you never fail to find the coolest things at the best prices.

    January 18, 2012
  15. Oh my goodness that couldn’t be any more perfect together if you had, had them handmade!
    love all your goodies can’t wait to hear what you have up your sleeve next..
    hugs from Savannah, Cherry

    January 18, 2012
  16. Woohoo! It looks gorgeous there and I am so jealous of your lovely find. What awesome bonus finds too.

    January 18, 2012
  17. LOVE your finds!! I found a shingle at Art Angles in Orlando not to long ago and this is what I did with mine if you want to look:-)

    what a steal for that dresser!

    http://camelotartcreations.blogspot.com/2011/10/vintage-shingle-display.html

    January 18, 2012
    • Desiree, that is so amazingly creative and the color makes my heart sing! Thanks for sharing with me! πŸ™‚

      January 18, 2012
  18. I laughed out loud while reading your post! LOVE the finds! The chest is perfection and was meant to be witht he hutch….love the industrial bits and bobs….awesome!

    New follower πŸ™‚

    Lou Cinda

    January 23, 2012
  19. All great finds! But I have to tell ya – those rusty ol’ bits and bobs are really shouting out to me! No wonder your heart is going pitter patter!

    January 24, 2012
  20. Ok, I am totally jealous!!!! I want everything that you got……….great finds πŸ™‚
    found you from coastal charm….. -Katie

    http://sweetgirlexpressions.blogspot.com

    January 24, 2012
  21. Wow, I love your blog header. I have a yellow Lab, too, so that warms my heart! I love what you found — especially the tin tiles (swoon!)

    January 24, 2012
  22. What a fantastic “pick” I love it all! I’m your newest follower

    January 25, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

