Skip to content
a little poll

I love polls. Maybe because I love giving my opinion? Hopefully you feel the same, because I need your help!

I found a suh-weet little farmhouse table at a thrift store yesterday.

Do you remember the 80’s Pantene commercial with Kelly LeBrock saying, “Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful?” Well, I’m channeling that line with the exception of the beautiful part.

My line is “Don’t hate me because I’m an amazing picker.” Oooooo, that didn’t sound so good!

Tangent alert…speaking of picking…When Jake was around three, to deter him from picking I read him this poem by Shel Silverstein:

WARNING

Inside everybody’s nose
There lives a sharp-toothed snail.
So if you stick your finger in,
He may bite off your nail.
Stick it farther up inside,
And he may bite your ring off.
Stick it all the way, and he
May bite the whole darn thing off.

-Shel Silverstein

I think the illustration is a hoot.

Now I’m sure that makes me a terrible, awful mother but I’ll tell ya what. That child never, never, never picked his nose!

And he is now a wonderful, delightfully normal 17 year old so I guess I didn’t warp him too badly!

But I digress…back to the suh-weet table.

It needs a good amount of TLC. I’m not a huge oak fan but this piece does have a really pretty grain.

And take a look at my favorite part…the drawer!

Here’s where you come in…take this little poll (pretty please) to decide how I will refinish it!

http://apps.quibblo.com/static/flash/qwidget/qwidget.swf?s=&theme=quibblo&quiz=g4yAGmr  Quizzes by Quibblo.com | SnapApp Quiz Apps

Whichever option has the most votes is what I’ll do! I know you are all on the edge of your seats with excitement! hee hee.

Now go vote and PICK the winner. 😉

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’m trying not to hate you…but it’s difficult! 😉

    January 19, 2012
  2. cndesigns #

    Even though I put in my vote for refinish the top, paint the legs, I would like to see where it’s going to be used and all the other elements in the room for a really better vote decision. Still, the tables I’ve seen done this way are gorgeous! Have fun. It’s a wonderful table!

    January 19, 2012
  3. Sarah Clark #

    Great find. I have 2 now; did own 3. Mine are Robbins tables made in Owosso Michigan. Originally they had a fifth center leg. The “drawer” is for storage of table leaves, at least on mine. One of mine has 6 leaves as stretches out to sit a crowd. Wonderful.
    You can never go wrong with a pretty grain showing but, painted legs are pretty too.
    I can tell you are having fun. Keep enjoying the hunt, I love it too! Sarah

    January 19, 2012
  4. I voted to stain the top and paint the legs. This is one beautiful table! How far out does it open up??? XO, Pinky

    January 19, 2012
  5. maggie #

    The link didn’t work for me but I’m putting my two cents in here! I hope you don’t paint that table!! The grain is too pretty for that (and I am kind of over all of the painted furniture).

    January 19, 2012
  6. Even though my vote is in the minority, I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

    PS…Shel Silverstein is a favorite around here. We have loved “Where the Sidewalk Ends” to death. It’s falling apart, yet we still reach for it when we need a good giggle. 🙂

    Happy Friday!

    January 20, 2012
  7. First of all, your son will thank you when all of his other friends are going on dates and wondering why everyone is snickering cause their Mom’s did not read them that poem!
    Second, I am developing a small hatred of bloggers who can do all of these cool techie things like poll’s and all. I voted.

    January 20, 2012
  8. It wouldn’t let me open up the poll 😦 but my vote is to paint the legs and stain the top.

    Excited to see it finished…

    Shari

    January 22, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

