Skip to content
suey

I was on the hunt for something to sit on top of my new craigslist pine chest. Totally channeling Goldilocks wanting something not too big, not too small, not too boring, but juuuusssssttttst right.

I really didn’t have anything in particular in mind (that’s how it usually goes with me). My feeling is always I’ll know it when I see it.

Lemme tell ya…I never saw this one coming!

I spied this beauty in my friend Karrin’s shop. She had it cleverly displayed with a glass cloche over it and my search was done. I assumed it was a vintage tart pan for the world’s largest tarts (It is 17 inches in diameter). Then I asked what it was…

Here’s a hint:

First, how off-the-charts adorable is this little pig? Second, my “tart” pan turned out to be a swine feeder. Somehow “swine feeder” doesn’t conjure up the same images as a tart pan, does it? 🙂

But I love using unexpected items in beautiful ways and this certainly fit the bill.

TANGENT alert: Anything having to to with swine reminds me of this story. Indulge me for just a minute…when I was a child my grandparents lived in Chipley, Florida and every August the big event was the POSSUM FESTIVAL in Wausau, the next town over. They have events like the possum parade, corn pone baking contests, donkey (or dunkey as my Pop called it) baseball, sack races, greasy pole contests and last but not least a hog calling contest. And just so you don’t think I’m pullin your leg, I linked it up so you can see it’s for real! So anyway, one particular year when I was around 10 and my little brother was 6, we went to the Possum Festival.  My mom entered my brother in the hog calling contest. We were city kids and he had no earthly idea how to hog call. But he listened and paid attention and got up there and gave the loudest, proudest, six-year-old “suuuuuuueeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyy….he-uh pig” you ever heard. Apparently the judges agreed, cause he won.

I know what you are thinking…you can take the girl outta Alabama, but you can’t take Alabama outta the girl. And you are right. 😉

Back to my swine feeder…

I got it home, put some of my old gears, a spool of thread and a wooden finial in the center of the feeder.

Then I put a large glass cloche over the collection.

It makes me happier than a pig in mud.

Sharing here:
Funky Junk's Saturday Nite SpecialHome Stories A2Z{Primp}

 

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rachel #

    Love it…..something with a great story….an unexpected use for a found piece….the best!

    January 22, 2012
  2. One of my favorite gifts I received from a friend was a rusty, dented old chick feeder which she did some hand painting on. I loved the artistic touch, but I also loved what it used to be used for! I love the story of your new find. I kept thinking in my mind, That’ll do pig, that’ll do. Of course this would only make sense to you if you’ve seen the movie Babe )

    January 22, 2012
  3. Patty #

    My first thought was a tart pan, too, since I have some of that shape. It was hard to tell from the photo how big it was. My goodness ! What a lucky find. Love it ! Even better was that suh-weeeet picture of the little piggy. Great story. Gotta know….what did your brother win for being the winner of the piggy-calling contest ?

    January 22, 2012
  4. Sylvia #

    I love using old things in different ways. As a BAMA girl myself, I see nothing wrong with keeping all the Alabama you can. I have been to Chipley, FL but not to the Possum Festival. I have been to the Peanut Festival in Dothan and to the Rattlesnake Festival in my home town of Opp. Sorry, but I think the rattlesnakes trump the hogs every time.

    January 22, 2012
  5. Carolyn #

    What a great post. It brought back memories of my childhood farm days as well. I was raised on a farm in Madison county Florida, 30 miles east of Tallahassee. You made beauty out of something very mundane but useful. Enjoy your blog so much.

    January 22, 2012
  6. Coastal Femme #

    Love it….. that arrangement is sueyeet.

    January 22, 2012
  7. I would have never guessed that it was a pig’s dinner plate. You turned it into something very cute and interesting. This is my first time visiting your blog and have found it to be charming. I love the house in the snow on your header and the cute little dog. I’m supposing that is your house. If you would like to show your pig feeder or anything else at my Cozy Your Home Party on Tuesday, I would love to have you join in the fun. Details on my blog. Hope you can come.——– Shannon

    January 22, 2012
  8. Debra Meyer #

    I love it!! You are so clever!! You make me wish I was from Alabama! When I was young I got to go to the Watermelon festival in Okla. with my friend down the street. My mom made us matching shorts outfits and it was sooo fun. I always love your posts. You have the best ideas and great taste!! and stories too!!

    January 23, 2012
  9. Sarah Clark #

    Smooth glass, old metal, fiber and a simple wood piece…..delightful mix. Perfect example of why junking’ is so much fun.

    January 23, 2012
  10. You are hilarious! I loved your pig story. I grew up in California and moved to rural Iowa 3 years ago. Imagine my surprise when the nearest small town started advertising the annual Testicle Festival! I love your display–even though it is of humble origin. I’ve found similar treasures out in our barn which now serve as decor!

    January 23, 2012
    • Ellie, I think that one takes the cake! I’m dying to visit Iowa now that we live close to it. Hopefully this summer!

      January 23, 2012
  11. That looks beautiful! I always see things like this at Goodwill or the Salvation Army… Hadn’t thought of covering it with a cloche… Great idea and I love the gears!
    Susan

    January 24, 2012
  12. Now how darn fun is that ? a pig feeder in the house , a gorgeous house

    I am surprised the man if the house doesn’t complain

    January 27, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

