Skip to content
Project Runway…the Target edition

Do you watch Project Runway? I’m addicted to it. Inspiration abounds on that show. One of my favorite challenges is where they take the designers to a pet store or dollar store or grocery store and they have to create fabulous fashion with unconventional items.

Wanna a little look-see? Here is the winner of the 99 cent store challenge from episode one.

This gorgeous creation is made of laundry bags and umbrella lining. This dude has talent for breakfast.

Just one more quick one from a past season.

One word…birdseed.

Or is that two words? No, it’s definitely a compound word. Focus, Susan, focus

Can you even believe this dress was made with birdseed? Exquisite.

Sometimes when I peruse the dollar spot at Target I play my own little version of Project Runway.

Dorky McDorkerson, party of one. πŸ˜‰

Ready for the latest “episode?”

Let’s head to Tar-jay, shall we?

oooooooooo, hello one dollar bath pouf. Aren’t you cute?

Sorry, but ever since I read that article about what a GERM magnet you are it’s been ixnay on the oufpay. πŸ˜‰

But we can still be friends.

Let me just do a quick little “sketch” here.

The project runway designers get those way-cool HP tablets for their sketches. But all I need is the bottom of my shopping cart. πŸ˜‰

Are you pickin up what I’m puttin down? mmmm, hmmm.Β Wreath. Valentine Wreath.

Come home, gather materials…poufs, hot glue gun, scissors to clip tags. Oops…a wreath form. Don’t have a wreath form. What to do, what to do.

BAM. Piece of cardboard from my Becky Higgins Project Life kit. Bookmark that thought…that’s a whole other post for a whole other day!

Trace a plate and then a smaller plate inside. Cut it out. Hello, free wreath form.

Start hot-glueing the poufs onto the form.

Uh huh. Work it, girl. That mantel is your runway.

Eight dollarΒ Valentine wreath justΒ burstingΒ with color and texture, struttin her poufy stuff on my mantel.

I declare myself the WINNER of this challenge. πŸ˜‰

Linking up here:

Home Stories A2Z{Primp}Chic on a Shoestring Decoratingfreckled laundryThe Shabby Nest

 

74 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love it!

    January 26, 2012
  2. (In my best Tim Gunn voice) “You made it work!” This looks great! What a snappy little spruce-up! Congrats- you now get to share your collection at the Merceds Benz Fashion week!

    January 26, 2012
  3. Sarah #

    Your posts always make me laugh- you are so entertaining! Also very creative and inspiring. Thanks and keep up the good work!

    January 26, 2012
  4. Not only is your pouffy wreath adorable, I love your writing style! You get my vote, too.

    January 26, 2012
  5. I LOVE that pop of red on your mantel! This was one really fun post!

    January 26, 2012
  6. LOVE it!! so cute and innovative!!

    January 26, 2012
  7. Someone already beat me to the Tim Gunn, “You made it work!” comment. Love it and the fun pop of color you gave it. No “Auf Wiedersehen” from Heidi for you.

    ps. I love Project Runway but being the only female in the house means I rarely get to watch it any more. Sadness.

    January 26, 2012
    • Okay, Suesan…how about “talk to me…” πŸ™‚ I love it when he says that and pulls his glasses down.

      January 26, 2012
      • If Tim were to “talk to you” he’d tell you how awesome you are. Speaking of which…I listed your blog as my blog crush over on Mandi’s (Vintage Revival’s) Blog Crush link party.

        January 27, 2012
      • Suesan, that was just too flippin sweet of you! Thanks a bunch! πŸ™‚

        January 27, 2012
  8. How clever!!! Love this! I don’t watch the show but now I think I will! XO, Pinky

    January 26, 2012
    • Oh, Pinky. You don’t know what you are missing. You’ll be hooked after one episode. Start watching so we can dish!!!

      January 27, 2012
  9. Really cute wreath, don’t you just love Target.
    Traci

    January 26, 2012
  10. Sheri #

    This was too funny!!! And clever …thanks for sharing

    January 26, 2012
  11. Don’t watch the show but that was funny! Very creative!!

    January 26, 2012
    • Tiffani, do me a favor and just watch it one time. You’ll be hooked. It’s so good!

      January 27, 2012
  12. Super cute wreath and I think your whole mantel is SO gorgeous!!

    January 26, 2012
  13. Only you could make a loofa stylish! You are a hoot! It looks so great on your mantel. Great pop of color. Do you think people at Target thought you were nuts for taking a picture of the bottom of your cart?

    Anne

    January 26, 2012
    • Thanks, Anne. I’m sure the security camera people have me tagged as “one to watch.” hahahahahaha πŸ™‚

      January 27, 2012
  14. Jeanne Mooney #

    Your writing style is ahhhmazing. I love it and your poofy pouf, too ; )

    January 26, 2012
  15. Loving it! Way to think outside of the box!

    January 26, 2012
  16. Rain #

    I love how it looks a little silky. Here on the West Coast of Canada it would be perfect for outdoors.

    January 26, 2012
    • Totally. I would use a different material (than cardboard like I used) that will hold up to the weather but the poufs would probably weather fine, since they are made to get wet. Also, using 8 mine was semi-small. You could use more and create one that would be a better scale for a door.

      January 27, 2012
  17. Ida #

    WOW!!! IΒ΄m stunning. Love your blog!!!! And the wret! πŸ˜‰

    January 27, 2012
  18. Mel #

    Freakin’ Fantastic! I love how you think outside of the box.

    The mantle looks perfect. That sign is adorable too.

    January 27, 2012
    • Oh, thanks Mel. Were you a cheerleader in high school? πŸ™‚ You always leave the most encouraging comments.

      January 27, 2012
  19. Hallelujah! You go girl! Love it!

    January 27, 2012
  20. I bow to your winning ways πŸ™‚

    January 27, 2012
  21. Jim #

    Let’s agree ALL of your purchases will come from the dollar section from now on…okay? Love ya!

    January 27, 2012
  22. Who would’a thunk? You are too funny….love this post! Now the thing is…I didn’t even know about the germ magnet thing. I’m heading to my shower to throw mine away (I won’t even admit how long I’ve been using the thing).
    Blessings for a wonderful weekend,
    Susie

    January 27, 2012
    • Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, Susie! Toss that pouf! πŸ˜‰

      January 27, 2012
  23. good one. and i do like project runway too. so so creative.

    January 27, 2012
  24. Dana Horadam #

    LOL! I love it!!!!
    I’m sure there were a few people wondering what the heck you were doing arranging poufs in the bottom of your cart and then taking pictures of them. lol

    January 27, 2012
    • Dana, it’s almost as bad as back in November, the dollar spot had these crazy turkey hats. I put one on and popped up to make my daughter laugh. My daughter had wandered to another section but some lady got a big chuckle. πŸ™‚

      January 27, 2012
  25. THAT is such a great idea! Love your creativity! Seriously, I don’t think I could have through of that in a million years! I may just have to run to Target and make my own now. πŸ™‚

    January 27, 2012
  26. Bernice #

    Very cool! Got me thinking , what else can we do with those? How about glueing on a kidlets lamp shade? Or putting several in a frame as a picture? How fun to have a few kids over and let them make their own framed pouf pictures!

    Am thinking ..am thinking…

    January 27, 2012
  27. that looks PERFECT on your mantel. so adorable!!

    January 27, 2012
  28. Nana #

    Just when I think that I can’t be any more impresseed, Bam! You do it again. You just oooooze creativity . Great job.

    January 27, 2012
  29. How awesome~ love it!! You are welcome to share at Feathered Nest Friday too if you would like! πŸ™‚

    January 27, 2012
  30. I think you’re funny! I’d love to know where you found the “love you more” sign on the mantel. My mother has said that to me since I was little and I’d love to get one for her. Or, I could Leen the Graphics Queen made it for me!

    January 27, 2012
  31. Jenny #

    where did you get the LOVE YOU MORE print?

    January 27, 2012
    • Jenny, I got it at a shop in our little downtown.

      January 27, 2012
      • Jenny #

        I would love to find one like it!:)

        January 28, 2012
  32. Very cute post and very cute wreath!!
    They should be selling these made by you on the Target website!

    January 28, 2012
  33. i just found your blog through michele at primp. so glad I did because as I am sitting here on my computer hoping that my kids stay asleep a bit longer (up late due to sleepover) I laughed loud at hard at your comment dorky mcdorkerson, party of one. Actually…still laughing. thank you. following now.

    MC

    January 28, 2012
    • Hi Michele, thanks for stopping by and for your sweet comments. Have a good day!

      January 28, 2012
  34. I second your declaration of yourself as the winner!

    January 28, 2012
  35. This turned out fantastic!! How genius! I hope you will link this up to my I Heart Projects Party.

    http://www.itsybitsypaperblog.com/2012/01/i-heart-projects-linky-party.html

    January 29, 2012
  36. Love the way you write and loved the wreath idea and sign that I copied it! I posted it on my blog so that my family could see.

    February 8, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. the tribe has spoken… | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

