Skip to content
the tribe has spoken…

Remember the $1 art table I did last year? Well, lately I’ve been itching to do another kids table. However, this time around I wanted a more “grown-up” design.

I think it’s important for kids to have their own “space” in the family room, kitchen, etc. but it can still be stylish!

I found this Lane end table at a thrift store last week. Nice and sturdy…perfect candidate for a kids table.

Sure the surface had been beaten like a rented mule, but nothing my friend Walt couldn’t fix. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Meet Walt. Technically, it’s DeWalt. But we’re tight, so we’re on a nickname basis.

Walt and I went to TOWN on the table surface. 60 grit ย to get rid of all the damage.

Then a nice 220 to get the top as smooth as a baby’s bum.

Next pre-stain conditioner. A must for the most even stain ever. Trust me on this.

Wipe on with a lint-free cloth or staining pad and let it sit/soak in for 5-15 minutes.

The conditioner just soaked right in to the wood. Wipe off any excess

Next comes the stain. Dark Walnut. Of course. Apply with a staining pad for beautifully even coverage.

Let sit 5-15 and then wipe off excess.

Now for the fun stuff…

I saw this thread holder made by Katie @ Craptasticย and it was love at first sight. The way the white chevron pattern looks paired with that beautiful wood grain made my heart go pitter pat.

So I set out to do the same design on the kids art table.

Now up until this point, this re-do had been easy peasy. But then came the taping-off part. yikes.

SIDENOTE…I am extremely spatially challenged. Big time. Let’s just say if I ever went on Survivor, the puzzles would be my achilles heel. They would do me in. Yep, that’s what would get me voted off for sure. Mmmm hmmm.

Well, that and the fact that I don’t like to be ย hot, cold, rained on, dirty, bitten by bugs, hungry, thirsty, or experience discomfort in any way. And the only “challenges” I like to participate in are ones that I createย andย am the only player and therefore certain winner. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Yep, I’m pretty sure if I ever did get cast on Survivor my tribe mates would get so tired of my whining that they would strangle me with my tribe bandana or impale me with tree mail. ย Somehow I don’t think Jeff Probst is gonna be dialing my digits anytime soon.

Back to the table…taped off a nice border like Katie did.

At first, I measured. But then my impatience kicked in and I switched to a highly underrated method known as “eyeballing” it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Three coats of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in Old White.

Peel the tape off (my FAVORITE part)!

Protect the whole table with Minwax paste finishing wax (love).

And there you have it…a stylish chevron art table for a trendy toddler. ๐Ÿ™‚

The tribe has spoken.

Linking up to these parties:
Chic on a Shoestring Decorating

30 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful job and I am right there with you on the spatially challenged thing…merging in traffic, an etch a sketch, blow drying my hair…not fun activities for moi ๐Ÿ™‚

    February 1, 2012
  2. Love. I have been so wanting to try a chevron…but the measuring scares me…..you really nailed this!

    February 1, 2012
  3. You and Walt make a great team! That wood is amazingly beautiful! I love it!
    Debbie

    February 1, 2012
  4. Terrific! Would look great in any decor!

    February 1, 2012
  5. Very good job… I love it

    February 1, 2012
  6. Mel #

    Yep, I believe that eye-balling is an underrated method ๐Ÿ™‚

    great update. the table itself is gorgeous and you made it “ZING”

    February 1, 2012
  7. I love to eye-ball things it drives my tribe nuts! Works for me. Your table is amazing excellent execution!

    February 1, 2012
  8. Sharon Kolb #

    This is one of my favorite things you have done. LOVE this!!

    February 1, 2012
  9. This is lovely! the wood grain on this table top is beautiful. Glad you didn’t have to cover it ALL up!

    February 1, 2012
  10. Susan you are hilarious, your posts are so witty and educational…you would have been the teacher that the kids would have lined up for “her” class, i very much enjoy your blog girlfriend!

    February 1, 2012
  11. I want to be your next door neighor so I can invite you over to help with my furniture projects that are collecting dust in our garage. I make a mean cup of coffee! ๐Ÿ™‚ Great job on this!!!!

    February 1, 2012
  12. Joi #

    Yep. Eyeballer here, too. Gets me in trouble at times, but I still do it. Love what you did with the table – who would have thought about turning an end table into a children’s table? Why, you would of course! You have such a knack for furniture refinishing, Susan…I know this one will sell quick for you!

    February 1, 2012
  13. Hello,

    I love the table and your blog. I went this weekend to visit your beautiful creations at Tattered Tiques, and I wrote about them on my blog Pine Cones and Acorns. I loved them all!

    http://pineconesandacorn.blogspot.com/2012/01/antiques-and-blogger-stores-in-illinois.html

    I hope you have a great day! Thank you for sharing your fabulous creations and finds!

    Elizabeth

    February 1, 2012
  14. Jones #

    Thank you for sharing the details of refinishing the table and even showing the products. I am anxious to learn how to refinish and this all helps very much! I love your blog. You are a creative lady.

    February 1, 2012
  15. The DIY Tribe HAS spoken and you definitely get to stay on the island. You make me actually want to have chevron in my house somewhere.

    February 1, 2012
  16. That table looks amazing! โค

    February 1, 2012
  17. oooh i LOVE it!!!

    February 1, 2012
  18. Connie #

    Oh beautiful job!!! Love the commentary along the way! And the eyeballing it that is what I do most of the time!

    February 1, 2012
  19. Patty Soriano #

    Good job ! Loved your references to Survivor, since we’ve watched every show since the beginning. I couldn’t go either. I can’t swim. And there is no way in H — E — double toothpicks that I’m gonna shimmy around in my underwear ! But when the teams merge, and they need a new banner, you would be THE go-to Gal ! Best Banner EVEH !

    February 1, 2012
  20. kat #

    I love that! What a great idea. Will have to try it ๐Ÿ™‚

    February 1, 2012
  21. Sheila S. #

    Hi Susan,
    I have been following your blog for sometime now but this is probably my first time leaving a comment. I just wanted to say that you had me laughling out loud with all your references to Survivor. Very clever idea to use an end table to make a child’s table. TFS!

    February 1, 2012
  22. Looks fabulous! ๐Ÿ™‚ Do you use the finishing paste on all your projects?

    February 2, 2012
  23. Wow-beautiful! I’ll have tro try the paste wax and the stain. I know you use AS paints as do I…how does the Minwax paste wax compare to the AS wax?

    Thanks for all your inspiring posts!

    February 2, 2012
    • I’m sure this will be an unpopular answer but I like minwax paste wax 5 billion times better than Annie Sloan’s. To me it’s so much easier to work with, not to mention more cost-effective! ๐Ÿ™‚

      February 2, 2012
  24. Beautiful! Great job!

    February 2, 2012
  25. Wow!! That looks fantastic!!

    February 2, 2012
  26. Holy Crow! That’s awesome!
    (if I steal every idea you come up with will I get in trouble?)

    February 3, 2012
  27. I love how this turned out Susan! This design looks amazing! Thanks for the shout out! I featured your table today!

    http://craptastickatie.blogspot.com/2012/02/five-feature-friday-24.html

    February 3, 2012
  28. Naomi W. #

    What a beautiful job on the table. Your paint job is so good.

    February 3, 2012
  29. Congrats! The table looks fantastic! Very impress about the design, I feel more confident to try it now! Thanks for share!

    February 4, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

