Skip to content
thirty minutes of wonderful

To quote Shelby from Steel Magnolias, “I’d rather have thirty minutes of wonderful than a lifetime of nothing special.”

Have I ever shared with you how much I love that movie? It’s one of my favorites. There aren’t many situations in life that a Steel Magnolias quote doesn’t apply. Just ask my husband. I quote it on an annoyingly frequent basis.

Here are some of my favorite quotes from the movie:

Truvy: In a good shoe, I wear a size six, but a seven feels so good, I buy a size eight.

Ouiser: I do not see plays, because I can nap at home for free. And I don’t see movies ’cause they’re trash, and they got nothin’ but naked people in ’em! And I don’t read books, ’cause if they’re any good, they’re gonna make ’em into a miniseries.

Clairee: Looks like two pigs fightin’ under a blanket.  (talking about the mayor’s wife’s backside while dancing in a tight dress)

Annelle: Miss Truvy, I promise that my personal tragedy will not interfere with my ability to do good hair.

Shelby: My colors are “blush” and “bashful.”

M’Lynn: Her colors are “pink” and pink.”

See what I mean? 😉

Back to the quote about thirty minutes of wonderful. That is my new approach to refinishing furniture.

Case in point: these vintage chairs that I picked up last summer.

The safe and easy re-do would be to touch up the white and recover the seats in tan linen.

yawn.

But that is what sells. all.day.long.

Insert my new philosophy. I’d rather inject these 2 chairs with a dose wonderful (and have them sit) than make them nothing special and have them sell.

From a business standpoint? dumb. From a creative standpoint? genius.

So here’s their dose of wonderful. Don’t they just make you smile?

Sure, they may sit in the shop and collect dust for the next three months.

But they’re gonna look good doin it. 🙂

Paint: Annie Sloan Provence   Fabric: Hancock Fabrics

Linking up here:

{Primp}

 

23 Comments Post a comment
  1. jodytheshopper@sbcglobal.net #

    Love the chairs-hopefully someone else will too! Loved that movie so much that I decided long before I was even married that if I ever had a girl I would name her Shelby. Shelby will be 11 this month! Even though I live in Northern California-her name just begs to be called Ms. Shelby (she gets that alot).

    Hugs,
    Jody

    February 2, 2012
  2. haha! This made my day. Dont forget…

    “Oh get with it, Clairee. This is the eighties. If you can achieve puberty, you can achieve a past.”

    Love the chairs!!! Simply lovely!

    February 2, 2012
  3. karen #

    I love that you quote movies. We do it ALL the time over here. So I could not resist adding a few my self.

    Ouiser Boudreaux: I’m not crazy, I’ve just been a very bad mood for the last 40 years!

    Ouiser Boudreaux: You are evil, and you must be destroyed.
    Clairee Belcher: Mother Nature’s taking care of that faster than you
    could.

    Clairee Belcher: The older you get, the sillier you get.
    Ouiser Boudreaux: Yeah, well the older you get, the uglier you get.

    Love your blog and the chairs!!!

    Karen

    February 2, 2012
    • Ha! Thanks, Karen…yep, I’ve used the bad mood for 40 years quote. a LOT! 😉 Have a great day.

      February 2, 2012
  4. I LOVE those chairs!!!! I have a pillow that is covered in the same print. If I was in that store, I would totally purchase these! No dust would touch these babies! Love the mix of the blue/gray with the yellow by the way!

    February 2, 2012
  5. I went over to meet our new next door neighbors and their big beautiful silver poodle is Magnolia “Maggie” for short, and I thought of that movie, loved this post and trulee loved those chairs!

    February 2, 2012
  6. debbi #

    I agree, they look happy. ! Great job. 🙂

    February 2, 2012
  7. first of all i totally love steel magnolia’s . i may need to revisit it soon.
    second of all, LOVE those chairs- perfect combination!

    February 2, 2012
  8. Steel Magnolias is such a hoot. Your chairs are fabulous. Someone would have to be crazy to come in and not snatch those up.

    February 2, 2012
  9. Nancy Settel #

    my most favorite quote? If you can’t say something nice about someone come sit next to me!! nancy

    February 2, 2012
  10. Nancy Settel #

    oh darn I forgot to mention the chairs they are over the moon beautiful be still my heart. nancy

    February 2, 2012
  11. Paula #

    Lovely chairs, can you ever offer an “on-line” workshop on how to use and protect the Annie Sloan paints?
    thanks for all your inspiration. I will stop by the shop tomorrow 🙂
    Paula

    February 2, 2012
    • Hey Paula, they aren’t open this week! They are open on Feb. 9th. Good idea about the workshop!

      February 2, 2012
  12. Rachel #

    Chairs are great! The movie… my all time favorite! I think it’s because those women share the best kind of friendships…and yes I quote those ladies all the time!

    February 2, 2012
  13. Ouiser why you in such a good mood? You run over a small child or something?

    February 4, 2012
  14. I LOVE that movie!! Steel Magnolias, Fried Green Tomatoes, and now, The Help, are my all time favorites! I have tears in my eyes from laughing at all the quotes. 🙂 Thanks for sharing. And, the chairs are cool too!

    February 4, 2012
  15. Erin #

    I use the “two pigs fightin’ under a blanket” frequently…or as warranted. Ironically, I used it at a wedding once and my BF about died laughing, figuratively;-)

    February 7, 2012
    • Erin, me too. In this world of spandex, there are just too many occasions for it!:)

      February 7, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

