Skip to content
groceries sign

Ever since I saw the large “groceries” sign hanging in the kitchen of Β Sarah Richardson’s cottage, I’ve wanted one for our kitchen.

Sarah Richardson is my absolute, hands-down, most favorite designer in the whole entire world. Her fresh, classic designs are always perfection. And her side-kick Tommy Smythe is the bomb diggity. Just in case you’ve been living under a rock and haven’t heard of her, check out her website and prepared to be ahhmazed.

Alrighty, Sarah fan club meeting is officially adjourned. πŸ™‚

Now about my sign. I wanted it to go on top of our new china hutch, so I bought a piece of lumber that looked to be the right height. My eyeball-it method of measuring has always served me well so I did it once again. But it came back to bite me in the butt. But I’m getting ahead of myself…

Here’s a sign-making tutorial in 5 easy steps.

I free-handed my lettering because my printer was spazzing out. Normally, I would print, cut and trace.

This is the time-consuming part. Invest in a decent angled brush for lettering so you aren’t wasting time picking bristles off of your freshly painted letters. Use regular ol’ Acrylic paint.

Once the letters are nice and dry…

This is where I went to prop my sign on top of the china hutch and realized that it was too tall.

Dang that eye-balling method!

So I did the next-best thing, which was to put it on the top shelf.

I like it.

For now. πŸ˜‰

Be sure to check back tomorrow for Wednesday’s Wares.

It’s gonna be good.

Linking up here:

Home Stories A2Z

46 Comments Post a comment
  1. Stacey B #

    I couldn’t agree more with what you said about Sarah and Tommy! They are the best desingers out there! Great job on the sign, I might have to try that!

    February 7, 2012
  2. I loved Candice then along came Sarah & Tommy and that was that….as you said all time hands down favorite can’t miss an espisode I want to follow her around like a puppy dog love!!!! I knew I liked you! Great sign!!!!

    February 7, 2012
    • Totally agree. They are the dynamic duo. Thanks for being such a sweet commenter! I appreciate you.

      February 7, 2012
  3. I love Sarah and Tommy too, and I love your sign!
    Debbie

    February 7, 2012
  4. Lori Austin #

    Sarah and her summer cottage….sigh. I can spot her work almost every time. LOVE!
    Great sign. I like to eyeball too. πŸ™‚

    February 7, 2012
    • Lori, that whole cottage is just dreamy isn’t it? And the farmhouse…don’t even get me STARTED! πŸ™‚

      February 7, 2012
  5. {sigh…} there you go being all AMAZING again! Lol!

    Love. it.

    Mary

    February 7, 2012
    • Mary, I’ve got nothin on you girl! Can’t wait to meet you Wednesday!

      February 7, 2012
  6. I just love what you are doing with your entire house! You are quickly becoming one of my most favorite blogs. I look forward to reading each and everything you post! Thanks for sharing.

    February 7, 2012
    • Rachel, that is such a sweet thing to say. Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

      February 7, 2012
  7. Love it! I will say that your eye-balling looks a LOT cuter than my eye-balling. Sometimes a girl just so happens to make curtains that are two feet two short πŸ™‚

    February 7, 2012
  8. LOVE the sign… even if it ended up a bit too tall! And Sarah and Tommy are my favs on HGTV. I’ve been a Sarah Richardson fan through her various shows over the years… and Tommy? He is the bestest sidekick ever! I just wish HGTV would get it’s act together and air her shows as quickly as HGTV Canada does!

    ~Chris

    February 7, 2012
    • I know what you mean, Chris. I first started watching her when we lived in Toronto and I got spoiled! πŸ™‚

      February 7, 2012
  9. Oh gosh, I live Sarah too!
    I have been thinking of making a sign similar to this and you have just convinced me to do it! Your’s turned out great and I bet it looks perfect on top of your hutch πŸ™‚

    February 7, 2012
  10. Tommy is my design crush. I love him. I want to be bff’s with him, and have him makeover my house lol =) Great sign!

    February 7, 2012
  11. Carrie #

    I’m glad I found your blog!!

    February 7, 2012
  12. I love it and have an old weathered sign that I restored to the original saying. Actually, I am tired of the saying and thought about painting “groceries” on the reverse side… cause I love me some Sarah too…. I would need stencils though… cause I’m not as easy-breezy as you…although I wish I was πŸ™‚
    Love your blog!!

    Marcy

    February 7, 2012
  13. Margie Pousardien #

    I also love Sarah Richardson’s style and of course, Tommy. Thanks for sharing a tutorial way to do a sign. I’m a visual person and this really helps. I may have a friend who’s a graphic artistic do the writing though. . I love your blog also. Thanks for sharing.

    Fondly,

    Margie Pousardien

    February 7, 2012
  14. I am in the eye ball it club too. The sign is quite terrific up there.

    February 7, 2012
  15. Awesome sign and I love the cabinet!
    Mary Alice

    February 7, 2012
  16. I love it, and always impressed with anyone who can freehand their letters.

    ~Bliss~

    February 7, 2012
  17. I am visiting you from BNOTP. Your sign is awesome! And yes I am on Sarah’s fan club too!! Di@cottage-wishes

    February 7, 2012
  18. Are you coming South any time soon? As in South Carolina? My house desperately needs your help! πŸ™‚ Cute sign! Wonder what a smaller version of that over my cupboards would look like. Hmmm…might have to steal this idea from you! Happy Wednesday, friend! πŸ™‚

    February 8, 2012
    • Larri, Can you believe I’ve never been to South Carolina? Maybe we could barter decorating for sewing lessons! πŸ™‚

      February 8, 2012
  19. I love Sarah Richardson as well…I wish HGTV would show her a little more often, instead of House Hunters and Property Virgins ALL THE TIME. I like those shows, but I may get 30 mins a day of non-Sprout (toddler) tv…so more of a selection would be appreciated.
    Love your groceries sign – I made one out of barn wood a couple months ago… also said “groceries” but it was blue and red.
    Yours is beautiful – an eye-balling job well-done!

    February 8, 2012
    • Erin, I remember those days. Now that they are teens, it’s all sports tv all the time! Have a great day!

      February 8, 2012
  20. What a beautiful sign!!
    Love the shelf it is on…
    I love Sarah too, started with her on Room Service, I have watched her grow up on TV!
    Lovely Blog, my first visit! I will be back…
    All the Best,
    Christine

    February 8, 2012
    • Christine, thanks for your nice comments and thanks for stopping by!

      February 8, 2012
  21. It adds so much character to an already beautiful room! Love it.

    February 8, 2012
  22. love love it! Thanks for tip πŸ™‚

    jenndiggs.com
    a photography blog

    February 12, 2012
  23. wow, your sign looks amazing, i would love it if you have the time to pop over and link up at my new party happening now at http://twiggstudios.blogspot.com/

    February 12, 2012
  24. Hey, great minds think alike! We were both featured on AtoZ Tutes and Tips. Love your groceries sign, your home is beautiful and I want to be Sarah!!

    February 12, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tutes & Tips Not to Miss {47} | Home Stories A to Z

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

