Skip to content
design boards, math tricks & dad

Design board, deshmign board. They are a very popular tool in the design world. For organized people. They are beautiful to look at and probably very helpful. For organized people. But I am not an organized people. 🙂

Now I know you are saying to yourself, wasn’t this chick just in Woman’s Day for her pantry organization project?

That, my friends, is irony at its finest. Under my photo in the mag, it should have said “Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire.”  

So you wanna know my fly by the seat of my pants decorating process? Here goes…I find one inspiration piece and build on it. And pull things together until it looks good. That’s it.

We are going to visit my mom and dad in Alabama during March break. Last time we went there for March break, I re-did the living room. So it’s kind of our tradition. My mom is the world’s easiest client. Meaning, she lets me do whatever I want. 🙂

So the day after my mom arrived here in the Windy City burbs, we headed to Ikea and HomeGoods for some sho nuff INSPA-RA-SHON.

The one thing I knew going in, was the color palette. Yellows and greys. And before we knew it, our cart was full of incredible goodies many of which were CLEARANCE items. The only thing I love better than pretty accessories are CHEAP pretty accessories! Everything you see here totalled less than $200!!!

Hmmm….<less than<  Sidenote…wanna hear one of my favorite teaching techniques from back in the day for teaching little kids greater than and less than? The alligator’s mouth always opens up to the bigger number. The symbol looks like an alligator’s mouth. 2<4…see? The fact that I taught math? Another “Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire” irony moment. Have no fear. It was only first and second grade math. It doesn’t start getting hard until like, 5th grade. 😉

Once we got home, I added in a few items from our purge session and voila…my “design board” consisted of a big heap of our scores from the day.

That kitchen’s not gonna know what hit it when I come rollin into town.

The only possible snag in the process? <Insert record needle scratching sound>  My dad.

See, he suffers from an affliction known as fear-a-change-a-phobia. 😉

It’s either gonna be a most excellent makeover, or the world’s shortest visit!

P.S. I’ve been so busy this week, that I won’t be posting any Wednesday’s Wares. I’ll have some goodies next week, though.

Happy Hump Day, people! 🙂

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Your so funny..my dad suffers from the same disease! My mom wants to paint some furniture in her dining room they have had since dinosaur age and my dad kinda freaks out…really dad its so old! Mom says he will like it after its done! Can’t wait to see the end results. You got some really cute things…Homegoods?? Hmmm….have a beautiful day!

    February 15, 2012
  2. Eva #

    Susan – I just love reading your posts – they make my day!! And I can’t wait to use some of your ideas in the house we’ll be moving into in 3 weeks. Keep the creativity coming and thanks for sharing your talents with all of us.

    February 15, 2012
  3. The kitchen makeover is going to be GOOD! I can’t wait to see it!

    February 15, 2012
  4. My dad was the SAME way! lol Lucky for me, my husband let’s me do whatever I want! I live in Gadsden…..Go South!!

    Can’t wait to see what you do….it will be fabulous!

    Lou Cinda

    February 15, 2012
  5. I love the accessories you got. I had to stop myself from buying anything else until after we paint our living room-which was supposed to be done in Dec. My supply is crowding in on me.

    February 15, 2012
  6. You don’t need to be organized or a design board~love your style! I change things so much, when people come over they don’t ask “how are you doing” they ask “what have you changed”, my husband loves it as long as he doesn’t have to do too much 🙂
    Debbie

    February 15, 2012
  7. Hilarious. Can’t wait to see the kitchen redo. I have a picture in my mind of your dad with his head behind the newspaper while you are redecorating around him 🙂

    February 15, 2012
  8. Leigh Lloyd #

    Love the yellow and black combo and can’t wait to see the redo. My sweet new hubby is wondering what hit him as we begin the redo of our (new) house – his for 28 years and mine for 9 months now – I am also doing the kitchen in yellow and black – SLOWLY…to accommodate his avoidance of change – hence the orange lino on the floor since 1983! It is gone! Thanks for sharing your decorating life with us!

    February 16, 2012
  9. Oh your mom is so lucky! It’s going to be amazing.

    How I learned the less than/greater than sign thing is that the less than one looks like an L. Well, a scrunched up L but still…..super easy.

    March 5, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

