Skip to content
the in-between

There’s nothing like a good before and after. But I also enjoy seeing the in-between…where progress has been made, but there is more to do. Hopefully, so do you. Because this sleeping porch project is not going to be my usual badda bing, badda boom, lickity-split makeover. It’s going to take some time.

So my boys did a fantastic job emptying out the sleeping porch on Friday. Since then, I’ve been painting and painting and painting and painting and painting and painting.

I decided to paint the beadboard walls and ceiling with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in “Pure White.”

I went through 2 quarts pretty quickly and I’m at a standstill until I get more!

That is only the first coat but I love the fresh white.

Boy, oh boy are these windows going to be fun to paint! There are nine of them in the main room and seven more in the little room off of the main room.

The little room is going to become my photo studio. A dedicated room where I can leave my tripod, lights and staging stuff and where I’ll photograph all of the vintage goodies I sell.

The light up here? fuggedaboutit…so pretty.

Remember this french bed that I found at Salvation Army in Canada last year (for $69.99)?

It’s been out in the barn. Now, in the original post I said I wouldn’t paint it. Not sure what that was about, but this baby food strained peas color is gross. So paint it, I did. (That sounded very YODA-ish, huh?) 😉

Here it is after one coat of AS “Old White.”  You wanna know the best thing about Annie Sloan chalk paint???

The SECOND coat! Cause after the first coat, you are kind of going….this is not looking so hot.

And then after the second coat dries, you are like BAM! Hello, gorgeous!

Don’t mind the side rails…they aren’t going to show so I didn’t want to waste paint with a second coat.

This pretty armoire was a  Craigslist find from a few months ago and has been out in the barn. The paint was pretty dinged up, so I gave it a fresh coat of Annie Sloan Old White and painted the inside with Annie Sloan Duck Egg. (after photos coming soon)

In case you are wondering why I’m using different whites on the walls and furniture…I don’t want the room to feel sterile, or Shutter-Islandish (as Jake calls it). So I plan to use varying shades of whites and creams to create depth.

I picked up this chippy  library table and wonderful iron sign last week at Steeplechase Antiques. I love the cool shade of blue that’s in the sign…I’m going to have hints of this color in the accessories.

Now I’m on the lookout for a large rug and a chandelier for the room.

A vintage tole chandelier is what I want…but they are hard to find reasonably priced.

Source: stylebeat.blogspot.com via Danielle on Pinterest

The closest rug I’ve found is this one from Dash & Albert. It’s the Swedish Cotton Stripe. I love the airiness of  it.

If you have any great sources for rugs or chandeliers, I’m all ears.

Things should come together pretty quickly once I get the painting finished. If I ever get the painting finished!

I’m going to enjoy having the kids home today…maybe we’ll get to the movies!

Enjoy your day, peeps. 🙂

Linking up here:

{Primp}
19 Comments Post a comment
  1. i am DROOLING over that bed….. let me wipe my keys off here so i can type….

    February 20, 2012
  2. Stacey #

    So, so pretty. I use http://www.lampsplus.com for any large chandeliers I need to purchase. The price is so much less than other stores. AND, they have monthly sales. Need I say more.

    February 20, 2012
  3. it is going to be GEORGEOUS!!! I am in LOOOOOOOOVE with that bed!! It makes me want to put a sleeping porch on my home just so I can have that bed! Really… seriously…

    February 20, 2012
  4. wendymari #

    Hi, the bed and corner armoire are so pretty. Well, the whole space is!

    Can you tell more about your experience painting the walls with ASCP? I was curious how thick you’re putting it on, 1 coat or 2 on the walls? Did you dilute it at all?

    I love the rooms! The house! Everything!

    February 20, 2012
  5. I could not of said it better~I’m drooling too! You may find me out there one morning 🙂 You are so good at this!
    Debbie

    February 20, 2012
  6. Oh that bed! Gorgeous. The room is looking amazing! I have a Dash and Albert rug and love it. The Swedish stripe one you ate thinking of will look perfect in the room if you decide on it. You could try Etsy for vintage tole chandeliers, sometimes you can find a reasonable one there.
    🙂

    February 20, 2012
  7. Kim #

    You are one lucky Girl to have obtained all those beautiful pieces!!! My daughter {who is 15 and Very girly} wants all of them in her room. She’s into all things French, and these fit the bill! Beautiful, beautiful just simply BEAUTIFUL!!!! {did I mention beautiful?}

    February 20, 2012
  8. It is going to be gorgeous! And I’m so glad you’re showing us the process. I love seeing how someone else pulls a room together =) I am kicking myself, as there was a beautiful tole chandelier (a large one) on Kijiji for $100 obo. I let that one slip away…doh!

    February 20, 2012
  9. Can’t wait, this is fun getting pieces!

    February 20, 2012
  10. Darcy #

    I recently purchased a desk much like the one you purchased, but slightly larger. The lady was cleaning clutter from her life and said you can have it for $10. I about pee’d myself from excitement as it’s so well built. It will be my make up/beauty desk when finished. I can’t wait. It sits in the garage until it gets warmer here in TN. Love reading your posts!

    February 20, 2012
  11. This is going to be fabulous!!! I can’t wait 🙂
    XO

    February 20, 2012
  12. tracy a #

    have you looked at jossandmain.com today? they have a lighting event sale and the first several chandelliers look very similar to the one you posted!! hope this helps! (the sales usually last 3 days, in case you’re not familiar with the website. heck, you could be linked up to it for all I know, I didn’t check!)

    February 20, 2012
  13. I love what you are doing so far and I’m glad you shared the middle with us. You might check out some tag sales for a chandelier, paint it white and then drape your own crystals. There are some great DIY tutorials online! What a beautiful space!

    February 20, 2012
  14. Well, of course I love it all. The bed and armoire are both so fabulous. I too am drooling onto my computer 🙂

    February 20, 2012
  15. Sarah C. #

    The sleeping porch has great vintage bones…she just needed some lipstick!
    Can’t remember what is now on the floor….what about painting it and doing a painted rug?
    Just a thought. Sarah

    February 20, 2012
  16. So glad you’ve shared the in betweens!!
    Can’t wait for the final reveal!

    February 21, 2012
  17. Oh I love all your furniture finds for your sleeping porch! I would love to go “antiquing/vintage hunting with you! (and love your sense of humor…example: “…sounded very yoda-ish” (my family says I tend to do that. lol)

    Blessings & Aloha!
    I’m stopping by from Susan’s Metamorphosis Monday. I’d love if you get a chance to stop by and take a peek at our daughter’s work in progress for their nursery :o) It’s so nice to meet you! and what a beautiful home and family you have :o)

    February 24, 2012
  18. looks beautiful–can’t wait to see the final room!

    February 28, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. balance | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

