Skip to content
random thoughts on a snowy friday

1. We got a whopping amount of snow yesterday and last night.

2. You are probably tired of snow pics, but they are so pretty I can’t resist posting them.Β They are really for my mom (who loves the snow) and my southern peeps, so they can get a little “snow fix.”

3. Are you watching American Idol this season? I think it’s the most talented group they’ve ever had. I’m glad the hollywood shenanigans are over now, so we can get on to the good stuff.

4. I was praying for a snow day for my kids today. I love snow days.

5. I let my kids talk me into going to see “The Woman in Black” the other day. I do NOT enjoy scary movies. I do NOT like them, Sam I Am.

6. Pretty sure my screams were more entertaining than the movie itself. πŸ™‚

7. My hubby’s been traveling all week and his flight home yesterday was cancelled. 😦

8. Speaking of traveling, Jake wants to go to Scotland for his graduation trip. We better get planning, considering it’s just three months away.

9. I used to get kind of annoyed when older moms would tell me to enjoy every second with my kids because the time would fly by. I just didn’t get it.

10. Now I do. When your kids are small, it feels like they’ll be small forever.

11. One day you are teaching them to ride their tiny little white and red bicycle with training wheels and the next you are watching them scrape the snow off of their car and drive away.

12. Now I’m the annoying older mom. And my advice to young moms who think they’ll be digging cheerios out of the carpet for the rest of their lives? Don’t blink. Soak it up. Hold tightly to those precious chubby hands.

13. On to cheerier thoughts…I snapped these photos around 6:45 this morning in my fuzzy pink polka dot robe and snow boots. I was a vision of loveliness. πŸ˜‰ Reason #642 that I’m thankful that we don’t have neighbors.

14. Have I ever mentioned that my keyboard is Canadian? πŸ™‚ We purchased this computer in Canada and so when I type words like favorite and neighbor, it auto corrects my spelling to add u’s after the o’s. It’s really annoying.

15. Speaking of spelling…I’m a really good speller. I came in second place in the fourth grade spelling bee. I lost on the word HELICOPTER to Pam Martin. As you can tell, I’ve never quite gotten over it. πŸ˜‰

16. I pretty much want to re-decorate every room in my house right now. All at once. Maybe it’s because I’ve been cooped up too long and ready for spring? Or maybe I just need some Ritalin for my design ADD?

Well, that’s all the randomness I can muster up for now. If you are still awake, thanks for listening.

Have a happy weekend, everybody!

25 Comments Post a comment
  1. The snow pics are beautiful! I loved ready all the randomness… and I agree that Canada “overuses” the vowels… and also as a mom of now adults (gasp!) enjoy those kids when they’re small, it does go by way too fast πŸ™‚

    ~Chris

    February 24, 2012
  2. Love the pictures, and the randomness :). I think we have twin identities, I need decor ADD meds! Sometimes I wonder if you are real, it’s like you read my thoughts. I don’t think I mispell words until I read my comments (after I hit enter of course).
    Have a great snow day,
    Debbie

    February 24, 2012
  3. Melissi Hammer-Moyer #

    I enjoy your randomness! As a mom & grandma you are so right about enjoying your kids. We have a 12 yr old son that seemed to switch from little boy to young man overnight. Good thing he is a hugger like me. Currently we are taking care of our 15 month old granddaughter and realize the things we missed out on with our son. Also that we did NOT pay the sitter near enough! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing your home & family.

    Melissi

    February 24, 2012
  4. I often wonder if my American bloggy friends figure I just have no clue how to spell. You see, colour, neighbour etc are in my blood. They just aren’t right to me without those u’s =) Lovely pictures! We are spending our first winter in Calgary since moving from Vancouver Island, and have really had hardly any snow to speak of. Just a light sprinkling here and there. I’m not complaining, though, as the weather has been great this winter (making up for last winter, I suppose)

    February 24, 2012
    • Tracy a #

      Nice to know I’m not the only Canadian who reads this blog!! (and often wonders if everyone thinks I can’t spell)

      February 25, 2012
  5. Kim #

    We too got a boat load of snow, and it’s still coming down! I also have reached the stage in my Motherhood where I am the annoying mom. But I couldn’t agree with you more,believe it or not I want to go back to picking Cherios out of the carpet πŸ™‚ As for the Canadian keyboard….all I have to say is green is my favourite colour! hehehe {we live within driving distance of the Canadian border and visit often}

    February 24, 2012
  6. You are hilarious. I love the bit about Pam Martin. Too funny!!

    February 24, 2012
  7. Mel #

    I’m here to help; I don’t want you to be annoyed about your Canadian keyboard LOL

    assuming you are using windows:

    go to
    Control Panel
    Regional and Language Options
    Under the Regional Options tab, scroll through the languages and change it to English (United States)

    There ya go. Have a wonderful weekend.

    February 24, 2012
    • Oh, Mel. I like having smart friends!!! You is kind. You is smart. You is important. And most importantly, you fixed my issue. I love Canada, but you guys spell funny. πŸ˜‰

      February 24, 2012
  8. Naomi W. #

    I LOVE the snow pictures. What a beautiful piece of property you have. My niece and sister flew through O’Hare yesterday afternoon. Guess they got out in time!

    February 24, 2012
  9. As a Canadian who is spelling challenged….I agree! We over use vowels. Alot.
    Bad spellers of the world, untie!

    February 24, 2012
  10. I would absolutely love to live in a snowy, winter climate but alas I live in an area where our snow pack is at 19% of normal which means we’re about to have another terrible summer drought. Keep the snow pics coming!

    February 24, 2012
  11. I’m laughing about the Canadian spelling. I’m an American who spent 9 years as a child in Canada. Had to spell their way, came back here to boarding school and had to spell the American way. Sheesh. No wonder I’m so confused. Your snowfall is absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for sharing. It’s enough for me to see it in photos πŸ™‚
    LOL
    Laura

    February 24, 2012
  12. I am SO BLESSED that I was able to stay home with my kids. I know that. The time does FLY. My “kids” are now 43 and 41. It is crazy that they are that old. I sure don’t feel that old!!!! I LOVED the random thoughts. LOVED this post. The pics are gorgeous but I am glad we don’t have snow:): Have a wonderful weekend. XO, Pinky

    February 24, 2012
    • Pinky, that surprised me! From all your comments, I assumed you were like in your twenties! I also picture you with short pink cute hair! πŸ™‚

      February 24, 2012
  13. Laura #

    Hello, I love your snow pictures just wish it would snow some in Alexander City, Alabama. I know and think the world of your brother Jim.

    February 24, 2012
  14. my daughter is 20 mo. and i can’t imagine her driving…it does seem like she will be little forever! i love her little-ness most of the time…it can be exhausting though! i do treasure her little hands chubby cheeks for sure.
    the snow we got is very pretty…i meant to take some pics, but then life got in the way… πŸ˜‰

    February 24, 2012
  15. Karen #

    your snow pics are absolutely beautiful!! and love your home. I’ve said many times, no snow this winter please, but soooo worth seeing it’s beauty!! Thx for posting. πŸ™‚

    February 24, 2012
  16. yes, i am still awake and looking at your beautiful snow pics….i miss snow, not all the time, mind you, but a bit of snow once in awhile would be awesome. living in the desert southwest, one can become underwhelmed with sunny days and blue skies….as a matter of fact, it becomes obnoxious when summer kicks in and we are looking at over 100 days of over 100 degrees…
    you are right about children growing up in the blink of an eye. fair warning: it is the same with grandchildren…one day they are born,,,the next day they are turning 24…..take pictures,,,lots and lots of pictures. so that when they get to the stage where they just hate having pics taken, you have some in reserve to get you thru and if you are sneaky…..take their pictures when they aren’t looking….you will have some great shots….and a ton of beautiful memories…..
    thx for the lovely winter scenes and the charming posts……

    February 24, 2012
  17. Beautiful, beautiful snow photos!! and I totally agree with lovin every minute of those little kid times! Ours are grown, our “baby” is almost 22yrs, and we are soooo excited about our first grandbaby :o) I was so blessed to be a stay at home mom when ours were growing up and I would love to be a stay at home granny/nanny…if only we didnt live so far from everyone!

    hahaha!! I love your sense of hum”ou”r…seriously, last night my hubby and I were driving back from watching a great movie and this is one of my questions since I was txting our kids about the movie… “um…is it spelled “valour” or “valor” (I truly am very confident, pretty good when it comes to spelling, often others ask me how something is spelled…and a past spelling bee winner myself! but I had a brain lapse on that one! lol) Hm…I’ve never lived in Canada, but that “ou” brain lapse has come up before, for some reason… colour/color, honour/honor, armour/armor, labour/labor… and too funny that you remember “helicopter” was the stumbling word! (My hubby is a retired Army helicopter pilot :o)

    Sorry for being soooo wordy! I tend to do that, but am trying to be better :o)

    Blessings & Aloha!
    oh, we love watching American Idol and if we will be out of the house, we tape (I mean, dvr it)…and I do NOT like scary movies either :o) I jump and scream out plenty while watching action/adventure ones!

    ok…promise this is the last thing…thank you so much for stopping over.

    February 25, 2012
  18. WOW the pictures are increadible!!
    XO
    kristin

    February 25, 2012
  19. Tracy a #

    Ok, before I just thought maybe we’d be friends (after your 25 things post), now I’m certain. Loved this one!! My kids are young (like, will I ever sleep all night again?? young) and I often repeat to myself, “the days are long, but the years are short.” And I pray. Oh, and watch American Idol (I just love Reed Grimm! He’s my early fave). Did I mention that Dr. Pepper helps me through too? πŸ™‚
    We got a ton of new snow here as well, which I totally lament. We’re trying to build a house and need some good weather to start putting up the walls!! I have decorating fever and nothing to decorate!! Anyhow, happy Sunday to you

    February 25, 2012
    • Tracy, thanks for the great comment. It’s funny how much we all have in common. How exciting to be building a home! Reed is my favorite too. I think he’s got crazy talent and he’s so darn entertaining! Have a great day. πŸ™‚

      February 26, 2012
  20. Lori Austin #

    Beautiful snow pics. I’m a fan of snow if there is no need to go out in it.

    So excited about your sleeping porch project. Sleeping porch envy I have. πŸ™‚

    February 26, 2012

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

