Skip to content

Writing Desk

I’ve been searching for a pretty writing desk. Something very simple and classic.

I love this one from Pottery Barn which runs $1,139.00 – $1,839.00. Whackadoodle.

And this one from Ballard Designs which is $679.00. Yikes.

The other day while thrifting, I spotted this honey of a desk at Goodwill. Simple and classic with pretty Queen Anne legs and a piece of tempered glass on top. Priced at $29.99. Yes, please.

It was in okay shape but the previous owner did a real hack job on the painting. There was a piece of fabric (which I actually like…I kept it for another project!) glued to the top of the desk, so that needed some sanding.

Although I liked the clean and simple look of the desk, it needed a little something. I found a wooden decorative piece at Home Depot on clearance for $2.85. I glued it onto the apron of the desk.

Remember the chair I found at Value Village for $9.99? It too got some glossy white paint. The seat was as flat as a pancake so I added some 2″ foam, batting and fabric for more cushy for the tushy.

Here’s a thrifty tip for ya.  A very inexpensive way to cover a chair seat in fabric that coordinates with your bedding is to use a pillow case. It is the perfect size and you can cover two seats with one.

Are ya ready for the after???

The desk got several coats of primer and Rustoleum Glossy White spray paint.

I added some damask wallpaper (left over from another project) to the top of the desk for a little touch of glam. I didn’t adhere it so that I can change it out as I change the bedroom decor.

By adding a pretty lamp, a mirrored frame, some fresh flowers and a mercury glass candleholder I now have a writing desk that rivals the ones from Pottery Barn and Restoration Hardware for a fraction of the cost at just under fifty dollars.

Be sure to stop by tomorrow to see some more before and afters of other fun pieces I added to the writing desk area.

Toodles!

Linking up at these par-tays:
The DIY Show OffMake it Yours @ My Backyard EdenPhotobucketgiveawaysDomestically SpeakingIts So Very CheriFurniture Feature Fridays Chic on a Shoestring Decoratingfreckled laundryFunky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

50 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mel #

    love, love, love, love, love it!!!

    You astound and inspire me.

    I really like the fabric on your chair. Do you have a local source for fabrics. The only place I know of is Fabricland and everything always seems so five years ago.

    January 7, 2011
    • Hi Mel, Thanks! Agree about Fabricland…gag me! I always pick up fabric when I go to the states. One of my customers told me about http://www.lensmill.com/stores but I haven’t been yet. She said they have great fabric and tons of it. I feel a roadtrip coming on!

      January 7, 2011
  2. Melinda Burke #

    OK, Now your really making me mad! just kidding, it’s truly amazing how you can transform just about anything!!! The Desk is Beautiful.

    January 7, 2011
    • Kim #

      That looks great. I love the added paper on top and the chair looks great, too. Thanks for linking.

      January 7, 2011
  3. Too funny, I just got a small table for $15 that I made into a desk for my son’s new room. It still needs some paint, but that’ll hav ‘ta wait ’til spring when I can do it outside because I don’t have a place to do that in.

    January 7, 2011
  4. Wowza! I have loved every transformation you’ve done, but this is my favorite so far! Excellent!

    January 7, 2011
  5. Truly amazing job…I’m envious

    January 7, 2011
  6. This is my very favorite of all of your great transformations!

    January 7, 2011
  7. Wow what a gorgeous transformation! I love it!

    January 7, 2011
  8. that was a fabulous find! love the shape of that desk- those legs!!!! love the added applique as well- wonderful as usual. i would love to just come and hang out in your home- it is so beautiful and relaxing. you have done so many wonderful things.

    January 7, 2011
  9. beautiful!!!

    January 7, 2011
  10. beautiful!

    January 7, 2011
  11. What a pretty little spot! Love, love, love. You did a great job!

    January 7, 2011
  12. I think your desk is better than Pottery Barn or Ballard’s Designs. You will be able to get some serious work done at that desk. Or you can just sit and admire you work.

    January 7, 2011
  13. Fantastic! All that for about $40 plus materials? Great, great, great transformation!

    January 7, 2011
  14. Oh my goodness! This is an adorable set! It is so stylish! I am very impressed! 🙂

    January 7, 2011
  15. Theresa #

    WOW! The table is stunning!! I just recently found your blog and absolutely love it and love the before/after pics. I’ve got a number of projects that I kept putting off, but this is the year! After seeing all that you and others do, I am so inspired to make the most of what I have and following your mantra of “never pay retail”.

    January 7, 2011
  16. Melissa #

    Wow!I am inspired! It’s beautiful!

    January 7, 2011
  17. Gretchen #

    new favorite blog!! seriously beautiful inspiration & feels all kinds of southern girl kindred spiritly!! must.stop.reading….at.work. ( but be back soon!!) love it all!!

    January 7, 2011
  18. Excellent find! I’m also looking for a new desk right now, and this gives me some great inspiration!

    January 7, 2011
  19. FABULOUS!!!
    What a huge transformation on both pieces, love it!!
    Thanks for linking!

    January 7, 2011
  20. Love this! Such a nice simple writing desk!!

    January 8, 2011
  21. I love B&W, and I love this darling desk! What a sweet little transformation.

    January 8, 2011
  22. I can’t believe you find desks like that at your Goodwill you lucky duck! Love it. Great job!

    Blessings,
    Holly
    http://hallelujahsbyholly.blogspot.com

    January 8, 2011
  23. What a great find and makeover. I love it when you can find pieces that are similiar to your over priced inspiration piece.

    January 8, 2011
  24. Love it! What a find, especially with the glass included! I love the wallpaper you put on the top; it coordinates so well with everything else in your bedroom!

    January 8, 2011
  25. michele @portlandia vintage #

    Beautifully done! Love the black/white theme. You created an inviting place to write your memoirs!

    January 8, 2011
  26. Pamela Manes #

    This is beautiful. What a great find and great price! You have to wonder why, oh why, the high dollar stores charge so much…maybe they just love inspiring the thrifty.

    January 8, 2011
  27. I really really love this project. I found an old desk once with a bad top and had to sand and finish it to death! I should have put fabric on top!! That would have been clever. Love it love it.
    I am totally sharing this on my blog!
    Have a great weekend
    Christine
    greatoakcircle.com

    January 8, 2011
  28. Love the wallpaper, what a great way to change up at anytime, beautiful!

    January 8, 2011
  29. BRAVO!! Gorgeous! The pieces and the refinishing! Your high end pics really brought this one home. So awesome!

    Donna
    http://funkyjunkinteriors.blogspot.com/

    January 8, 2011
  30. Oh! This turned out so cute! I am going to be featuring this on Monday!

    Thanks for linking up at http://www.simplydesigning.blogspot.com

    Ashley

    January 10, 2011
  31. these turned out beautiful! I hope that you will link them to my Show and Share Sunday linky party. http://craftygeordi.blogspot.com/2011/01/show-and-share-sunday.html

    January 10, 2011
  32. I’ve been reading your blog for the last couple of weeks (catching up) and I just have to post and say what terrific work you do. Every project is beautifully executed and I so appreciate the tutorials and insights.

    Thanks very much and congrats!

    David

    January 10, 2011
  33. So awesome!!! I have a white “shabby chic goes through 4 moves so is just shabby” desk that needs some updating desperately. I love the idea of the glass too! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    January 11, 2011
  34. This is just an amazing transformation. I need to find a treasure at goodwill. I have never found anything like this. You did an awesome job. I found you through Finding Fabulous. I am your latest follower. I’d love if you would come check out my blog and follow me back. http://diybydesign.blogspot.com.

    January 11, 2011
  35. Love, love, love the top of the desk! I’m definitely tucking this idea away for when I’m ready to redo our home office.

    January 12, 2011
  36. Great transformation and beautiful. Love your fabric choices and the little stand next to the desk- sweet and useful!

    January 12, 2011
  37. GORGEOUS! What a cool tip to use a pillow case, too. Thank you so much for linking to air your laundry Friday again!

    xoxo,
    Jami

    January 13, 2011
  38. Beautiful. Were did you find that pillowcase? I have a black and white motif in my bedroom, this idea is perfect! Simply beautiful.
    besos,lynn

    January 14, 2011
    • Hi Lynn, I got it at Target last year. It went with the Waverly bedding that I bought. Not sure if they still have it because we don’t have Target up here. Hope that helps.

      January 14, 2011
  39. What a great idea for the desk! The damask on top looks awesome! It adds such character! Thanks for sharing!

    January 17, 2011
  40. Um, holy cow. This is gorgeous…stunning. Thanks for the inspiration!

    January 21, 2011
  41. I have that same comforter (love Target!) in my guest room! I use the pillowcases on the bed, but I love the idea of using them to accessorize the room!

    February 6, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Life’s too short to look at cork… « Maple & Magnolia
  2. January Recap « Maple & Magnolia
  3. Writing Desk Makeover « Ashley and Ken Henderson
  4. goin’ coastal « Maple & Magnolia
  5. top ten furniture projects of 2011 | Maple & Magnolia

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!