Skip to content

Woman’s Day photo shoot

Woman’s Day magazine was here today for a photo shoot!

Wait, did I just say that? Somebody PINCH me!

Before I share deets about the day, here’s how it all started.

While I really enjoy blogging, I feel a greater sense of accomplishment if I set little goals for myself. So my latest goal was to have my blog mentioned in a magazine. Now, I’m not talking about a full-blown spread or anything…I meant like a tiny blurb at the bottom of a page that mentions Maple & Magnolia. That was my goal.  Since I’ve never submitted any of my work to any magazines, I’m not sure how I thought I would accomplish that???

So my parents were here visiting in October and one day I shared the goal with my mom. Later that afternoon, I checked my email and had the following message in my inbox…

Hi Susan,
I’m the articles director at Woman’s Day magazine and I recently came across your blog Maple & Magnolia when I was doing research for an upcoming organizing article. I was very impressed with your kitchen pantry makeover and I’d love to feature it (and you) in an upcoming issue of Woman’s Day. I know our readers would enjoy hearing about how you organized the space. Please email me or give me a call and I’ll fill you in on all the details. I hope you’re interested and I look forward to hearing from you. 
All best,
Angela Ebron

I was stunned. I thought it was a joke since I’d just mentioned it hours earlier.

Once I knew it was legit, I did a big ol’ happy dance! 🙂

Fast forward to today….the photo shoot.

Let me just say that I had no clue how much work went into a photo shoot! I thought it was just snap, snap, snap, that’s it. Wrong. I have a huge amount respect for people in this biz!

WD sent a hair & makeup stylist, a wardrobe stylist, and a photographer. I felt like a celeb! Kinda like Kim Kardashian only shorter, chubbier and drama-free! 😉

None of the photos are great…my husband was trying to stay out of the way when he took them and there was a lot of photography equipment.

Each time I changed positions hair & makeup and wardrobe would have to readjust me.

Jim took this from the other room.

It was such a fun day!  A huge thank you to Woman’s Day, Theresa, Carley, and Lucas. You guys rock!

And an even bigger thank you to my awesome husband who delayed a business trip till this afternoon so he could be home for moral support (which I desperately needed)! Love you!

The article will be in the March issue of Woman’s Day. YIPPEE!

33 Comments Post a comment
  1. that is awesome!!!! so so happy for you!!!

    November 16, 2011
  2. That’s awesome–congratulations! I found you through Mr. Goodwill Hunting’s blog, and I’ve really liked a lot of your ideas. I can’t wait to see the finished article in the magazine!

    November 16, 2011
  3. Tiffany #

    Susan, Congrats! How exciting….You set an intention and it came true. Can’t wait to see the spread in March… 🙂

    November 16, 2011
  4. Kim #

    Congrats, how cool is that!! They will certainly never contact me for organization.

    November 16, 2011
  5. how cool is this? i am going to get a copy of woman’s day….yay for you !! congrats…

    November 16, 2011
  6. Gena in Texas #

    How exciting! Can’t wait to see the article! LOVE your blog!

    November 16, 2011
  7. Fabulous! A few months back I mentioned your blog to the editor of Romantic Homes. But your article in WOMAN’S DAY is much better 😉 I don’t read that magazine but am happy for you!

    November 16, 2011
  8. Congratulations! I can’t wait to see the article. You have just done amazing things with your home. You deserve to be featured.

    November 16, 2011
  9. Too awesome. Congratulations and I can’t wait to see it 🙂

    November 16, 2011
  10. YAY!! I’m so happy for you! I think this might just be the beginning. You’re house is so amazing, I wouldn’t be surprised if you were contacted again.

    November 16, 2011
  11. Glenda Harder #

    I don’t normally buy Woman’s Day so remind us when the March issue comes out so we can purchase it.

    November 16, 2011
  12. woo hoo! i am so excited for you. the same thing happened to me recently with a local home decor newspaper. i still feel like it was a dream, even though i have physical evidence.
    however, the photoshoot wasn’t quite as cool as yours, no makeup artist!
    look forward to the article. congrats!!
    judi

    November 16, 2011
  13. maggie #

    Wow! That’s so exciting! I’ll be on the lookout for the March Woman’s Day!

    November 16, 2011
  14. Mel #

    Oh, I’m so happy and excited for you! I don’t get that magazine, but I will make it a point to in March.

    It’s nice to see them recognize the wonderful talent that you are.

    November 16, 2011
  15. Paula #

    WOW!! I’m not surprised that a magazine is going to feature you. What surprises me is that it took them this long to find you!!

    November 16, 2011
  16. Yay! Can’t wait to see the article!! You and your creativity certainly deserve it! 🙂

    November 16, 2011
  17. Congratulations! It’s always good to accomplish a goal. I’ll look forward to seeing the article. BTW your blog is beautiful and I really admire your lovely projects.

    Cathy

    November 16, 2011
  18. Oh. How. Cool! So excited for you! Can’t wait to see the article.

    November 16, 2011
  19. Karen Brashear #

    Susan, I am so proud of you! I can’t wait to pick up the issue. I’ll mail it you for an autograph :).

    November 16, 2011
  20. So excited for you! Can’t wait to read the article!

    November 16, 2011
  21. We, your bloggy friends, have always thought you were fabulous. Now the rest of the world will know too. 🙂 Congratulations, sweet friend! I’m thrilled for you!

    November 17, 2011
  22. amy #

    holy goosebumps! i’m thrilled for you and can’t wait to see the shoot!

    November 17, 2011
  23. Thanks so much, everybody for your super-nice comments. I really appreciate each and every one of them (& you)! 🙂

    November 17, 2011
  24. I am so happy and excited for you!! How cool! I look forward to seeing the issue this spring!

    November 17, 2011
  25. Melinda G. Burke #

    “Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up…” What’s next Susan, Maple and Magnolia the movie.
    OK all kidding aside, I am so excited for you! You deserve this, I know how much I enjoy your blog and how much you have inspired me; Now everyone will get to see your creativity. Now That’s What I’m Taling About……! Oh and by the way you look stunning in the photo shoot!

    November 17, 2011
  26. Awesome! You so deserve this. Your blog is truly wonderful. Also what a sweet thing of your husband to do. 🙂 Congrats, can’t wait to get the March issue!

    November 17, 2011
  27. Sheri #

    Wow ! and again Wow! I can say I knew you when… before you organized the pantry and became a huge Star… I can’t wait to see the next step you take such as staring in your own tv show… your faith in action! When will we see you in print?

    November 17, 2011
  28. Hey Congrats! That’s just awesome!
    I am not, typically, a big reader of Woman’s Day Magazine (shocking I know) but I will be sure to pick up that issue.
    So happy for you!
    David

    PS: I know what you mean about all the readjusting that goes on. When I’ve filmed TV episodes I’m always amazed by how wardrobe and makeup (hair kinda leaves me alone) descend on you between takes. I had a wardrobe lady retie my shoelace once and I was like “umm……I’m sitting at a desk….I don’t think the camera is seeing my shoe”

    November 17, 2011
  29. Very exciting…congratulations! Can’t wait to see!!

    November 18, 2011
  30. My mom often reminds me that “thoughts are things.” Congratulations – how exciting….does this mean that your husband has lifted the shopping ban? If you need a shopping buddy while in Ohio…it’s my neck of the woods. Tee hee….I’m so happy for you. Have a safe and happy Thanksgiving with your family.

    November 20, 2011
  31. Congratulations! That’s wonderful!

    November 21, 2011
  32. ReaderWoman #

    Be sure to remind us in Feb or March, I will never remember it that far ahead! Now we can say we knew you when! 🙂

    December 20, 2011
  33. Congratulations! Please remind us when the article is on the newsstand! I am so happy for you! I would be happy with more followers, let alone a PHOTO SHOOT!!!!!!!!! XO, Pinky

    December 27, 2011

I love comments. Thank you for taking the time to comment!